You are not logged in.

#1 2011-02-07 16:23:17

urgoshvarrog
Member
Registered: 2011-01-26
Posts: 14

[Solved] ./configure pacman

Hi,

at first, I deleted my pacman.conf

$ ls /etc/pacman.conf
ls: cannot access /etc/pacman.conf: No such file or directory

After untaring pacman-3.4.3.tar.gz I looked at

$ ./configure --help
...
Installation directories:
  --prefix=PREFIX         install architecture-independent files in PREFIX
                             [/usr/local]
...

Did pacman want to install all his files to /usr/local? We will see...

$ ./configure -q
...
  Build information:
    source code location   : .
    prefix                 : /usr/local
    sysconfdir             : /usr/local/etc
       conf file           : /usr/local/etc/pacman.conf
    localstatedir          : /usr/local/var
       database dir        : /usr/local/var/lib/pacman/
       cache dir           : /usr/local/var/cache/pacman/pkg/
...

Yes, it seems he will install the config file to /usr/local/etc/pacman.conf. Strange, why is the default option nonsense? Ok, lets try to give him the right path:

$ ./configure -q --prefix=
...
  Build information:
    source code location   : .
    prefix                 : 
    sysconfdir             : /etc
       conf file           : /etc/pacman.conf
    localstatedir          : /var
       database dir        : /var/lib/pacman/
       cache dir           : /var/cache/pacman/pkg/
...

Then I used make and make install.

$ ls /etc/pacman.conf
/etc/pacman.conf
$ sudo pacman -Syu
error: config file /usr/local/etc/pacman.conf could not be read.

Strange, I thougth the config file should be in /etc, what './configure -v -prefix=' told me. But I do what ever pacman want :-(

mkdir /usr/local/etc
cp /etc/pacman.conf /usr/local/etc/

At the end of my pacman.conf, I wrote

[core]
Server = http://ftp.hosteurope.de/mirror/ftp.archlinux.org/$repo/os/$arch

And now

sudo pacman -Syu
:: Synchronizing package databases...
error: segmentation fault
Internal pacman error: Segmentation fault.
Please submit a full bug report with --debug if appropriate.

he reads the config file (in the wrong dir) but I get an other error. I'm totally confused.
Thanks for help.

Last edited by urgoshvarrog (2011-02-08 15:59:18)

Offline

#2 2011-02-07 16:30:18

Mr.Elendig
#archlinux@freenode channel op
From: The intertubes
Registered: 2004-11-07
Posts: 4,092

Re: [Solved] ./configure pacman

Nonon, don't compile pacman, just copy the pacman.conf from the pacman package in the repos. Remove the pacman you compiled.

Last edited by Mr.Elendig (2011-02-07 16:30:55)


Evil #archlinux@libera.chat channel op and general support dude.
. files on github, Screenshots, Random pics and the rest

Offline

#3 2011-02-07 16:36:05

urgoshvarrog
Member
Registered: 2011-01-26
Posts: 14

Re: [Solved] ./configure pacman

The problem is pacman has deleted itself at the last update. So i had to compile pacman myself. The momentaneous config file ist the one from the source (with my Server = ... line).

Offline

#4 2011-02-07 16:44:13

Mr.Elendig
#archlinux@freenode channel op
From: The intertubes
Registered: 2004-11-07
Posts: 4,092

Re: [Solved] ./configure pacman

No you didn't have to recompile. First off you only said that pacman.conf was gone, which you can simply extract. And if you for some reason removed pacman, then you can always install it again from the installcd without having to compile anything, or you can follow https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=95007

Last edited by Mr.Elendig (2011-02-07 16:44:56)


Evil #archlinux@libera.chat channel op and general support dude.
. files on github, Screenshots, Random pics and the rest

Offline

#5 2011-02-07 16:54:49

urgoshvarrog
Member
Registered: 2011-01-26
Posts: 14

Re: [Solved] ./configure pacman

I tried the script two days ago, with no success, but thanks for the tip with the CD. As soon as the problem is solved, I'll report again.

Offline

#6 2011-02-07 17:01:27

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,839

Re: [Solved] ./configure pacman

urgoshvarrog wrote:

The problem is pacman has deleted itself at the last update.

pacman doesn't do anything by itself - it does what you tell it to do. What command did you issue that caused pacman to delete itself?

Offline

#7 2011-02-07 18:05:46

urgoshvarrog
Member
Registered: 2011-01-26
Posts: 14

Re: [Solved] ./configure pacman

tomk wrote:
urgoshvarrog wrote:

The problem is pacman has deleted itself at the last update.

pacman doesn't do anything by itself - it does what you tell it to do. What command did you issue that caused pacman to delete itself?

Sorry, I should be more precise. After running 'pacman -Syu' pacman should be updated. But befor pacman was reinstalled, it broke down. Unfortunatelly, the log file gives no hints.

Offline

#8 2011-02-08 10:51:54

urgoshvarrog
Member
Registered: 2011-01-26
Posts: 14

Re: [Solved] ./configure pacman

Hi,
thanks for all your help so far.

Mr.Elendig wrote:

... then you can always install it again from the installcd ...

I had to admit I'm a Newbie, so I'm not sure if I installed pacman correctly:
I booted archbang (an arch livesystem) mounted my own root partition and installed pacman with

pacman -S pacman -r path/to/my/own/root/partition

after restarting my own system, pacman wants its config from /usr/local/etc/pacman.conf, and when I copy the config to this file, i get the error message

sudo pacman -Syu --debug
debug: config: attempting to read file /usr/local/etc/pacman.conf
debug: config: new section 'options'
debug: config: HoldPkg: pacman
debug: config: HoldPkg: glibc
debug: config: SyncFirst: pacman
debug: config: Architecture: x86_64
debug: config: new section 'core'
debug: registering sync database 'core'
debug: config file /usr/local/etc/pacman.conf, line 63: including /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist
debug: config: attempting to read file /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist
debug: adding new server URL to database 'core': http://archlinux.limun.org/core/os/x86_64
...
debug: adding new server URL to database 'core': http://ftp.uni-kl.de/pub/linux/archlinux/core/os/x86_64
debug: setlibpaths() called
debug: option 'cachedir' = /usr/local/var/cache/pacman/pkg/
debug: config: finished parsing /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist
debug: config: finished parsing /usr/local/etc/pacman.conf
debug: registering local database
:: Synchronizing package databases...
error: segmentation fault
Internal pacman error: Segmentation fault.
Please submit a full bug report with --debug if appropriate.

Is this the pacman version I installed from the live system and why don't it work?

Offline

#9 2011-02-08 10:58:22

Barrucadu
Member
From: York, England
Registered: 2008-03-30
Posts: 1,158
Website

Re: [Solved] ./configure pacman

Download the pacman package from the repos, and untar it to /. There's a guide here.

Offline

#10 2011-02-08 13:41:35

Mr.Elendig
#archlinux@freenode channel op
From: The intertubes
Registered: 2004-11-07
Posts: 4,092

Re: [Solved] ./configure pacman

The problem is the pacman that you compiled by hand. You have to remove all traces of it.


Evil #archlinux@libera.chat channel op and general support dude.
. files on github, Screenshots, Random pics and the rest

Offline

#11 2011-02-08 15:20:23

urgoshvarrog
Member
Registered: 2011-01-26
Posts: 14

Re: [Solved] ./configure pacman

Barrucadu wrote:

Download the pacman package from the repos, and untar it to /. There's a guide here.

Unfortunatelly, I get the same pacman error message at the end of the script

error: database path is undefined
error: segmentation fault
Internal pacman error: Segmentation fault.
Please submit a full bug report with --debug if appropriate.

But thanks for the suggestion.

Offline

#12 2011-02-08 15:58:32

urgoshvarrog
Member
Registered: 2011-01-26
Posts: 14

Re: [Solved] ./configure pacman

Mr.Elendig wrote:

The problem is the pacman that you compiled by hand. You have to remove all traces of it.

Huhuuu, that was the solution!!! I uninstalled pacman with

cd /path/to/pacman_source
./configure
make
make uninstall
./configure --prefix=
make
make uninstall

Then booted a live system and installed pacman with

pacman -S pacman -r where/my/own/root/is/mounted

And now pacman works. Thanks to all of you.
I have only one open question: Why is the default prefix-path for ./configure pacman /usr/local?

Last edited by urgoshvarrog (2011-02-08 16:01:29)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB