You are not logged in.

#1 2005-05-05 23:25:08

andix1966
Member
Registered: 2005-01-27
Posts: 5

adsl-setup ok but no internet available

hello,

i just  installed arch 0.7 and i thought i did it all right.

in etc/modprobe.conf i added:
alias eth0 8139too

in etc/rc.conf i added :

modules = ( ..... 8139too ....)

i also added in etc/rc.conf i added:
eth0 = "dhcp"
because i have no static Ip-adress.

furthermore i added " adsl " to the daemons line.

adsl-setup seemed to go well, after having done it  start was ok and i got the message  ".Connected!"

now the problems begin, i cann´t ping anything without problems. to my provider i get the message

PING 194.25.2.129 (194.25.2.129) 56(84) bytes of data.
From 192.168.178.1 icmp_seq=1 Destination Net Unreachable
From 192.168.178.1 icmp_seq=2 Destination Net Unreachable

--- 194.25.2.129 ping statistics ---
2 packets transmitted, 0 received, +2 errors, 100% packet loss, time 1000ms

pacman --sys --refresh  makes :
gethostbyname: succes
cann´t resolve   ftp.archlinux.org

ifconfig leads to :

eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 4C:00:10:00:44:A5 
          inet addr:192.168.178.25  Bcast:192.168.178.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          UP BROADCAST NOTRAILERS RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:32 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:32 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:4346 (4.2 Kb)  TX bytes:4197 (4.0 Kb)
          Interrupt:5 Base address:0x4f00

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback 
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)

ppp0      Link encap:Point-to-Point Protocol 
          inet addr:62.155.211.24  P-t-P:217.5.98.28  Mask:255.255.255.255
          UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP MULTICAST  MTU:1492  Metric:1
          RX packets:6 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:3 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:3
          RX bytes:174 (174.0 b)  TX bytes:30 (30.0 b)

i don´t know how to solve the provlem and hope i delivered useful information for help:

thanks in advance
andreas schmitzer

Offline

#2 2005-05-06 07:06:45

fetreney2000
Member
From: Malaysia
Registered: 2005-02-01
Posts: 81

Re: adsl-setup ok but no internet available

Forget DHCP.
If you still have windows in your pc then do this :
--Boot into windows and run ipconfig from the command line.
--Copy all information about your ethernet adapter (ip, subnet mask and gateway).
--Edit rc.conf using the information you get from ipconfig.
--Restart your computer (or type "/etc/rc.d/network restart" as root) and run adsl-setup again.
--Run adsl-start.

Offline

#3 2005-05-09 17:24:04

andix1966
Member
Registered: 2005-01-27
Posts: 5

Re: adsl-setup ok but no internet available

hello,

sorry for anserwing so late.
i did what you proposed.  i did it several times and each time i got another pair of numbers.

does it matter which one i choose ? can i do it at all... i hav no static ip.

greetings
andreas schmitzer

Offline

#4 2005-05-10 04:53:27

fetreney2000
Member
From: Malaysia
Registered: 2005-02-01
Posts: 81

Re: adsl-setup ok but no internet available

You mean you didn't have static ip for your NIC?

Offline

#5 2005-05-10 11:42:43

i3839
Member
Registered: 2004-02-04
Posts: 1,185

Re: adsl-setup ok but no internet available

andix1966, you most likely use PPPoE, as you seem to use ppp for something. What kind of modem do you have and what is your route -n output? ppp0 seems to work, according to your ifconfig, so perhaps your routes are wrong. Are you sure you configured adsl correctly? (password, username incorrect perhaps?)

I don't know PPPoE, but I'd guess that if you use that adsl script then you don't need dhcp anymore, as the script may do everything.

Offline

#6 2005-05-10 18:45:50

Kern
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2005-02-09
Posts: 460

Re: adsl-setup ok but no internet available

what protocol does your own ISP use PPPoA PPPoE etc

What 192.168.x.x address does your router expect for its setup page.

For DHCP my config, for what its worth:- ( /etc/rc.conf)

# Interfaces to start at boot-up (in this order)
# Declare each interface then list in INTERFACES
#   (prefix an interface in INTERFACES with a ! to disable it)
#
# Note: to use DHCP, set your interface to be "dhcp" (eth0="dhcp")
#
lo="lo 127.0.0.1"
eth0="dhcp"
INTERFACES=(lo eth0)

#
# Routes to start at boot-up (in this order)
# Declare each route then list in ROUTES
#   (prefix a route in ROUTES with a ! to disable it)
#
gateway="default gw 192.168.0.1"
ROUTES=(!gateway)

where 192.168.0.1 is the address used in the browser to setup the adsl modem/router/firewall.

Offline

#7 2005-05-10 19:24:59

andix1966
Member
Registered: 2005-01-27
Posts: 5

Re: adsl-setup ok but no internet available

hello,

i did "route -n" and got the following output :

Kernel IP routing table
Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags Metric Ref    Use Iface
217.5.98.28     0.0.0.0         255.255.255.255 UH    0      0        0 ppp0
0.0.0.0         217.5.98.28     0.0.0.0                UG    0      0        0 ppp0

Offline

#8 2005-05-10 20:08:34

andix1966
Member
Registered: 2005-01-27
Posts: 5

Re: adsl-setup ok but no internet available

hello,

i have to correct my last posting. correct output of "route -n" was :


Kernel IP routing table
Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags Metric Ref    Use Iface
217.5.98.28     0.0.0.0         255.255.255.255 UH    0      0        0 ppp0
192.168.178.0   0.0.0.0         255.255.255.0   U      0      0        0 eth0
0.0.0.0         192.168.178.1   0.0.0.0              UG    0      0        0 eth0

hope this will help.
greetings
andreas schmitzer

Offline

#9 2005-05-10 22:09:27

i3839
Member
Registered: 2004-02-04
Posts: 1,185

Re: adsl-setup ok but no internet available

It seems like ppp0 should be the gateway, not eth0. How's your ROUTES option in rc.conf? If there's anything in it then try disabling it (by adding a ! in front of it, like in Kern's conf).

pppd won't set the default gateway when there's already one, so try to run pppd before dhcp. Can also disable dhcp to  see if it works then.

Offline

#10 2005-05-11 01:06:52

fetreney2000
Member
From: Malaysia
Registered: 2005-02-01
Posts: 81

Re: adsl-setup ok but no internet available

This is the result of ipconfig for my system. The important part is the ethernet adapter section.

12aw.jpg

This is my rc.conf

lo="lo 127.0.0.1"

eth0="eth0 192.168.1.2 netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast 192.168.1.1"

INTERFACES=(lo eth0)

gateway="default gw 192.168.1.1"

ROUTES=(!gateway)

Try doing exactly the same as what I did because the IP adress,default gateway and subnet mask of your ethernet adapter is suppose to be fixed. Only the PPPoE IP is dynamic.

Offline

#11 2005-05-24 23:21:15

andix1966
Member
Registered: 2005-01-27
Posts: 5

Re: adsl-setup ok but no internet available

hello,

problem is solved and thanks to everyone helping me.
nevertheless, the solution  could be  found elsewhere.

first of all and i did what i3839 wrote in his mails. then
i found the hint do add "usepeerdns" as an option to the ppp-options-file in case of getting connected to an ISP but nowhere else.
that was it!

greetings
andreas schmitzer

Offline

#12 2005-05-25 00:26:04

i3839
Member
Registered: 2004-02-04
Posts: 1,185

Re: adsl-setup ok but no internet available

usepeerdns tells pppd to get the DNS servers of the ISP and write it to /etc/ppp/resolv.conf, it shouldn't be able to fix the Destination Net Unreachable problem.

Anyway, glad it's fixed and thanks for telling us that the problem is solved.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB