You are not logged in.

#1 2010-11-29 19:43:02

ozzem
Member
Registered: 2010-11-29
Posts: 14

dzen -e not working?

Hello everybody!

I got a very simple dzen script that show the current date.
Now I want to start firefox by clicking on the bar (I know it doesn't make sense, but it's just an example).
If I try it with -e "button1=exec:firefox", then nothing happens.
If I try it with -e "entertitle=exec:firefox", then firefox starts as soon as I enter the titlebar.

My wm is xmonad and my dzen version is:
$ dzen2 -v
dzen-0.8.5, (C)opyright 2007 Robert Manea

I'm not familiar with dzen or xmonad, so any help is appreciated.

#!/bin/sh

while true; do
    DATE=`date`
    echo "${DATE}"
    sleep 5
done | dzen2 -x 100 -y 100 -w 500 -e "button1=exec:firefox"

Offline

#2 2010-11-30 21:10:56

ozzem
Member
Registered: 2010-11-29
Posts: 14

Re: dzen -e not working?

Ok, nobody answers. That means I'm doing everything right...:-)
But what am I missing? Are there any knows issues regarding dzen on OpenBSD?
I really just want a dzen calender to pop up when I click on the bar...

Offline

#3 2010-12-01 06:25:16

teh
Member
From: Tijuana, Mexico
Registered: 2009-07-07
Posts: 374
Website

Re: dzen -e not working?


arst

Offline

#4 2010-12-01 06:55:40

gotmor
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2007-09-03
Posts: 84
Website

Re: dzen -e not working?

ozzem wrote:

Ok, nobody answers. That means I'm doing everything right...:-)
But what am I missing? Are there any knows issues regarding dzen on OpenBSD?
I really just want a dzen calender to pop up when I click on the bar...

No, there aren't any known issues, though some WMs do require you to grab the mouse.

E.g.:

dzen2 -e 'entertitle=grabmouse;button1=whatever;leavetitle=ungrabmouse'

For further details see here: http://dzen.geekmode.org/dwiki/doku.php … n:option-e



Bye, Rob.

Offline

#5 2010-12-01 14:10:19

ozzem
Member
Registered: 2010-11-29
Posts: 14

Re: dzen -e not working?

gotmor wrote:

No, there aren't any known issues, though some WMs do require you to grab the mouse.

E.g.:

dzen2 -e 'entertitle=grabmouse;button1=whatever;leavetitle=ungrabmouse'

For further details see here: http://dzen.geekmode.org/dwiki/doku.php … n:option-e



Bye, Rob.

Thank you Rob, that was the problem!

May I ask you an other question: I tried this example from the dzen website, but dzen didn't parse the
command. When I start it I see: 'foo ^a(1, firefox)click me and i'll echo one^a() bar'.The ^fg()-part is
parsed to a red colored string. (And yes it's "^a(..) ... ^a()", looks like he only parse the ^c but not the ^ca)

while true; do
    echo "foo ^ca(1, firefox)^fg(red)click me and i'll echo one^fg()^ca() bar"
done | dzen2 -x 100 -y 100 -w 500

Offline

#6 2010-12-01 14:49:43

gotmor
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2007-09-03
Posts: 84
Website

Re: dzen -e not working?

ozzem wrote:

May I ask you an other question: I tried this example from the dzen website, but dzen didn't parse the
command. When I start it I see: 'foo ^a(1, firefox)click me and i'll echo one^a() bar'.The ^fg()-part is
parsed to a red colored string. (And yes it's "^a(..) ... ^a()", looks like he only parse the ^c but not the ^ca)

while true; do
    echo "foo ^ca(1, firefox)^fg(red)click me and i'll echo one^fg()^ca() bar"
done | dzen2 -x 100 -y 100 -w 500

Are you sure, that you're actually using the SVN version and not the 0.8.5 tarball?

To get the SVN version, just do the following:

svn checkout http://dzen.googlecode.com/svn/trunk/ dzen
cd dzen
make clean install

The binary will end up in "/usr/local/bin" by default.

EDIT: Beware, your while loop above is pretty senseless and without a 'sleep' will burn your CPU wink.
         A better way to do the same is:

echo "foo bar whatever" | dzen2 -p -other_options

Rob.

Last edited by gotmor (2010-12-01 14:52:43)

Offline

#7 2010-12-01 15:11:49

ozzem
Member
Registered: 2010-11-29
Posts: 14

Re: dzen -e not working?

You were right once again!
It was the tarball and not the svn-version.

Thank you, Rob!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB