You are not logged in.

#1 2005-05-05 01:01:26

viniosity
Member
From: Washington, DC
Registered: 2005-01-22
Posts: 377
Website

adesklets

Sorry if this is a stupid question.. I wanted to get adesklets on my gnome/arch install.  (gdesklets didn't seem to be working or were a bit too confusing..) Anyway, there's no official package in arch, but there's one in the AUR.  It's maintained by FUBAR but I couldn't find how to add that repository.. wasn't listed on this site:

http://wiki2.archlinux.org/index.php/Un … positories

Offline

#2 2005-05-05 01:06:12

cactus
Taco Eater
From: t͈̫̹ͨa͖͕͎̱͈ͨ͆ć̥̖̝o̫̫̼s͈̭̱̞͍̃!̰
Registered: 2004-05-25
Posts: 4,615
Website

Re: adesklets

add the lines to your /etc/pacman.conf file..

[reponame]
Server = <repo location

then "pacman -Sy"


"Be conservative in what you send; be liberal in what you accept." -- Postel's Law
"tacos" -- Cactus' Law
"t̥͍͎̪̪͗a̴̻̩͈͚ͨc̠o̩̙͈ͫͅs͙͎̙͊ ͔͇̫̜t͎̳̀a̜̞̗ͩc̗͍͚o̲̯̿s̖̣̤̙͌ ̖̜̈ț̰̫͓ạ̪͖̳c̲͎͕̰̯̃̈o͉ͅs̪ͪ ̜̻̖̜͕" -- -̖͚̫̙̓-̺̠͇ͤ̃ ̜̪̜ͯZ͔̗̭̞ͪA̝͈̙͖̩L͉̠̺͓G̙̞̦͖O̳̗͍

Offline

#3 2005-05-05 01:09:55

viniosity
Member
From: Washington, DC
Registered: 2005-01-22
Posts: 377
Website

Re: adesklets

Sorry, I should have been more specific.  I can't find the repo name listed anywhere..

Offline

#4 2005-05-05 01:27:48

cactus
Taco Eater
From: t͈̫̹ͨa͖͕͎̱͈ͨ͆ć̥̖̝o̫̫̼s͈̭̱̞͍̃!̰
Registered: 2004-05-25
Posts: 4,615
Website

Re: adesklets

I just reread  your first post. You need to download the files from the AUR and build it yourself.

Someone really needs to come up with a wiki doc on how to do this, so new people are not in the dark when they find a package they want to try...

Basically:
First. Click on the link where it says "tarball".
Extract that tarball. It should create a directory.
Enter that directory (cd directory).
type `makepkg`
after it compiles, you should have a file ending in .pkg.tar.gz
install that file with pacman..
'pacman -A filename.pkg.tar.gz'

that should do it.


"Be conservative in what you send; be liberal in what you accept." -- Postel's Law
"tacos" -- Cactus' Law
"t̥͍͎̪̪͗a̴̻̩͈͚ͨc̠o̩̙͈ͫͅs͙͎̙͊ ͔͇̫̜t͎̳̀a̜̞̗ͩc̗͍͚o̲̯̿s̖̣̤̙͌ ̖̜̈ț̰̫͓ạ̪͖̳c̲͎͕̰̯̃̈o͉ͅs̪ͪ ̜̻̖̜͕" -- -̖͚̫̙̓-̺̠͇ͤ̃ ̜̪̜ͯZ͔̗̭̞ͪA̝͈̙͖̩L͉̠̺͓G̙̞̦͖O̳̗͍

Offline

#5 2005-05-05 04:12:36

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: adesklets

Yeah, the AUR "maintainers" don't imply they retain the binary package - just the PKGBUILD

Offline

#6 2005-05-05 07:49:23

CyberTron
Member
From: Gotland ,Sweden
Registered: 2005-03-17
Posts: 645
Website

Re: adesklets

is there a way to get pacman to download PKGBUILDS and build the program itself?

if there is such a feature why can't we make the AUR availible so that for example: pacman -AUR adesklets

would dowload the pkgbuild and do a makepkg


http://www.linuxportalen.com  -> Linux Help portal for Linux and ArchLinux (in swedish)

Dell Inspiron 8500
Kernel 2.6.14-archck1  (selfcompiled)
Enlightenment 17

Offline

#7 2005-05-05 10:50:55

FUBAR
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2004-12-08
Posts: 1,029
Website

Re: adesklets

You should probably file a feature request for pacman for that. I don't know why it's not possible yet: there's probably a good reason for it. wink


A bus station is where a bus stops.
A train station is where a train stops.
On my desk I have a workstation.

Offline

#8 2005-05-05 12:24:31

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,745

Re: adesklets

srcpac ?


Mr Green

Offline

#9 2005-05-05 14:22:28

jerem
Member
From: France
Registered: 2005-01-15
Posts: 310

Re: adesklets

It would be more simple if the community, testing and unstable PKGBUILDs collection would be downloaded with the ABS script.
I think it only manages current and extra.

Offline

#10 2005-05-05 14:41:02

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,745

Re: adesklets

errr look in /etc/abs  wink


Mr Green

Offline

#11 2005-05-05 14:58:08

viniosity
Member
From: Washington, DC
Registered: 2005-01-22
Posts: 377
Website

Re: adesklets

Ok, so I download the tarball, did the mkpkg, and then the pacman -A.  When it finished I was told to mv the directory to my home directory and chown it so my user could take advantage.

Did all that, plus downloaded the weather adesklet and installed it the same way.  Finally, I shut down X and restarted gnome, fired up a terminal. With much anticiapation I typed adesklet into the terminal and.. and.. nothing.

Anyone who got this working want to give me a hint?

Offline

#12 2005-05-05 15:12:16

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,745

Re: adesklets

you ran weather.py first ? (configured it etc.....)

please search forum for related posts, may help you even more or visit adesklet forums ;-)


Mr Green

Offline

#13 2005-05-05 15:17:20

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: adesklets

ok, for the record - the combo of abs/srcpac/aur is being heavilly discussed on the mailing list:
http://www.mail-archive.com/arch@archli … 00633.html

alot of people have security concerns relating to it (malicious PKGBUILDs would be transparent to the user)

Offline

#14 2005-05-05 15:23:13

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,745

Re: adesklets

Soo are PKGBUILDs  in aur *safe* ..

mind you this is not the place to discuss this .....


Mr Green

Offline

#15 2005-05-05 20:28:30

viniosity
Member
From: Washington, DC
Registered: 2005-01-22
Posts: 377
Website

Re: adesklets

Yup.. if we can get back on topic just until my problem is solved mind you. smile

I didn't know about the python script so I when you mentioned it I went back to /usr/share and moved it over to /home/viniosity/.adesklets.  When I run

. weatherforecast.py 

I get this error:


: File name too long
bash: import: command not found
bash: import: command not found
bash: import: command not found
bash: import: command not found
bash: from: command not found
bash: from: command not found
bash: from: command not found
bash: ./weatherforecast.py: line 51: syntax error near unexpected token `('
bash: ./weatherforecast.py: line 51: `class Config(adesklets.ConfigFile):'


Permissions are set for the user (same error as root anyway). Any ideas?

Offline

#16 2005-05-05 20:30:30

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: adesklets

replace

. weatherforecast.py 

with

./weatherforecast.py 

"." sources the file - which isn't going to work with a python file... you can also do

python weatherforecast.py 

Offline

#17 2005-05-05 20:45:02

viniosity
Member
From: Washington, DC
Registered: 2005-01-22
Posts: 377
Website

Re: adesklets

Ah - thank you. The python weatherforecast.py line worked.  I can move it about, and everything but I can't seem to configure it.  It's stuck on weather for Lexington, KY.. which is of no use to me here in DC.  Two more q's:

1. how to I configure this thing?
2. how do I get it to start automatically when I start my X session? (besides saving my session on exit..)

Thanks..

[edit] ok -- I read the readme (duh) and configured it.  Question #2 still stands though.  Would also love to know this so I can get numlockx to run automagically upon starting gnome.

Offline

#18 2005-05-05 21:43:24

Snowman
Developer/Forum Fellow
From: Montreal, Canada
Registered: 2004-08-20
Posts: 5,212

Re: adesklets

viniosity wrote:

2. how do I get it to start automatically when I start my X session? (besides saving my session on exit..)

Add it to ~/.xinitrc

Offline

#19 2005-05-05 23:03:20

viniosity
Member
From: Washington, DC
Registered: 2005-01-22
Posts: 377
Website

Re: adesklets

what's the proper syntax?

exec numlockx
exec python weatherforecast.py

?

Offline

#20 2005-05-05 23:13:43

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: adesklets

no - exec will overwrite the running image (the "exec numlockx" will overwrite the running .xinitrc and the next line will never get called)
it should be:

#!/bin/sh
#...blah...
numlockx &
# this one should specify the full path!!
python weatherforecast.py &
exec firefox

Offline

#21 2005-05-05 23:40:00

viniosity
Member
From: Washington, DC
Registered: 2005-01-22
Posts: 377
Website

Re: adesklets

cool, so this is what it'll look like:

#!/bin/sh

#
# ~/.xinitrc
#
# Executed by startx (run your window manager from here)
#

exec gnome-session
exec numlockx &
exec /home/viniosity/.adesklets/python weatherforecast.py &
# exec startkde
# exec icewm
# exec blackbox
# exec fluxbox

Sound right? Or should I move the gnome-session to the end?

Offline

#22 2005-05-06 03:02:40

droog
Member
Registered: 2004-11-18
Posts: 877

Re: adesklets

Once you start your desklet, it makes an .adesklets in your home dir, so next time you start it, just use "adesklets" and it'll start whats in .adesklets in the same position. so in your .xinitrc you should put 

adesklets &

instead of the path to your python script. thats how it says to do it if you read all the docs anyways. and it works fine. that way if you have several desklets in different positions, jsut using "adesklets" starts them all.

Offline

#23 2005-05-06 03:06:04

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: adesklets

viniosity wrote:

cool, so this is what it'll look like:

no, don't use "exec" - it won't work.. once a shell script encounters the first "exec", nothing happens after that point

Offline

#24 2005-05-06 07:51:30

nggalai
Member
From: Switzerland
Registered: 2004-08-01
Posts: 215
Website

Re: adesklets

viniosity wrote:

Yup.. if we can get back on topic just until my problem is solved mind you. smile

I didn't know about the python script so I when you mentioned it I went back to /usr/share and moved it over to /home/viniosity/.adesklets.  When I run

. weatherforecast.py 

I get this error:


: File name too long
bash: import: command not found
bash: import: command not found
bash: import: command not found
bash: import: command not found
bash: from: command not found
bash: from: command not found
bash: from: command not found
bash: ./weatherforecast.py: line 51: syntax error near unexpected token `('
bash: ./weatherforecast.py: line 51: `class Config(adesklets.ConfigFile):'


Permissions are set for the user (same error as root anyway). Any ideas?

Is  /home/viniosity/.adesklets a folder or a file? adesklet's config file is called .adesklets so you shouldn't create a folder named .adesklets to store your desklets in. It's in the FAQ.

Offline

#25 2005-05-06 12:14:34

iphitus
Forum Fellow
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2004-10-09
Posts: 4,927

Re: adesklets

nggalai wrote:

Is  /home/viniosity/.adesklets a folder or a file? adesklet's config file is called .adesklets so you shouldn't create a folder named .adesklets to store your desklets in. It's in the FAQ.

Problem already fixed, read back up above, you cant . source a python file into a bash script.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB