You are not logged in.

#1 2010-12-13 14:30:53

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,261

2010.12-1 archboot "2k10-R8" ISO hybrid image released

Hi Arch community,

Arch Linux (archboot creation tool) 2010.12-1, "2k10-R8" has been released.
To avoid confusion, this is not an official arch linux iso release!

Homepage and for more information on archboot:
http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Archboot

Summary:
- bugfix release with latest kernels

Hybrid image file and torrent is provided, which include
i686 and x86_64 core repository. Please check md5sum before using it.

Hybrid image file is a standard CD-burnable image and also a raw disk image.
    - Can be burned to CD(RW) media using most CD-burning utilities.
    - Can be raw-written to a drive using 'dd' or similar utilities.
      This method is intended for use with USB thumb drives.

Please get it from your favorite arch linux mirror:
https://downloads.archlinux.de/iso/archboot/2010.12/
<yourmirror>/iso/archboot/2010.12/

/boot for PXE/Rescue files are provided here:
https://downloads.archlinux.de/iso/arch … 10.12/boot
<yourmirror>/iso/archboot/2010.12/boot

Changelog:

General:
- kernel 2.6.36.2 / LTS kernel 2.6.32.27
- pacman 3.4.1 usage
- RAM recommendations: 320 MB

Kernel changes:
- bump to latest .36 series and bump lts to .32 series

Environment changes:
- added poweroff to boot menu (works only with apm capable systems)
- reformated boot menu
- updated to latest syslog-ng 3.2.x
- updated clamav
- updated pacman.conf file
- fixed wireless modules, typo corrected to include all wireless modules
- updated default groups
- cleanup in hooks and remove redundant code

setup changes:
- don't create /media entries anymore
- change sys/extlinux config file syntax

hwdetect changes:
- none

quickinst changes:
- none

KNOWN ISSUES:
- FTP installation mode:
  None
- CD installation mode:
  None
 
Further documentation can be found on-disk and on the wiki.
Have fun!

greetings
tpowa

Last edited by tpowa (2010-12-13 16:34:20)

Offline

#2 2010-12-13 15:43:40

Pierre
Developer
From: Bonn
Registered: 2004-07-05
Posts: 1,950
Website

Re: 2010.12-1 archboot "2k10-R8" ISO hybrid image released

Just a small note: you could just use https://downloads.archlinux.de/iso/archboot/2010.12/ as a mirror redirect. (makes it easier if I happen to change something there)

Offline

#3 2010-12-13 19:00:26

daschu117
Member
Registered: 2009-04-05
Posts: 15

Re: 2010.12-1 archboot "2k10-R8" ISO hybrid image released

tpowa wrote:

/boot for PXE/Rescue files are provided here:
https://downloads.archlinux.de/iso/arch … 10.12/boot
<yourmirror>/iso/archboot/2010.12/boot

This is better than awesome! Thank you!

Offline

#4 2010-12-13 23:10:46

ammon
Member
Registered: 2008-12-11
Posts: 413

Re: 2010.12-1 archboot "2k10-R8" ISO hybrid image released

Still no btrfs installer? smile
Sike! I would not actually use it.

Offline

#5 2010-12-14 00:49:16

Anonymo
Member
Registered: 2005-04-07
Posts: 418
Website

Re: 2010.12-1 archboot "2k10-R8" ISO hybrid image released

ammon wrote:

Still no btrfs installer? smile
Sike! I would not actually use it.

The last installer has BTRFS and I'm using it on my PC.

Last edited by Anonymo (2010-12-14 00:49:41)

Offline

#6 2010-12-14 06:57:16

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,261

Re: 2010.12-1 archboot "2k10-R8" ISO hybrid image released

Btrfs support is there since 2010.07. Just check the Changelog files or read the wiki.

Last edited by tpowa (2010-12-14 08:20:24)

Offline

#7 2010-12-14 10:46:18

skodabenz
Banned
From: Tamilnadu, India
Registered: 2010-04-11
Posts: 382

Re: 2010.12-1 archboot "2k10-R8" ISO hybrid image released

From https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php … 98#p864798 (2010.10-1 topic)

hi all, tried it on my 2007er macbook pro, 64bit doesn't boot at all, because of efi vs uefi incompatiblity. ubuntu had the same problem, so you now can download a special mac 64bit port from their dl servers.
bugtracker url https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+sour … bug/633983

have a nice day wink
chief

Hey, can you please elaborate on the exact incompatibility. I read through the ubuntu bug report, they mention initramfs problems which has been fixed in grub1.99~beta (newreloc branch was merged a long time back in main bzr trunk) which is the grub2-efi version in Archboot isos. Also there seems to be someother binutils issue I didn't quite understand. It is possible to remove efi el-torito entry from the isos to enable bios emulation (aka bootcamp) booting of archboot. Maybe you can ask in #grub at freenode.

Since you have a 2007 Mac, you might have i386-efi (32-bit) not 64-bit efi. If you are trying to boot 64-bit linux kernel using i386-efi you need to add 'noefi' kernel parameter to the grub menuentry by editing it while booting archboot.

Last edited by skodabenz (2010-12-14 16:40:33)


My new forum user/nick name is "the.ridikulus.rat" .

Offline

#8 2010-12-14 16:31:42

Chiefcooker
Member
Registered: 2006-02-14
Posts: 29

Re: 2010.12-1 archboot "2k10-R8" ISO hybrid image released

I have 64 bit efi v1.3. i do not know exactly what the problem is, i think during boot the install cd detects efi and tries to use it, but then its incompatible because uefi is v2+ and apple uses its own efi implementation. so i have this problem with vista 64bit with sp1 (because this adds efi support), win7 64 bit and all 64bit linux cds with efi support. the developer from ubuntu said, that he removed efi support on the mac64 cd ports.

best wishes, chief

Last edited by Chiefcooker (2010-12-14 16:32:34)

Offline

#9 2010-12-14 16:40:58

skodabenz
Banned
From: Tamilnadu, India
Registered: 2010-04-11
Posts: 382

Re: 2010.12-1 archboot "2k10-R8" ISO hybrid image released

Did you get any idea from http://grub.enbug.org/TestingOnMacbook . This is the only efi related upstream documentation available. If there are any bugs in the grub2 efi used in archboot please mention it here. I compiled the grub2 efi packages used in archboot. Here are the links.


PKGBUILDs

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/9710721/grub2_s … src.tar.gz     

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/9710721/grub2_s … src.tar.gz


SOURCES

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/9710721/grub2_s … 977.tar.xz

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/9710721/grub2_s … r12.tar.xz       

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/9710721/grub2_s … r13.tar.xz

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/9710721/grub2_s … _r6.tar.xz

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/9710721/grub2_s … r19.tar.xz


COMPILED PKGs

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/9710721/skodabe … pkg.tar.xz

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/9710721/skodabe … pkg.tar.xz
     
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/9710721/skodabe … pkg.tar.xz

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/9710721/skodabe … pkg.tar.xz
     
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/9710721/skodabe … pkg.tar.xz
   

REPO - downloads the above compiled pkgs

[skodabenz-arch-grub2] 
Server = http://dl.dropbox.com/u/9710721/skodabenz-arch-grub2/ 

As of now only efi booting of archboot iso works (the official iso does not support efi booting). The setup script does not yet support efi bootloader installation, you have to do it manually - see https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php … 44#p837644 .

Last edited by skodabenz (2010-12-14 16:47:43)


My new forum user/nick name is "the.ridikulus.rat" .

Offline

#10 2010-12-14 16:56:43

skodabenz
Banned
From: Tamilnadu, India
Registered: 2010-04-11
Posts: 382

Re: 2010.12-1 archboot "2k10-R8" ISO hybrid image released

For removing (u)efi support in the archboot cd or in the windows cd you might have to do what is mentioned here http://jowie.com/blog/post/2008/02/24/S … -file.aspx .

For archboot, extract the iso, cd into the extracted dir, use mkisofs and its related options as described in line 129 of http://projects.archlinux.org/archboot. … llinone.sh script (use mkisofs from cdrkit, not aur/cdrtools - the options are different). The same thing can be done for ubuntu actually, redownloading a modified iso is a waste of time and bandwidth IMO.

mkdir archboot && cd archboot

<extract archboot iso in 'archboot/' using bsdtar or p7zip - 'archboot/' should contain the root of the iso>

cd ..

mkisofs -RlDJLV "Arch Linux ALLINONE" -b boot/syslinux/isolinux.bin -c boot/syslinux/boot.cat -no-emul-boot -boot-load-size 4 -boot-info-table -o archboot.iso archboot/

PS: I use UEFI 2.3 (Tianocore EDK2 DUET x64), I do not own a Mac

Last edited by skodabenz (2010-12-14 17:17:47)


My new forum user/nick name is "the.ridikulus.rat" .

Offline

#11 2010-12-14 16:57:31

Chiefcooker
Member
Registered: 2006-02-14
Posts: 29

Re: 2010.12-1 archboot "2k10-R8" ISO hybrid image released

yeah, efi booting works with archboot on uefi systems, but not with some efis from apple. the oroginal 2010.05 iso is working on my macbook, because of the lack of an efi support.

edit: i think, that if there is no efi support on the installation media, than my macbook is forced to use the bios emulation layer (with is the only way to use hardware like the nvidia graphics card, which doesnt work with efi because of the unknown implementations form apple). so is there a possibility to disable efi support, maybe a no-efi version. at this time its no problem for me to simply use the original cd, but when there is efi support in them too, then I have a problem smile

chief

Last edited by Chiefcooker (2010-12-14 17:03:42)

Offline

#12 2010-12-14 17:04:51

skodabenz
Banned
From: Tamilnadu, India
Registered: 2010-04-11
Posts: 382

Re: 2010.12-1 archboot "2k10-R8" ISO hybrid image released

Please see the above post of mine for the links.


My new forum user/nick name is "the.ridikulus.rat" .

Offline

#13 2010-12-14 17:04:55

Chiefcooker
Member
Registered: 2006-02-14
Posts: 29

Re: 2010.12-1 archboot "2k10-R8" ISO hybrid image released

skodabenz wrote:

For removing (u)efi support in the archboot cd or in the windows cd you might have to do what is mentioned here http://jowie.com/blog/post/2008/02/24/S … -file.aspx .

For archboot, extract the iso, cd into the extracted dir, use mkisofs and its related options as described in line 129 of http://projects.archlinux.org/archboot. … llinone.sh script (use mkisofs from cdrkit, not aur/cdrtools - the options are different). The same thing can be done for ubuntu actually, redownloading a modified iso is a waste of time and bandwidth IMO.

PS: I use UEFI 2.3 (Tianocore EDK2 DUET x64), I do not own a Mac

thanky, I will try this tomorrow wink

Offline

#14 2010-12-16 18:50:25

Dieter@be
Forum Fellow
From: Belgium
Registered: 2006-11-05
Posts: 1,958
Website

Re: 2010.12-1 archboot "2k10-R8" ISO hybrid image released

Chiefcooker wrote:

yeah, efi booting works with archboot on uefi systems, but not with some efis from apple. the oroginal 2010.05 iso is working on my macbook, because of the lack of an efi support.

edit: i think, that if there is no efi support on the installation media, than my macbook is forced to use the bios emulation layer (with is the only way to use hardware like the nvidia graphics card, which doesnt work with efi because of the unknown implementations form apple). so is there a possibility to disable efi support, maybe a no-efi version. at this time its no problem for me to simply use the original cd, but when there is efi support in them too, then I have a problem smile

chief

hah, that's awesomely ironic.

Last edited by Dieter@be (2010-12-16 18:50:35)


< Daenyth> and he works prolifically
4 8 15 16 23 42

Offline

#15 2010-12-16 20:09:35

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,261

Re: 2010.12-1 archboot "2k10-R8" ISO hybrid image released

There you see, how beta all this stuff is and this should become the successor of everything, probably something else will be invented till then and noone speaks of uefi in some years anymore. Only time will tell us what will happen.

Offline

#16 2010-12-18 14:16:31

ArchIMEDE
Member
Registered: 2010-04-20
Posts: 14

Re: 2010.12-1 archboot "2k10-R8" ISO hybrid image released

Hi all!

With the latest version, I can quicly install a fresh and fully usable archlinux:
- from the net (in WPA2 mode with ipw2200)
- on an external usb disk containing 4 LV partitions:
- / (btrfs), /boot (ext2), /home (btrfs) and swap
- without any intermediate reboot

Just have to write 3 words: Thank You Tobias

PS: one proposal for the next...
what about activating 75-persistent-net-generator-rules at boot time (live session) in order to create 70-persistent-net-rules file? Asking for choosing name of network card to user would be nice also (I hate eth1 for my intel wifi card and I prefer wlan0)

Offline

#17 2010-12-20 14:43:00

sveinemann
Member
Registered: 2007-09-30
Posts: 108

Re: 2010.12-1 archboot "2k10-R8" ISO hybrid image released

I'm having one problem. Grub2 install fails every time. Any tips?

Offline

#18 2010-12-20 15:22:20

litemotiv
Forum Fellow
Registered: 2008-08-01
Posts: 5,026

Re: 2010.12-1 archboot "2k10-R8" ISO hybrid image released


ᶘ ᵒᴥᵒᶅ

Offline

#19 2010-12-20 17:17:27

sveinemann
Member
Registered: 2007-09-30
Posts: 108

Re: 2010.12-1 archboot "2k10-R8" ISO hybrid image released

One could think that asking here as well would be a logic thing to do. Maybe its just me.

Offline

#20 2010-12-20 18:02:39

litemotiv
Forum Fellow
Registered: 2008-08-01
Posts: 5,026

Re: 2010.12-1 archboot "2k10-R8" ISO hybrid image released

sveinemann wrote:

One could think that asking here as well would be a logic thing to do. Maybe its just me.

It is a means to avoid multiple overlapping discussions on the same issue, with your reasoning it would seem sensible to also post the same question in every other thread about grub, macbooks, efi etc. That wouldn't be very logical right? To provide you with the best help possible, it is important that you provide people with all the necessary information in a central location.


ᶘ ᵒᴥᵒᶅ

Offline

#21 2010-12-21 18:07:26

skodabenz
Banned
From: Tamilnadu, India
Registered: 2010-04-11
Posts: 382

Re: 2010.12-1 archboot "2k10-R8" ISO hybrid image released

@tpowa: I have tried hacking into <archboot>/usr/share/archboot/installer/setup for grub2 efi support. Can you please review it? Patch at https://gist.github.com/750302 .

Few unintentional changes are, some of the $variable have become ${variable} . The modified script depends on my grub2 packages (including grub2-common and grub2-bios).

Last edited by skodabenz (2010-12-23 08:13:31)


My new forum user/nick name is "the.ridikulus.rat" .

Offline

#22 2010-12-22 12:28:31

agapito
Member
From: Spain
Registered: 2008-11-13
Posts: 495

Re: 2010.12-1 archboot "2k10-R8" ISO hybrid image released

Hmm I can't boot this iso inside virtualbox_bin ... no matter what kernel i selected to boot, it gives me a backtrace error. My iso is fine, any solution?

EDIT: I am stupid... only assigned 256 MB of ram to Virtual Machine. Minimum for this iso is 320. Solved.

Last edited by agapito (2010-12-22 12:32:09)


Excuse my poor English.

Offline

#23 2010-12-23 01:40:03

yvonney
Member
Registered: 2008-06-11
Posts: 671

Re: 2010.12-1 archboot "2k10-R8" ISO hybrid image released

[hope it's ok to post this here, if not please advise -- though about it and decided to post here]

NOTE: I've seen most all the thread using serch terms:  arch AND install AND ssh

OBJECTIVE: use archboot and not main release to install via vnc/ssh on remote machine (internet) using this wiki as basis (bottom part or page for arternate method using .iso/.img -- specifically titled: Another Method: Installing from Existing Linux with Arch's Image

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/In … Setup_Grub

I'm stuck due to my skill level and archboot's ram loading install system. I do want to use archboot, grub2 and all the other cool stuff if sensible.

THIS IS WHERE I AM STUCK IN THE ABOVE LINK To WIKI PAGE

and the content of image:
$ ls /mnt/loop
boot  core-pkgs.sqfs  isomounts  lost+found  overlay.sqfs  root-image.sqfs

extract the root image:
$ cd /mnt
$ unsquashfs loop/root-image.sqfs

1- What would I extract if anything, from ARCHBOOT? Can I simply copy the /mnt/loop --all the archboot-- files to a folder and chroot in to that? Then run what command?
2- any tips for doing this remotely?
3- I login to my friends ubuntu machine via ssh/vnc. I have the usb stick formatted and bootable. I have the archboot .iso mounted in /mnt/loop

OR: should I do this wiki method with the official install image? (the alternate one near bottom of wiki page)

Bet there's some great easy ways to proceed with ARCHBOOT !
Just need to get archboot installed.

Sorry if this is not appropriate to post here. not sure on that at all.

Last edited by yvonney (2010-12-23 05:07:19)

Offline

#24 2010-12-23 08:14:38

skodabenz
Banned
From: Tamilnadu, India
Registered: 2010-04-11
Posts: 382

Re: 2010.12-1 archboot "2k10-R8" ISO hybrid image released

Archboot installer script efi support fully works now. Patch at https://gist.github.com/750302 (needs to be applied to archboot git commit "bump version and year to 2011".

Last edited by skodabenz (2010-12-23 08:15:04)


My new forum user/nick name is "the.ridikulus.rat" .

Offline

#25 2010-12-23 13:48:11

graysky
Member
From: /run/user/1000
Registered: 2008-12-01
Posts: 8,446
Website

Re: 2010.12-1 archboot "2k10-R8" ISO hybrid image released

yvonney wrote:

OBJECTIVE: use archboot and not main release to install via vnc/ssh on remote machine (internet) using this wiki as basis (bottom part or page for arternate method using .iso/.img -- specifically titled: Another Method: Installing from Existing Linux with Arch's Image

I hope I understood your request correctly because I just spend the past 45 minutes writing up this procedure on the wiki:
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Install_from_SSH


CPU-optimized Linux-ck packages @ Repo-ck  • AUR packagesZsh and other configs

Online

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB