You are not logged in.

#1 2005-05-03 20:36:15

pobudz
Member
From: scottsdale, az
Registered: 2005-05-03
Posts: 35
Website

Pacman lost his appetite? Pacman haults and goes nowhere.

Okay so a few weeks ago I ran an update (pacman -Syu) and updated things. I thought everything went smoothly but apparently not because a few days later I tried running the same update thinking oh wow I'm going to get some fixes etc etc... NOT. It complained about webmin-1.1200 a billion times and wouldnt work at all. Also KDE stopped working... I forget exactly what error I was getting but I use flux now anyways so it really doesn't matter.

BACK to the point... Pacman just hangs when I try to run ANYTHING on it. I ran Pacman -Syuv and it sticks right after it says

Target: None

Then it stops and it'll stay there until hell freezes over, but I rather ctrl+c it and not die before it finishes whatever its doing.

I tried reinstalling pacman manuallly.. nothings changed, I'm thinking a library conflict or configuration error somehow caused by an update of another program.

Im using 2.6.11-3, IgnorePkg kernel... so there weren't any MAJOR changes.

according to pacman.log (/var/log) this was the last successful update:

[04/20/05 23:19] starting full system upgrade
[04/20/05 23:22] removed nss-nspr (3.9.2-1)
[04/20/05 23:22] upgraded cvsup (16.1h-2 -> 16.1h-3)
[04/20/05 23:22] upgraded eel (2.10.0-1 -> 2.10.1-1)
[04/20/05 23:22] upgraded gail (1.8.2-3 -> 1.8.3-1)
[04/20/05 23:22] upgraded gnome-backgrounds (2.10.0-1 -> 2.10.1-1)
[04/20/05 23:22] upgraded gnome-desktop (2.10.0-1 -> 2.10.1-1)
[04/20/05 23:22] upgraded gnome-media (2.10.0-1 -> 2.10.2-1)
[04/20/05 23:22] upgraded gnome-themes (2.10.0-1 -> 2.10.1-1)
[04/20/05 23:22] upgraded gnome-vfs (2.10.0-1 -> 2.10.1-1)
[04/20/05 23:22] upgraded gnupg (1.4.0-1 -> 1.4.1-1)
[04/20/05 23:22] upgraded gnupg2 (1.9.12-1 -> 1.9.15-1)
[04/20/05 23:22] upgraded gpgme (1.0.1-1 -> 1.0.2-1)
[04/20/05 23:22] upgraded gtk-engines (2.6.2-1 -> 2.6.3-2)
[04/20/05 23:22] upgraded gtk2 (2.6.4-1 -> 2.6.7-1)
[04/20/05 23:22] upgraded gwenview (1.2.0pre4-1 -> 1.2.0-1)
[04/20/05 23:22] upgraded hwd (4.6-1 -> 4.7-1)
[04/20/05 23:22] upgraded imagemagick (6.2.0-1 -> 6.2.1-1)
[04/20/05 23:23] upgraded imlib2 (1.1.2-1 -> 1.2.0-2)
[04/20/05 23:23] upgraded kde-common (3.4.0-6 -> 3.4.0-7)
[04/20/05 23:23] upgraded kdeartwork (3.4.0-4 -> 3.4.0-5)
[04/20/05 23:23] upgraded kdemultimedia (3.4.0-4 -> 3.4.0-5)
[04/20/05 23:23] upgraded lesstif (0.94.0-1 -> 0.94.4-1)
[04/20/05 23:23] upgraded lftp (3.1.0-1 -> 3.1.2-1)
[04/20/05 23:23] upgraded libao (0.8.5-1 -> 0.8.6-1)
[04/20/05 23:23] upgraded libassuan (0.6.7-1 -> 0.6.9-1)
[04/20/05 23:23] upgraded libavc1394 (0.4.1-1 -> 0.5.0-1)
[04/20/05 23:23] upgraded libgcrypt (1.2.0-1 -> 1.2.1-1)
[04/20/05 23:23] upgraded libgtop (2.10.0-1 -> 2.10.1-1)
[04/20/05 23:23] upgraded libidn (0.5.12-1 -> 0.5.15-1)
[04/20/05 23:23] upgraded libieee1284 (0.2.8-1 -> 0.2.10-1)
[04/20/05 23:23] upgraded libksba (0.9.9-1 -> 0.9.10-1)
[04/20/05 23:23] upgraded libol (0.3.14-1 -> 0.3.15-1)
[04/20/05 23:23] upgraded libusb (0.1.8-5 -> 0.1.10a-1)
[04/20/05 23:23] upgraded libxml2 (2.6.17-1 -> 2.6.19-1)
[04/20/05 23:23] upgraded libxslt (1.1.12-1 -> 1.1.14-1)
[04/20/05 23:23] warning: extracting /etc/lilo.conf as /etc/lilo.conf.pacnew
[04/20/05 23:23] upgraded lilo (22.6.1-1 -> 22.7-1)
[04/20/05 23:23] upgraded links (2.1pre16-2 -> 2.1pre17-1)
[04/20/05 23:23] upgraded lm_sensors (2.9.0-1 -> 2.9.1-1)
[04/20/05 23:23] upgraded lshwd (1.1.3-1 -> 1.1.3-2)
[04/20/05 23:23] upgraded lvm2 (2.00.33-1 -> 2.01.09-1)
[04/20/05 23:23] upgraded m4 (1.4.2-1 -> 1.4.3-1)
[04/20/05 23:23] upgraded man-pages (2.01-1 -> 2.02-1)
[04/20/05 23:23] upgraded mdadm (1.9.0-2 -> 1.10.0-1)
[04/20/05 23:23] upgraded metacity (2.10.0-1 -> 2.10.1-2)
[04/20/05 23:23] upgraded mozilla-firefox (1.0.1-1 -> 1.0.3-1)
[04/20/05 23:23] upgraded mplayer (1.0pre6a-1 -> 1.0pre6a-2)
[04/20/05 23:23] upgraded mysql (4.1.10-2 -> 4.1.11-2)
[04/20/05 23:23] upgraded nautilus (2.10.0-2 -> 2.10.1-1)
[04/20/05 23:23] upgraded nautilus-cd-burner (2.10.0-1 -> 2.10.1-1)
[04/20/05 23:23] upgraded openssl (0.9.7f-1 -> 0.9.7g-1)
[04/20/05 23:23] upgraded orbit2 (2.12.1-1 -> 2.12.2-1)
[04/20/05 23:23] upgraded pam (0.78-4 -> 0.79-1)
[04/20/05 23:23] upgraded parted (1.6.21-1 -> 1.6.22-1)
[04/20/05 23:23] upgraded perl-dbi (1.40-2 -> 1.48-1)
[04/20/05 23:23] upgraded php (5.0.3-6 -> 5.0.4-2)
[04/20/05 23:23] upgraded pkgconfig (0.15.0-1 -> 0.16.0-1)
[04/20/05 23:24] upgraded postgresql (8.0.1-1 -> 8.0.2-1)
[04/20/05 23:24] upgraded python (2.4-3 -> 2.4.1-1)
[04/20/05 23:24] upgraded qt (3.3.4-5 -> 3.3.4-6)
[04/20/05 23:24] upgraded rdesktop (1.3.1-3 -> 1.4.0-1)
[04/20/05 23:24] upgraded rsync (2.6.3-1 -> 2.6.4-1)
[04/20/05 23:24] upgraded samba (3.0.13-1 -> 3.0.14-1)
[04/20/05 23:24] upgraded sane (1.0.15-1 -> 1.0.15-2)
[04/20/05 23:24] warning: extracting /etc/sudoers as /etc/sudoers.pacnew
[04/20/05 23:24] upgraded sudo (1.6.8-5 -> 1.6.8-6)
[04/20/05 23:24] upgraded syslog-ng (1.6.6-1 -> 1.6.7-1)
[04/20/05 23:24] upgraded tcsh (6.13-4 -> 6.14.00-1)
[04/20/05 23:24] upgraded tunepimp (0.3.0-3 -> 0.3.0-4)
[04/20/05 23:24] upgraded udev (054-1 -> 057-1)
[04/20/05 23:24] upgraded util-linux (2.12-6 -> 2.12-7)
[04/20/05 23:24] upgraded vte (0.11.12-1 -> 0.[04/21/05 13:16] synchronizing package lists
[04/21/05 13:16] starting full system upgrade
[04/21/05 13:16] upgraded whois (4.6.23-1 -> 4.7.2-1)
[04/21/05 13:16] upgraded wvstreams (4.0.1-1 -> 4.0.2-1)
[04/21/05 13:16] upgraded xchat (2.4.1-2 -> 2.4.3-1)
[04/21/05 13:16] upgraded xlockmore (5.15-1 -> 5.16-1)
[04/21/05 13:16] upgraded xplanet (1.1.1-1 -> 1.1.2-1)
[04/21/05 13:16] upgraded xscreensaver (4.20-1 -> 4.21-1)
[04/21/05 13:16] upgraded yp-tools (2.8-1 -> 2.9-2)

I have no idea what to do smile  and I'm still learning ABS/Pacman and how it all works so if you could explain yourselves as well, that would be appreciated.

-joe


If its out there, I'll sniff it

http://www.wifiscan.net/

Offline

#2 2005-05-03 20:48:40

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: Pacman lost his appetite? Pacman haults and goes nowhere.

try a "pacman -Scc" first, then redo the -Syu... if that still fails, try the pacman defrag script in the "User Contributions" forum... the pacman db can have issues sometimes...

Offline

#3 2005-05-04 05:51:10

pobudz
Member
From: scottsdale, az
Registered: 2005-05-03
Posts: 35
Website

Re: Pacman lost his appetite? Pacman haults and goes nowhere.

tried -Scc... still haulting

tried -Syu for the hell of it... same thing

tried pacman-defrag... worked said done, went back to square 1 still haults.


If its out there, I'll sniff it

http://www.wifiscan.net/

Offline

#4 2005-05-04 06:10:41

cactus
Taco Eater
From: t͈̫̹ͨa͖͕͎̱͈ͨ͆ć̥̖̝o̫̫̼s͈̭̱̞͍̃!̰
Registered: 2004-05-25
Posts: 4,615
Website

Re: Pacman lost his appetite? Pacman haults and goes nowhere.

try..
/usr/bin/pacman.static -Syu

see if the statically compiled version gets you anywhere..


"Be conservative in what you send; be liberal in what you accept." -- Postel's Law
"tacos" -- Cactus' Law
"t̥͍͎̪̪͗a̴̻̩͈͚ͨc̠o̩̙͈ͫͅs͙͎̙͊ ͔͇̫̜t͎̳̀a̜̞̗ͩc̗͍͚o̲̯̿s̖̣̤̙͌ ̖̜̈ț̰̫͓ạ̪͖̳c̲͎͕̰̯̃̈o͉ͅs̪ͪ ̜̻̖̜͕" -- -̖͚̫̙̓-̺̠͇ͤ̃ ̜̪̜ͯZ͔̗̭̞ͪA̝͈̙͖̩L͉̠̺͓G̙̞̦͖O̳̗͍

Offline

#5 2005-05-04 11:28:28

T-Dawg
Forum Fellow
From: Wilmington, NC
Registered: 2005-01-29
Posts: 2,734

Re: Pacman lost his appetite? Pacman haults and goes nowhere.

Exactly what did it say about webmin? Do you even have the folder  /var/lib/pacman/extra/webmin-blabla?  I did something one time that removed a db entry like that and I couldn't do anything from it. Could you post your pacman.conf for us? Maybe there's something in that....

Offline

#6 2005-05-04 17:38:24

cmp
Member
Registered: 2005-01-03
Posts: 350

Re: Pacman lost his appetite? Pacman haults and goes nowhere.

try to extract ftp.archlinux.org/current/current.db.tgz (or what's its position) manually.

Offline

#7 2005-05-05 05:28:00

pobudz
Member
From: scottsdale, az
Registered: 2005-05-03
Posts: 35
Website

Re: Pacman lost his appetite? Pacman haults and goes nowhere.

ive decided that its my computer and theres something terribly wrong with it.

when I boot into windows, i cant do anything without getting errors or BSOD (got a virus that got by my AV/firewall)... but then i realized it might not BE a virus because when I tried to reinstall I got a BSOD IN THE DOS INSTALL MODE WHEN I BOOTED FROM CDROM. So that was weird.

After 30 minutes of putting up with that bullshit I went back into Arch... thought I would try to reinstall just cuz I already have like 3 computers running arch and bringing one down for a bit isnt  a really big deal... well, when I tried booting the Arch CD... I would get CRC error EVERYTIME when trying to load the image off the CD. Thought it was the CD... NOPE!

I had 1.5 GB of ram... well turns out a stick is bad cuz Arch wouldnt boot AT ALL before with it in... I'm thinking maybe theres one more bad one?! I don't have any clue. This is the only machine that linux has ever FROZEN on. Its never crashed once on either my laptop or server... but for some reason it hates this computer. Maybe its AMD... i dunno.

Wish I had the time to actually think and figure it out =/


If its out there, I'll sniff it

http://www.wifiscan.net/

Offline

#8 2005-05-05 06:52:03

nuopus
Member
From: Mesa, AZ
Registered: 2005-03-09
Posts: 60

Re: Pacman lost his appetite? Pacman haults and goes nowhere.

Nooo ... I don't think its a memory issue. It is the gods smiting you for not converting our 70's throwback friend from Slackware to Arch.

pobudz wrote:

ive decided that its my computer and theres something terribly wrong with it.

when I boot into windows, i cant do anything without getting errors or BSOD (got a virus that got by my AV/firewall)... but then i realized it might not BE a virus because when I tried to reinstall I got a BSOD IN THE DOS INSTALL MODE WHEN I BOOTED FROM CDROM. So that was weird.

After 30 minutes of putting up with that bullshit I went back into Arch... thought I would try to reinstall just cuz I already have like 3 computers running arch and bringing one down for a bit isnt  a really big deal... well, when I tried booting the Arch CD... I would get CRC error EVERYTIME when trying to load the image off the CD. Thought it was the CD... NOPE!

I had 1.5 GB of ram... well turns out a stick is bad cuz Arch wouldnt boot AT ALL before with it in... I'm thinking maybe theres one more bad one?! I don't have any clue. This is the only machine that linux has ever FROZEN on. Its never crashed once on either my laptop or server... but for some reason it hates this computer. Maybe its AMD... i dunno.

Wish I had the time to actually think and figure it out =/

Offline

#9 2005-05-05 15:08:13

pobudz
Member
From: scottsdale, az
Registered: 2005-05-03
Posts: 35
Website

Re: Pacman lost his appetite? Pacman haults and goes nowhere.

oh, but it WAS!

I took out all the ram and put in one at a time, only one (had 3 sticks) ... turns out the one i JUST bought is bad... grr.

oh well, its probably not bad, just incompatible because its brand new.

Thanks for all your help guys... even though none of it technically helped, I still appreciate the effort smile


If its out there, I'll sniff it

http://www.wifiscan.net/

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB