You are not logged in.

#1 2010-12-16 19:56:51

infested999
Member
Registered: 2010-10-02
Posts: 48

Winetricks in x86_64

So I finally got winetricks to work in my x86_64 arch install and I launched it by:

WINEARCH=win32 winetricks

Now I ran into another problem, it gives the error:

wine cmd.exe /c echo '%ProgramFiles%' returned empty string

bxsHF.png

winecfg:
qrBKU.png

I simply need to install d3dx9 and a few other things...

Offline

#2 2010-12-16 20:03:18

skunktrader
Member
From: Brisbane, Australia
Registered: 2010-02-14
Posts: 1,319

Re: Winetricks in x86_64

Did you create a new 32bit wine installation? You need to rename or delete your existing ~/.wine (hopefully you don't have anything important installed) and then run

WINEARCH=win32 winecfg

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Wi … g_WINEARCH

Offline

#3 2010-12-16 20:47:30

infested999
Member
Registered: 2010-10-02
Posts: 48

Re: Winetricks in x86_64

skunktrader wrote:

Did you create a new 32bit wine installation? You need to rename or delete your existing ~/.wine (hopefully you don't have anything important installed) and then run

WINEARCH=win32 winecfg

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Wi … g_WINEARCH

Ahh that clarifies allot! I never had a x64 CPU before so I don't really understand how this works. I can install any 32-bit application I want with this wine install now?

Offline

#4 2010-12-16 20:49:51

thestinger
Trusted User (TU)
From: Toronto, Canada
Registered: 2010-01-23
Posts: 478

Re: Winetricks in x86_64

infested999 wrote:
skunktrader wrote:

Did you create a new 32bit wine installation? You need to rename or delete your existing ~/.wine (hopefully you don't have anything important installed) and then run

WINEARCH=win32 winecfg

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Wi … g_WINEARCH

Ahh that clarifies allot! I never had a x64 CPU before so I don't really understand how this works. I can install any 32-bit application I want with this wine install now?

You can run 32-bit programs in a 64-bit wine prefix too, the same way 32-bit programs run on Windows (WoW64). However, winetricks doesn't work with a 64-bit wine prefix yet.

Last edited by thestinger (2010-12-16 20:50:23)

Offline

#5 2010-12-16 20:53:01

infested999
Member
Registered: 2010-10-02
Posts: 48

Re: Winetricks in x86_64

thestinger wrote:
infested999 wrote:
skunktrader wrote:

Did you create a new 32bit wine installation? You need to rename or delete your existing ~/.wine (hopefully you don't have anything important installed) and then run

WINEARCH=win32 winecfg

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Wi … g_WINEARCH

Ahh that clarifies allot! I never had a x64 CPU before so I don't really understand how this works. I can install any 32-bit application I want with this wine install now?

You can run 32-bit programs in a 64-bit wine prefix too, the same way 32-bit programs run on Windows (WoW64). However, winetricks doesn't work with a 64-bit wine prefix yet.

Hmm, does this cause a performance decrease in gaming since DirectX and .NET is only 32-bit?

Offline

#6 2010-12-16 22:09:44

thestinger
Trusted User (TU)
From: Toronto, Canada
Registered: 2010-01-23
Posts: 478

Re: Winetricks in x86_64

It probably doesn't cause much of a performance hit, but if you're only using 32-bit windows programs, you might as well use a 32-bit wine prefix.

Offline

#7 2010-12-16 22:28:32

ngoonee
Forum Fellow
From: Between Thailand and Singapore
Registered: 2009-03-17
Posts: 6,816

Re: Winetricks in x86_64

More to the point than a possible performance hit is that some apps just flat out won't install/run in a 64-bit prefix.


Allan-Volunteer on the (topic being discussed) mailn lists. You never get the people who matters attention on the forums.
jasonwryan-Installing Arch is a measure of your literacy. Maintaining Arch is a measure of your diligence. Contributing to Arch is a measure of your competence.
Griemak-Bleeding edge, not bleeding flat. Edge denotes falls will occur from time to time. Bring your own parachute.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB