You are not logged in.

#101 2011-02-03 16:41:01

Convergence
Member
Registered: 2005-07-02
Posts: 370

Re: new thunar, can't see removable devices

so after quickly scanning this thread, there doesn't seem to be a single fix for this yet.  there are work-around like using udiskie, and other login managers (i'm actually using startx at the moment), and there are "fixes" that worked for certain individuals but not everyone.  This seems to be a legitimate bug, and a passive way to solve this problem would just be to wait it out until someone fixes it, either arch devs, or the people who develop whatever piece of software that caused this problem in the first place.  Is this the consensus so far?


It's a very deadly weapon to know what you're doing
---  William Murderface

Offline

#102 2011-02-03 16:50:02

Convergence
Member
Registered: 2005-07-02
Posts: 370

Re: new thunar, can't see removable devices

insxible:  This udev rule, is it one of the ones in the udev archwiki?  If so, which one.  I tried using "Mount under /media; use partition label if present" but it did not work.  "Mount under /media; use partition label if present; support user un-mounting" sounds better, and I may try that sometime soon if a fix doesn't come with a system upgrade.


It's a very deadly weapon to know what you're doing
---  William Murderface

Offline

#103 2011-02-05 11:24:36

KimTjik
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2007-08-22
Posts: 715

Re: new thunar, can't see removable devices

Convergence wrote:

so after quickly scanning this thread, there doesn't seem to be a single fix for this yet.  there are work-around like using udiskie, and other login managers (i'm actually using startx at the moment), and there are "fixes" that worked for certain individuals but not everyone.  This seems to be a legitimate bug, and a passive way to solve this problem would just be to wait it out until someone fixes it, either arch devs, or the people who develop whatever piece of software that caused this problem in the first place.  Is this the consensus so far?

Aren't these problems isolated to us who prefer to not run a regular desktop environment? And wasn't HAL more of a work-around, adding an unnecessary layer, than any of the methods now suggested?

As I understand it udiskie is a nice option for us lazy ones, and hence no work-around. It makes it a lot easier to use text based file-managers with or without X. I've tested made suggestions on different systems, and no failure so far. Udiskie with its dependencies uses about 5MB installed, so nothing to write a complaint about.

Anyway a note about udiskie: as seen in the Wiki udiskie & might in some circumstances work best if launched after a WM is started. On a computer running open-box sessions it seems to make no difference whether udiskie & is launched from .xinitrc or from open-box's autostart file. On my main desktop running Awesome though, it works best, in the meaning without exception, if launched from Awesome's rc.lua.

Offline

#104 2011-02-06 01:38:48

Srf_rs
Member
Registered: 2010-06-24
Posts: 11

Re: new thunar, can't see removable devices

I use thunar on two different arch powered laptops.
One uses the xfce4 desktop and the other one uses openbox.

Both have working trash and removable media.
I had to install gvfs and gvfs-afc packages. Both packages and its dependencies were a 3mb download.

I got permission errors when trying to mount removable media when there was dbus-launch in .xinitrc

Removing it from the exec line fixed it.

.xinitrc:

exec ck-launch-session startxfce4
exec ck-launch-session openbox-session

Offline

#105 2011-02-06 11:40:45

Miles28
Member
From: Spain
Registered: 2008-08-31
Posts: 77

Re: new thunar, can't see removable devices

Srf_rs wrote:

I use thunar on two different arch powered laptops.
One uses the xfce4 desktop and the other one uses openbox.

Both have working trash and removable media.
I had to install gvfs and gvfs-afc packages. Both packages and its dependencies were a 3mb download.

I got permission errors when trying to mount removable media when there was dbus-launch in .xinitrc

Removing it from the exec line fixed it.

.xinitrc:

exec ck-launch-session startxfce4
exec ck-launch-session openbox-session

Ok. I have changed from:

exec dbus-launch ck-launch-session xfce4-session 

to:

exec ck-launch-session startxfce4

and now, using slim as login manager, automounting is working alright (I was using lxdm to get automounting working) .

Last edited by Miles28 (2011-02-06 11:42:25)

Offline

#106 2011-02-06 13:22:14

stryder
Member
Registered: 2009-02-28
Posts: 498

Re: new thunar, can't see removable devices

Just upgraded. Openbox using Thunar setup. Had hal in daemons list. ck-launch-session openbox-session in .xinitrc. D-bus launch in autostart.sh and thunar --daemon &.

No autodetect. Stopped hal, restarted d-bus. Nothing. Used dbus-launch ck-launch-session openbox-session in .xinitrc. Autodetect & trash appears in Thunar.

Offline

#107 2011-02-06 13:37:38

Spot
Member
From: The Heart of Europe
Registered: 2008-12-20
Posts: 50

Re: new thunar, can't see removable devices

Does anyone has authorization problems with thunar ?
Autodetect & trash works fine, but I cannot access the removable-devs without manually startin "udiskie"
(adding it to xinitrc before and after the window-manager line doesnt works...)

Offline

#108 2011-02-06 13:50:11

KimTjik
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2007-08-22
Posts: 715

Re: new thunar, can't see removable devices

Spot wrote:

Does anyone has authorization problems with thunar ?
Autodetect & trash works fine, but I cannot access the removable-devs without manually startin "udiskie"
(adding it to xinitrc before and after the window-manager line doesnt works...)

Adding it after the line which launch the window-manager is in my experience futile (not only referring to the subject discussed), if not applying the alternative method in the Wiki about xinit, e g running the window-manager as a background process with a specific ID which only terminates when other processes have been launched.

If udiskie & only works after .xinitrc is run, try to put it in an autostart file, or some other method recommended for the window-manager in question, executed after the window-manager is up running. In my rc.lua for Awesome it's enough to add awful.util.spawn_with_shell("udiskie &").

Offline

#109 2011-02-06 14:08:31

stryder
Member
Registered: 2009-02-28
Posts: 498

Re: new thunar, can't see removable devices

Spot wrote:

Does anyone has authorization problems with thunar ?
Autodetect & trash works fine, but I cannot access the removable-devs without manually startin "udiskie"
(adding it to xinitrc before and after the window-manager line doesnt works...)

I don't have udiskie. Just tried inserting a thumb drive, accessing it and copying a file there. No problem. Only issue was when a mount exists in my fstab. Removing the line allows the mount.

Offline

#110 2011-02-07 04:11:52

7x1x
Member
From: New Zealand
Registered: 2009-10-16
Posts: 34

Re: new thunar, can't see removable devices

Here's what I did to fix auto-mounting, trash and authorization problems:

Install gvfs-afc (which added: gvfs, libsoup-gnome, libsoup, libproxy, gconf, orbit2, libcdio, libcddb, gnome-disk-utility, libunique, libgnome-keyring).

/etc/rc.conf:

DAEMONS=(... dbus ...)

.xinitrc:

exec ck-launch-session dbus-launch openbox-session

dbus needs to be after consolekit to fix the authorization problems.

Offline

#111 2011-02-07 14:12:28

Spot
Member
From: The Heart of Europe
Registered: 2008-12-20
Posts: 50

Re: new thunar, can't see removable devices

Thanks 7x1x ! You're hint made it, Thunar-Automount is now working without any problems !

Offline

#112 2011-02-07 20:40:06

Convergence
Member
Registered: 2005-07-02
Posts: 370

Re: new thunar, can't see removable devices

Worked for me as well.  Thank you.


It's a very deadly weapon to know what you're doing
---  William Murderface

Offline

#113 2011-02-08 03:18:58

Srf_rs
Member
Registered: 2010-06-24
Posts: 11

Re: new thunar, can't see removable devices

7x1x wrote:

Here's what I did to fix auto-mounting, trash and authorization problems:

Install gvfs-afc (which added: gvfs, libsoup-gnome, libsoup, libproxy, gconf, orbit2, libcdio, libcddb, gnome-disk-utility, libunique, libgnome-keyring).

/etc/rc.conf:

DAEMONS=(... dbus ...)

.xinitrc:

exec ck-launch-session dbus-launch openbox-session

dbus needs to be after consolekit to fix the authorization problems.

I don't think dbus-launch in xinitrc is needed if you have dbus in the daemons array.
If the daemon is already running, why launch it again?

And indeed, thunar works for me if i have:

DAEMONS=(... dbus ...)
exec ck-launch-session openbox-session

Should probably work if you don't put it in the daemons array but put dbus-launch in xinitrc instead.

Offline

#114 2011-02-08 06:58:10

7x1x
Member
From: New Zealand
Registered: 2009-10-16
Posts: 34

Re: new thunar, can't see removable devices

Hi, have tried lots of combinations with dbus and consolekit, it was the only way that it would work. Also has anyone got a gvfs-afc package without all the gnome dependencies?

Offline

#115 2011-02-11 12:29:23

mentat
Member
From: France
Registered: 2009-01-13
Posts: 138
Website

Re: new thunar, can't see removable devices

Just update a laptop with xfce, same problem.

I follow the install howto (dbus, gamin, session launch ...).
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Xfce

It help me to fix the removable device permission problem.

Offline

#116 2011-03-05 19:41:24

Spot
Member
From: The Heart of Europe
Registered: 2008-12-20
Posts: 50

Re: new thunar, can't see removable devices

Does anyone has the problem with automounting optical devices ?
Removeable devices are working. but DVD's can only be mounted with udiskie.
Thunar doesnt mount them and shows no icon on the left upper side...

Offline

#117 2011-03-09 00:45:39

Andy Mack
Member
Registered: 2008-06-16
Posts: 133

Re: new thunar, can't see removable devices

Just to confirm 7x1x's trick worked for me too, strange that dbus needs to be launched twice.

Works for me Spot using 7x1x's suggestion, hope that helps.

Offline

#118 2011-03-09 14:41:45

Spot
Member
From: The Heart of Europe
Registered: 2008-12-20
Posts: 50

Re: new thunar, can't see removable devices

7x1x's combo works fine for me.... but only with removable devices, no optical ones sad

Offline

#119 2011-04-13 18:21:24

senjin
Member
Registered: 2006-09-15
Posts: 180
Website

Re: new thunar, can't see removable devices

Hmmmm... it (still) doesn't work for me. I have 64-bit system, updated today.

I have dbus in daemons, I had hal before, didn't work also.

my .xinitrc starts xfce4 with
exec dbus-launch ck-launch-session startxfce4

I am in the storage group.

I have a following line in fstab
UUID="eec39d37-8f4f-41e6-b444-f3c2980e8249" /mnt/usb-ext3       ext3            defaults,noauto,user 0 0

removing this line doesn't help also...

I still can't mount this disk with thunar. Mounting with 'mount' from console however works fine from user account, without sudo, passwords and such.

What did I forget about?

Edit: of course I also have gvfs and gvfs-afc installed with all dependencies.

Last edited by senjin (2011-04-13 18:23:34)

Offline

#120 2011-04-13 23:18:05

Gumper
Member
From: U.S.A.
Registered: 2009-10-26
Posts: 132

Re: new thunar, can't see removable devices

senjin wrote:

Hmmmm... it (still) doesn't work for me. I have 64-bit system, updated today.

I have dbus in daemons, I had hal before, didn't work also.

my .xinitrc starts xfce4 with
exec dbus-launch ck-launch-session startxfce4

I am in the storage group.

I have a following line in fstab
UUID="eec39d37-8f4f-41e6-b444-f3c2980e8249" /mnt/usb-ext3       ext3            defaults,noauto,user 0 0

removing this line doesn't help also...

I still can't mount this disk with thunar. Mounting with 'mount' from console however works fine from user account, without sudo, passwords and such.

What did I forget about?

Edit: of course I also have gvfs and gvfs-afc installed with all dependencies.


Try this in your .xinitrc file:

 exec  ck-launch-session startxfce4 

It works for me. I couldn't get it to work with the "dbus-launch" part in the exec code.


Ready yourselves, ready yourselves
Let us shine the light of Jesus in the darkest night
Ready yourselves, ready yourselves
May the powers of darkness tremble as our praises rise .... Casting Crowns-Until The Whole World Hears.

Offline

#121 2011-04-14 18:53:00

senjin
Member
Registered: 2006-09-15
Posts: 180
Website

Re: new thunar, can't see removable devices

Gumper wrote:

Try this in your .xinitrc file:

 exec  ck-launch-session startxfce4 

It works for me. I couldn't get it to work with the "dbus-launch" part in the exec code.

Yes, this works. Thanks a lot.



By the way... should I forget about hal? I thought it was necessary to recognize the peripherals, but now everything works fine without it...

Offline

#122 2011-04-14 19:33:46

skunktrader
Member
From: Brisbane, Australia
Registered: 2010-02-14
Posts: 1,321

Re: new thunar, can't see removable devices

hal is deprecated

Offline

#123 2011-05-04 14:45:48

dcc24
Member
Registered: 2009-10-31
Posts: 723

Re: new thunar, can't see removable devices

I've updated the wiki with 7x1x's solution (installing gvfs-afc) as it seems to work for the majority. Still, can anyone mount CDs with this?


It is better to keep your mouth shut and be thought a fool than to open it and remove all doubt. (Mark Twain)

My AUR packages

Offline

#124 2011-05-04 19:18:41

henkidefix
Member
From: Netherlands
Registered: 2009-01-11
Posts: 38

Re: new thunar, can't see removable devices

With startxfce4 i get a good enviroment.
But when in another WM, i run stand alone Thunar: no automount. 
To ty all the treads suggestions is time consuming.
Now found a quick fix: pcmanfm. The current 0.9.8 has a build-in-automount
to mounts cd's and usb-sticks effordless and with very few dependecies !!

Offline

#125 2011-05-04 20:33:01

KimTjik
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2007-08-22
Posts: 715

Re: new thunar, can't see removable devices

It works in mysterious ways...

I still don't use ck-launch-session, but only dbus-launch, and everything works as it should.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB