You are not logged in.

#1 2010-11-27 06:12:39

RenK
Member
Registered: 2010-11-27
Posts: 6

Newbie Pacman question - i586

Hello,

Using i586 compile of Archlinux(connochaetos). I've read a few guides and got a lot of things working. A good two days on how to figure out Xorg and load modules for graphics card etc. Well, now that I'm all set up, I'd like to use pacman more. I used it to download a few things but I've been getting package not found on others. Can someone please explain why it's not working as it should, for me? I'm trying to isntall bitlbee. I've read this, https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Bitlbee - But pacman -S bitlbee returns, "error: 'bitlbee': could not find or read package." Same thing with irssi. Not found. Although I did a manual install from their(irssi's) site. Here's how my pacman.conf look,

#
# /etc/pacman.conf
#
# See the pacman.conf(5) manpage for option and repository directives

#
# GENERAL OPTIONS
#
[options]
# The following paths are commented out with their default values listed.
# If you wish to use different paths, uncomment and update the paths.
#RootDir     = /
#DBPath      = /var/lib/pacman/
#CacheDir    = /var/cache/pacman/pkg/
#LogFile     = /var/log/pacman.log
HoldPkg     = pacman glibc
# If upgrades are available for these packages they will be asked for first
SyncFirst   = pacman
#XferCommand = /usr/bin/wget --passive-ftp -c -O %o %u
#XferCommand = /usr/bin/curl -C - %u > %o
#CleanMethod = KeepInstalled
Architecture = i586
# Pacman won't upgrade packages listed in IgnorePkg and members of IgnoreGroup
#IgnorePkg   =
#IgnoreGroup =

#NoUpgrade   =
#NoExtract   =

# Misc options (all disabled by default)
#UseSyslog
#ShowSize
#UseDelta
#TotalDownload
#
# REPOSITORIES
#   - can be defined here or included from another file
#   - pacman will search repositories in the order defined here
#   - local/custom mirrors can be added here or in separate files
#   - repositories listed first will take precedence when packages
#     have identical names, regardless of version number
#   - URLs will have $repo replaced by the name of the current repo
#   - URLs will have $arch replaced by the name of the architecture
# Repository entries are of the format:
#       [repo-name]
#       Server = ServerName
#       Include = IncludePath
#
# The header [repo-name] is crucial - it must be present and
# uncommented to enable the repo.
#
# The testing repositories are disabled by default. To enable, uncomment the
# repo name header and Include lines. You can add preferred servers immediately
# after the header, and they will be used before the default mirrors.

#[testing]
## Add your preferred servers here, they will be used first
#Include = /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist

[connos]
# Add your preferred servers here, they will be used first
Include = /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist

# An example of a custom package repository.  See the pacman manpage for
# tips on creating your own repositories.
#[custom]
#Server = file:///home/custompkgs

Thanks in advance

Offline

#2 2010-11-27 06:17:24

jasonwryan
Forum & Wiki Admin
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 19,380
Website

Re: Newbie Pacman question - i586

See the pacman entry on the Wiki: you need to include the three basic repositories in pacman.conf

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Pa … positories


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Github

Registered Linux User #482438

Offline

#3 2010-11-27 06:56:37

RenK
Member
Registered: 2010-11-27
Posts: 6

Re: Newbie Pacman question - i586

Thanks for the reply, jasonwryan. I added the servers into pacman.conf by checking the mirrorlist and adding the apropriate directories (extra/community) core was already present. Although, the 'any' directories on the mirrors didn't have db file that pacman looks for only the x86 and i686 directories had it. Will I get in trouble if I get those lists(for i686) and try to update my packages? Mind you I'm running an i586 compile of Arch and the DEFAULT core mirror in my pacman.conf reads, http://connochaetos.org/os/i586/

Thanks

Offline

#4 2010-11-27 07:14:42

jasonwryan
Forum & Wiki Admin
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 19,380
Website

Re: Newbie Pacman question - i586

Sorry - I missed the i586 reference at the start of your post!

I was under the impression that for i586 you had to install from ABS and modify the PKGBUILDS to suit your architecture.

In any event, I'll move this to Other Architectures - you are more likely to get some informed assistance there.


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Github

Registered Linux User #482438

Offline

#5 2010-11-27 08:43:14

Allan
Developer
From: Brisbane, AU
Registered: 2007-06-09
Posts: 10,436
Website

Re: Newbie Pacman question - i586

I did not know any of the i586 ports were still going...   In fact, this is Deli Linux renamed, which I also did not know happened.

Anyway, they seem to have only a very small portion of the Arch Linux packages rebuilt for i586.   You will need to grab the PKGBUILDs from our SVN and then build them yourself.

Offline

#6 2011-01-22 23:50:06

CPUnltd
Member
From: Milwaukee, WI
Registered: 2009-12-05
Posts: 470
Website

Re: Newbie Pacman question - i586

odd question on that note (still fairly on topic) could it be possible to set up something where AUR package managers like packer or clyde could connect to a "repository" of the PKGBUILDs from SVN copied into another location (and updated enough to keep up with Arch current packages) to function similar to the AUR and allow you to build the package that are normally in core, community and extra on the fly for, say, an i586 (or even an ARM or PPC) build of Arch?  Kind of an elaborate semi-automation of the building process where the package manager handles the deps and order of installs for the packages, but the user would modify the PKGBUILD for each new package?  Another idea to add to that would be a script that would be coupled with the package manager (or ran after PKGBUILD download, but before package building) to search within the PKGBBUILD for the "arch=" line of code and replace it with "arch=i586"?

The idea seems overly elaborate, but does anyone see it as viable?  I could see a rivived i586 project sprning from this, and it could also lead to more interest in the PPC and ARM projects as well as other archs that Arch Linux is not yet working with... This all would obviously come after the ABS requirements to get the base Arch install up and running... Am I grasping too far out?


Help grow the dev population... have your tech trained and certified!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB