You are not logged in.

#26 2010-09-21 15:35:53

faco
Member
From: Santiago de Chile
Registered: 2006-08-09
Posts: 34

Re: arch32-light: minimal 32-bit chroot

hello, thanks for this,

when I run "sudo arch32" I'm getting

:: Synchronizing Files                                                    [DONE]
non-network local connections being added to access control list
chroot: failed to run command `/bin/bash': No such file or directory


Whats is wrong?... also when I run "sudo pacman32 -S firefox", for example:

:: Synchronizing Files                                                    [DONE]
non-network local connections being added to access control list
error: failed to prepare transaction (package architecture is not valid)
:: package firefox-3.6.10-1-x86_64 does not have a valid architecture

Any help?

thanks!

Offline

#27 2010-09-22 13:29:04

Xyne
Administrator/PM
Registered: 2008-08-03
Posts: 6,921
Website

Re: arch32-light: minimal 32-bit chroot

@faco
Did you finish the initialization?
  *) install arch32-light
  *) run arch32initialize
  *) follow instructions (e.g. check config, then run pacman32 command)

The output should make it clear what you need to do. It usually only takes 3 steps.






@everyone
I've created a utilities package for arch32-light:
http://xyne.archlinux.ca/projects/arch32-light-utils/

Contributions and suggestions are welcome. smile

Last edited by Xyne (2010-09-22 14:05:54)


My Arch Linux StuffForum EtiquetteCommunity Ethos - Arch is not for everyone

Offline

#28 2010-10-08 08:22:53

gour
Member
From: Croatia
Registered: 2007-07-28
Posts: 67

Re: arch32-light: minimal 32-bit chroot

Xyne wrote:

Contributions and suggestions are welcome. smile

Bauerbill32 does not work for me and I had to manually build & tweak makepkg32.conf in order to build stuff from AUR (btw, I want to setup dev environment for D).

Offline

#29 2010-10-08 15:34:01

Xyne
Administrator/PM
Registered: 2008-08-03
Posts: 6,921
Website

Re: arch32-light: minimal 32-bit chroot

@gour
I've added notes to the arch32-light-utils pages about using an i686 makepkg.conf along with some suggestions.


My Arch Linux StuffForum EtiquetteCommunity Ethos - Arch is not for everyone

Offline

#30 2010-12-11 20:06:24

koshon
Member
Registered: 2010-12-11
Posts: 12

Re: arch32-light: minimal 32-bit chroot

I install arch32-light with abs and corrected install file, where i replaced all /opt on /home, because i not have more place in / (/home on the separate partition). Also, i edit /usr/bin/arch32,arch32initialize,arch32run /etc/rc.d/arch32d... Which still more file i need edit than arch32-light start?? (Error: not find /opt(!!!)/arch32/etc/pacman32.conf). Big Tnx for this great package, Xyne. Oh.. my f.. hard english...

Offline

#31 2010-12-12 02:01:07

Xyne
Administrator/PM
Registered: 2008-08-03
Posts: 6,921
Website

Re: arch32-light: minimal 32-bit chroot

@koshon
You probably missed one of the paths in /usr/bin/pacman32.

I have updated arch32-light. You can now configure the chroot path in /etc/arch32d.conf (ARCH32ROOT). I haven't tested it thoroughly yet but so far it seems to work.


I have also removed "arch32run" for now. The schroot settings included in the package do not match those of arch32-light and it seems that it is a bad idea to use schroot with those settings.

If someone who is familiar with schroot would like to help me provide a new "arch32run" script with the necessary compatibility settings then I will include it again. Otherwise it's safer for users who need to to configure it themselves.


My Arch Linux StuffForum EtiquetteCommunity Ethos - Arch is not for everyone

Offline

#32 2010-12-12 06:58:36

broken pipe
Member
Registered: 2010-12-10
Posts: 233

Re: arch32-light: minimal 32-bit chroot

missing dependency: xorg-xhost

Offline

#33 2010-12-12 11:43:34

koshon
Member
Registered: 2010-12-11
Posts: 12

Re: arch32-light: minimal 32-bit chroot

Xyne, thx! I edit /usr/bin/pacman32 and then i have another problem -

W: line 78 [Arch32]: Deprecated key 'priority' used
I: This option will be removed in the future; please update your configuration
E: 10mount: error Directory '/opt/arch32' does not exist

But after editing /etc/schroot/schroot.conf have only

W: line 17 [Arch32]: Deprecated key 'priority' used
I: This option will be removed in the future; please update your configuration

(maybe W:, because i start arch32run more then onсe without stopping). In spite of this, then everything works like normal.
Maybe remove 'arch32run' and other changes is radical? smile Maybe leave as it was, but write in any file, eg readme, at the time there is no solution?

Last edited by koshon (2010-12-12 12:15:26)

Offline

#34 2010-12-12 13:37:50

koshon
Member
Registered: 2010-12-11
Posts: 12

Re: arch32-light: minimal 32-bit chroot

Also convenient to create color schemes in .bashrc for root/user in /{chroot directory} to distinguish environment. But this not easy realize except skel file and still probably need a script.

Offline

#35 2010-12-12 19:30:08

Xyne
Administrator/PM
Registered: 2008-08-03
Posts: 6,921
Website

Re: arch32-light: minimal 32-bit chroot

@koshon
Are you using the latest version from the repo on my site? You do not need to edit any files except /etc/arch32d.conf now to change the root path.

I can't keep using arch32run because the schroot settings are not inherited from the arch32-light configuration files. This could lead to incorrect mounting and data loss. Again, if someone wants to provide a solution then I will consider it but until then users can set up schroot themselves.


@koshon
Thanks, I've added xorg-xhost to the optional dependencies and changed arch32.conf to check if it exists before trying to run the command.

If you have a concrete suggestion of how to indicate that the user is in the chroot then I will also consider that. As you can see above, I asked about this in the original post but so far I have not received any satisfying replies.


My Arch Linux StuffForum EtiquetteCommunity Ethos - Arch is not for everyone

Offline

#36 2010-12-12 20:24:48

koshon
Member
Registered: 2010-12-11
Posts: 12

Re: arch32-light: minimal 32-bit chroot

Xyne, no, i not use last version. I finished previous version and all work fine. Oh.. and maybe at once too setup pacman in chroot environment? To be updated and the main environment from and from chroot.

Offline

#37 2011-12-06 09:21:45

dlin
Member
From: Taipei,Taiwan
Registered: 2005-09-21
Posts: 265

Re: arch32-light: minimal 32-bit chroot

Thanks for this package.

I want to use this script to let my system automatic build 64 bit & 32 bit binary.

I've modify the /opt/arch32/etc/pacman.conf 's Architecture=i686.

I found I can not install program in the arch32 environment.

# pacman -S cmake
resolving dependencies...
looking for inter-conflicts...

Targets (3): libxml2-2.7.8-1  shared-mime-info-0.91-1  cmake-2.8.6-1

Total Download Size:    5.37 MB
Total Installed Size:   39.37 MB

Proceed with installation? [Y/n]
:: Retrieving packages from extra...
warning: failed to retrieve some files from extra
error: failed to commit transaction (no servers configured for repository)
Errors occurred, no packages were upgraded.

But, "pacman32 -S cmake" outside the arch32 box workable.


Running 4 ArchLinux including sh4twbox,server,notebook,desktop. my AUR packages

Offline

#38 2011-12-06 22:03:21

Xyne
Administrator/PM
Registered: 2008-08-03
Posts: 6,921
Website

Re: arch32-light: minimal 32-bit chroot

@dlin
The error message indicates that it was unable to retrieve the packages. Check that 32-bit chroot pacman is using a valid mirrorlist.

It could also have been a transient server error.

I am able to install cmake within the 32-bit chroot on my system so I do no think this is an arch32-light error.


My Arch Linux StuffForum EtiquetteCommunity Ethos - Arch is not for everyone

Offline

#39 2011-12-07 03:19:18

dlin
Member
From: Taipei,Taiwan
Registered: 2005-09-21
Posts: 265

Re: arch32-light: minimal 32-bit chroot

Thanks, I found the problem is caused by mirrorlist wrong.  So, I continue with my other problems:

1. Is there any method to let me set different prompt or different hostname on the arch32?
eg. 
in outside host, I could edit /etc/rc.conf to set hostname

But, I don't know how to modify the hostname inside arch32

2. How to 'hg clone ssh://host64/myprj' ?  I've seen the following message.

$ sudo arch32                                              /etc 11:33:10
Password:
:: Synchronizing Files                                                   [DONE]
non-network local connections being added to access control list   <----
#

3. By the way, is there any shell tip to detect I'm in chroot environment? (uname -m got wrong answer)

Last edited by dlin (2011-12-07 04:49:49)


Running 4 ArchLinux including sh4twbox,server,notebook,desktop. my AUR packages

Offline

#40 2011-12-08 20:32:50

Xyne
Administrator/PM
Registered: 2008-08-03
Posts: 6,921
Website

Re: arch32-light: minimal 32-bit chroot

@dlin
1 & 3:There is a discussion about changing the prompt (i.e. the PS1 variable) in the chroot at the top of this thread. So far I have not found a reliable way to do it.

2: If you just want to remove the message, you can try redirecting the output of "xhost +local" to /dev/null in /etc/arch32.conf. If you meant that there is an error that prevents you from running hg, you will need to explain the problem more clearly.


My Arch Linux StuffForum EtiquetteCommunity Ethos - Arch is not for everyone

Offline

#41 2011-12-09 04:01:31

dlin
Member
From: Taipei,Taiwan
Registered: 2005-09-21
Posts: 265

Re: arch32-light: minimal 32-bit chroot

1. About the PS1 problem.

I can use [ -f /etc/pacman32.conf ] to detect it.

2. About  my clone source from outside host :

I want to clone the source code from host machine(x86_64).
But, because the hostname is the same, I can't do such thing by  'hg clone ssh://host/prj'
The temp solution is clone the source in outside of arch32.

3. Could you edit the first post in this thread, the following page is 404 not found.
http://xyne.archlinux.ca/projects/arch32-light-utils/

Last edited by dlin (2011-12-09 04:54:58)


Running 4 ArchLinux including sh4twbox,server,notebook,desktop. my AUR packages

Offline

#42 2011-12-10 19:43:42

Xyne
Administrator/PM
Registered: 2008-08-03
Posts: 6,921
Website

Re: arch32-light: minimal 32-bit chroot

1. That's a relatively nice and simple solution. I would still prefer something where the chroot prompt changes, not the host system. What I mean is that if, for example, you remove the arch32 system, then suddenly your host prompt will look like the chroot.

2. I am not familiar with hg so I hadn't understood the problem. If it's just a matter of the host name then maybe you can just change the host name in arch32. I don't know what else that might affect though.  You would have to check.

3. Done.


My Arch Linux StuffForum EtiquetteCommunity Ethos - Arch is not for everyone

Offline

#43 2011-12-28 04:58:37

rep_nop
Member
From: Portland, OR
Registered: 2011-12-28
Posts: 3
Website

Re: arch32-light: minimal 32-bit chroot

Thanks, Xyne. This totally saved a ton of time.

Offline

#44 2012-01-23 09:27:30

pedromj
Member
Registered: 2010-10-27
Posts: 51

Re: arch32-light: minimal 32-bit chroot

I've installed arch32-light to run skype (damn, I don't like it, but I needed it in my job) in my 64bits system. I've installed "skype-staticqt" and most of "base" packages but it does not work. I tried to run it from a terminal with root and my personal user and I just get "Aborted". I also tried to run the static version downloaded from their website and it still does not work. Finally, I tried to run it from an old partition with a Debian Sid 32bits and it works. Do you know what can be happening?

[I do not know if this is a good place to post this. If not, please let me know and remove the post.]


Entia non sunt multiplicanda praeter necessitatem

Offline

#45 2012-02-04 04:49:18

Xyne
Administrator/PM
Registered: 2008-08-03
Posts: 6,921
Website

Re: arch32-light: minimal 32-bit chroot

I don't know. Maybe it's expecting some system files that aren't mounted in the chroot, but I don't know what Skype needs.

It might be easier to just use the skype package from the multilib repo.


My Arch Linux StuffForum EtiquetteCommunity Ethos - Arch is not for everyone

Offline

#46 2012-02-10 03:32:21

ngoonee
Forum Fellow
From: Between Thailand and Singapore
Registered: 2009-03-17
Posts: 7,340

Re: arch32-light: minimal 32-bit chroot

Hi Xyne, I haven't used chroots in a while since [multilib] came out but now I need one for testing some software and I realize /etc/rc.d/arch32d doesn't actually unmount anything. The problem is that line 1 (picked out from $_mounted) doesn't contain line 2 (which is what its being tested with, $_mountline). Any suggestions? For now I just remove the test, but of course that's a bad idea (tm).

Line 1 - ::proc on /home/arch32/proc type proc (rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime)::

Line 2 - ::/proc on /home/arch32/proc type none (rw,bind)::

EDIT: Also, somehow /proc/bus/usb doesn't exist on my system, maybe things have moved around?

EDIT2: replaced the checks with a call to mountpoint as below seems to work. The first is for mount_chroot() and the second for unmount_chroot()

        mountpoint -q $_mountpoint
        if [[ $?] ]]; then
          mount --bind "$_dir" "$_mountpoint" || stat_die
        fi
    mountpoint -q $_mountpoint
    if [[ !$? ]]; then
      umount "$_mountpoint" || stat_die
    fi

Last edited by ngoonee (2012-02-10 04:44:54)


Allan-Volunteer on the (topic being discussed) mailn lists. You never get the people who matters attention on the forums.
jasonwryan-Installing Arch is a measure of your literacy. Maintaining Arch is a measure of your diligence. Contributing to Arch is a measure of your competence.
Griemak-Bleeding edge, not bleeding flat. Edge denotes falls will occur from time to time. Bring your own parachute.

Offline

#47 2012-02-16 10:16:17

Xyne
Administrator/PM
Registered: 2008-08-03
Posts: 6,921
Website

Re: arch32-light: minimal 32-bit chroot

@ngoonee
I rewrote several functions in the daemon and made some other changes to the package a few weeks ago that should solve this, but I haven't released the new package yet because my release scripts are currently broken. I'll try to get them working in the next few days and then push the new version. Sorry for the delay.


My Arch Linux StuffForum EtiquetteCommunity Ethos - Arch is not for everyone

Offline

#48 2012-02-17 01:51:37

ngoonee
Forum Fellow
From: Between Thailand and Singapore
Registered: 2009-03-17
Posts: 7,340

Re: arch32-light: minimal 32-bit chroot

Xyne wrote:

@ngoonee
I rewrote several functions in the daemon and made some other changes to the package a few weeks ago that should solve this, but I haven't released the new package yet because my release scripts are currently broken. I'll try to get them working in the next few days and then push the new version. Sorry for the delay.

No problem, figured you'd have already gotten it in hand smile. Thanks for the package!


Allan-Volunteer on the (topic being discussed) mailn lists. You never get the people who matters attention on the forums.
jasonwryan-Installing Arch is a measure of your literacy. Maintaining Arch is a measure of your diligence. Contributing to Arch is a measure of your competence.
Griemak-Bleeding edge, not bleeding flat. Edge denotes falls will occur from time to time. Bring your own parachute.

Offline

#49 2012-02-27 00:53:46

ngoonee
Forum Fellow
From: Between Thailand and Singapore
Registered: 2009-03-17
Posts: 7,340

Re: arch32-light: minimal 32-bit chroot

The new release fixes the issues with unmounting I was experiencing, thanks Xyne! However the default ARCH32MOUNTS still has /proc/bus/usb which doesn't exist on my system for some reason. No big deal, just uncommented it.


Allan-Volunteer on the (topic being discussed) mailn lists. You never get the people who matters attention on the forums.
jasonwryan-Installing Arch is a measure of your literacy. Maintaining Arch is a measure of your diligence. Contributing to Arch is a measure of your competence.
Griemak-Bleeding edge, not bleeding flat. Edge denotes falls will occur from time to time. Bring your own parachute.

Offline

#50 2012-02-27 01:17:09

Xyne
Administrator/PM
Registered: 2008-08-03
Posts: 6,921
Website

Re: arch32-light: minimal 32-bit chroot

I don't really know what the best default mountpoints are. The current ones were taken from the wiki article and I'm not opposed to changing them.

I could also let the daemon continue when the mountpoint doesn't exist, but that might cause problems if the user bases the order on certain expectations.

Thoughts?


My Arch Linux StuffForum EtiquetteCommunity Ethos - Arch is not for everyone

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB