You are not logged in.

#1 2005-05-11 04:11:45

Sting14
Member
Registered: 2005-05-03
Posts: 26

kde + pacman + me = sad face

so i was downloading and instaling KDE from pacman
i did
sudo pacman -S kde
to download everything
in the midle of the kde download, the kdegraphics package became corrupted, in particular the kdegraphics-3.4.0-5.pkg.tar.gz file. I have no idea how to force pacman to download a new copy of this package/file/all-of-kde

so im sure this is some easy command, but i have no idea 8(
again, thanks in advance.

Offline

#2 2005-05-11 07:13:00

jonathantan86
Member
Registered: 2004-05-02
Posts: 42

Re: kde + pacman + me = sad face

As root, remove this file from the /var/cache/pacman/pkg/ directory. Then run pacman again.

Offline

#3 2005-05-11 08:57:54

oscar
Member
From: Linköping, Sweden
Registered: 2004-08-13
Posts: 457

Re: kde + pacman + me = sad face

Try to update your pacman database....

pacman -Sy kde

It might help smile


To err is human... to really foul up requires the root password.

Offline

#4 2005-05-11 11:00:55

T-Dawg
Forum Fellow
From: Wilmington, NC
Registered: 2005-01-29
Posts: 2,734

Re: kde + pacman + me = sad face

In addition to jonathantan86 suggestion, you will probably need to adjust your extra mirror. Just move servers up and down on the list in /etc/pacman.d/extra until you get a good copy.
...pacman -Scc will clear ALL of the packages in your cache folder if you find that easier.

Offline

#5 2005-05-11 11:28:46

jerem
Member
From: France
Registered: 2005-01-15
Posts: 310

Re: kde + pacman + me = sad face

Perhaps the file on the mirror was being uptaded.

Offline

#6 2005-05-11 14:26:44

Sting14
Member
Registered: 2005-05-03
Posts: 26

Re: kde + pacman + me = sad face

Thank you guys! All is working now.

Offline

#7 2005-05-11 15:00:10

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: kde + pacman + me = sad face

jonathantan86 wrote:

As root, remove this file from the /var/cache/pacman/pkg/ directory. Then run pacman again.

that's a bit of a hack - manually messing with the pacman cache isn't the greatest idea (though it works) - it'd be better to use:

pacman -Scc

to clean out the cache

Offline

#8 2005-05-11 15:53:28

cmp
Member
Registered: 2005-01-03
Posts: 350

Re: kde + pacman + me = sad face

but maybe you want to keep the other packages, a pacman option -C package, which only cleans this package, would be cool

Offline

#9 2005-05-11 16:02:40

T-Dawg
Forum Fellow
From: Wilmington, NC
Registered: 2005-01-29
Posts: 2,734

Re: kde + pacman + me = sad face

Phrakture:
How does manually deleting a package from the cache folder mess up the cache? I can't find any indication of pacman recording whether a package is in the cache folder. I always thought it just checked in the cache first for the package then download when neccessary.  Maybe I'm misunderstanding you, could you clarify?

Offline

#10 2005-05-11 16:08:20

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: kde + pacman + me = sad face

Penguin wrote:

Phrakture:
How does manually deleting a package from the cache folder mess up the cache? I can't find any indication of pacman recording whether a package is in the cache folder. I always thought it just checked in the cache first for the package then download when neccessary.  Maybe I'm misunderstanding you, could you clarify?

I never said it would mess anything up - but there's always the possibility - what if tomorrow, judd releases a new pacman version which actually records cached packages (for some reason)?

It's just never really a good idea to manually change something which is under control of an application... it works fine, hell, I do it sometimes... I just don't like to suggest it to people (especially those new to arch)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB