You are not logged in.

#1 2010-03-05 08:53:34

el_cammello
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2009-03-20
Posts: 70
Website

[Solved] archiso - boot device didn't show up after 30 seconds

Hi,

I've a problem with new archiso (archiso-git 20100304-1): there aren't warnings in the generation of iso, everything seems to works well, but by mounting the iso in virtualbox and try it, doesn't boot:


201003050935021440x900s.th.png

So for the moment I've cleaned the packages.list and use this:

cat packages.list
aufs2
aufs2-util
base
bash
coreutils
cpio
dhcpcd
dnsutils
file
fuse
kernel26
syslinux
nano

recheck the file "mkinitcpio.conf",

cat mkinitcpio.conf 
HOOKS="base archiso_early udev archiso pata scsi sata usb fw filesystems usbinput"

recheck "isomounts" (I added enter):

cat isomounts 
# archiso isomounts file
# img - location of image/directory to mount relative to addons directory
# arch - architecture of this image
# mount point - absolute location on the post-initrd root
# type - either 'bind' or 'squashfs' for now
# syntax: <img> <arch> <mount point> <type>
# ORDER MATTERS! Files take top-down precedence. Be careful
overlay.sqfs @ARCH@ / squashfs
root-image.sqfs @ARCH@ / squashfs

but nothing.

I didn't look the part "overlay" or other things because the important part for boot (at least to pass the hooks) is only that with those files, right?

The makefile is from the wiki, and still is the same as when I compiled the last time in January, to be sure I just changed "my-arch" with "myarch" syntax according to the latest changes.

the whole system is up to date, mkinitcpio also:

pacman -Q | grep mkinitcpio
mkinitcpio 0.6.3-1
mkinitcpio-busybox 1.15.3-5

If you have any suggestions,  .. thanks smile

Last edited by el_cammello (2010-03-07 16:09:24)


Sorry for my bad english :-)

Offline

#2 2010-03-05 11:01:07

Svenstaro
Administrator
From: Germany
Registered: 2008-11-19
Posts: 388

Re: [Solved] archiso - boot device didn't show up after 30 seconds

cat isolinux.cfg in your boot-files dir and compare it with the actual one that gets put onto the iso (mount it as loopback). Do the same for the isomounts. Can you also try KVM? Which kind of virtual controller did you attach the drive to in VBox? Can you try to boot it as a hard disk (it is a hybrid iso)? When you are dropped to a shell (due to whatever error), attempt to run blkid and post output.

EDIT: It is possible that this is indeed a bug in archiso due to a race condition between the archiso hook and udev. Please do the above anyway. You could try adding a sleep 30 to the beginning of the archiso hook in that case so that it gets enough time.

Last edited by Svenstaro (2010-03-05 11:06:44)

Offline

#3 2010-03-05 20:27:25

el_cammello
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2009-03-20
Posts: 70
Website

Re: [Solved] archiso - boot device didn't show up after 30 seconds

Thank's for the quick answer,

Svenstaro wrote:

cat isolinux.cfg in your boot-files dir and compare it with the actual one that gets put onto the iso (mount it as loopback), Do the same for the isomounts.

sudo mount -o loop -t iso9660 ArchOne-dev-i686.iso /media/temp/
diff boot-files/isolinux/isolinux.cfg /media/temp/boot/isolinux/isolinux.cfg 

7c7
< APPEND lang=en locale=en_US.UTF-8 usbdelay=5 ramdisk_size=75% initrd=/boot/ArchOne.img archisolabel=ArchOne
---
> APPEND lang=en locale=en_US.UTF-8 usbdelay=5 ramdisk_size=75% initrd=/boot/ArchOne.img archisolabel=ARCH_201003


diff isomounts /media/temp/isomounts 
8,9c8,9
< overlay.sqfs @ARCH@ / squashfs
< root-image.sqfs @ARCH@ / squashfs
---
> overlay.sqfs i686 / squashfs
> root-image.sqfs i686 / squashfs


#(here there are the "enter lines", seems ok)
Svenstaro wrote:

Can you try to boot it as a hard disk (it is a hybrid iso)?

I tried it on my netbook through usbpen, but the situation has not changed, same situation

Svenstaro wrote:

When you are dropped to a shell (due to whatever error), attempt to run blkid and post output

only shell that I arrive is in ramfs (as the image of the first post), blkid doesn't return anything!


Sorry for my bad english :-)

Offline

#4 2010-03-05 21:15:01

Svenstaro
Administrator
From: Germany
Registered: 2008-11-19
Posts: 388

Re: [Solved] archiso - boot device didn't show up after 30 seconds

Remake your image using mkarchiso -L ArchOne.

Offline

#5 2010-03-05 21:31:50

djgera
Developer
From: Buenos Aires - Argentina
Registered: 2008-12-24
Posts: 723
Website

Re: [Solved] archiso - boot device didn't show up after 30 seconds

weird, uvents are not triggered what returns udevadm trigger --verbose at command line?

Offline

#6 2010-03-05 21:36:31

djgera
Developer
From: Buenos Aires - Argentina
Registered: 2008-12-24
Posts: 723
Website

Re: [Solved] archiso - boot device didn't show up after 30 seconds

For example, this is what you need to get, between [udev] and [archiso] in VirtualBox

:: Running Hook [udev]
:: Triggering uevents...SCSI subsystem initialized
scsi0 : ata_piix
scsi1 : ata_piix
ata1: PATA max UDMA/33 cmd 0x1f0 ctl 0x3f6 bmdma 0xd000 irq 14
ata2: PATA max UDMA/33 cmd 0x170 ctl 0x376 bmdma 0xd008 irq 15
ata1.00: ATAPI: VBOX CD-ROM, 1.0, max UDMA/133
ata1.00: configured for UDMA/33
scsi 0:0:0:0: CD-ROM            VBOX     CD-ROM           1.0  PQ: 0 ANSI: 5
sr0: scsi3-mmc drive: 32x/32x xa/form2 tray
Uniform CD-ROM driver Revision: 3.20
sr 0:0:0:0: Attached scsi generic sg0 type 5
done.
:: Running Hook [archiso]

Offline

#7 2010-03-06 07:00:12

el_cammello
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2009-03-20
Posts: 70
Website

Re: [Solved] archiso - boot device didn't show up after 30 seconds

Svenstaro wrote:

Remake your image using mkarchiso -L ArchOne.

I've modified the Makefile in this way:

.....
# The following will first run the base-fs routine before creating the final iso image.
ArchOne: base-fs
    mkarchiso -L ArchOne -p syslinux iso "$(WORKDIR)" "$(FULLNAME)".iso
.....

but the situation has not changed,

@djgera: between [udev] and [archiso] I've only the output "Triggering uevents... done." (you can see the situation in the image of the first post),
"udevadm trigger --verbose" returns the devices in /sys/device/ (eg tty, virtual, pci, platform...)


Sorry for my bad english :-)

Offline

#8 2010-03-06 12:03:25

Svenstaro
Administrator
From: Germany
Registered: 2008-11-19
Posts: 388

Re: [Solved] archiso - boot device didn't show up after 30 seconds

When the graphical boot menu comes up, press TAB (I think) to look at what archisolabel= says and change it to either one of your previous entries in isolinux.cfg.

Offline

#9 2010-03-06 15:56:38

djgera
Developer
From: Buenos Aires - Argentina
Registered: 2008-12-24
Posts: 723
Website

Re: [Solved] archiso - boot device didn't show up after 30 seconds

nothing to do with parameters and or labels if devices are not set.

what you have inside ArchOne.img? Please post your content (use: bsdtar -t -f ArchOne.img )

Offline

#10 2010-03-07 12:33:34

el_cammello
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2009-03-20
Posts: 70
Website

Re: [Solved] archiso - boot device didn't show up after 30 seconds

Svenstaro wrote:

When the graphical boot menu comes up, press TAB (I think) to look at what archisolabel= says and change it to either one of your previous entries in isolinux.cfg.

I've tried: "tab" returns only the output "ArchOne"

djgera wrote:

what you have inside ArchOne.img? Please post your content (use: bsdtar -t -f ArchOne.img )

bsdtar -t -f ArchOne-dev-i686.iso 
.
boot
boot/grub
boot/isolinux
boot/isolinux/boot.cat
boot/isolinux/isolinux.bin
isomounts
overlay.sqfs
root-image.sqfs
boot/ArchOne.img
boot/System.map26
boot/System.map26-jumpycursorhack
boot/vmlinuz26
boot/vmlinuz26-jumpycursorhack
boot/grub/menu.lst
boot/isolinux/chain.c32
boot/isolinux/cmd.c32
boot/isolinux/config.c32
boot/isolinux/cpuidtest.c32
boot/isolinux/disk.c32
boot/isolinux/dmitest.c32
boot/isolinux/elf.c32
boot/isolinux/ethersel.c32
boot/isolinux/gfxboot.c32
boot/isolinux/gpxecmd.c32
boot/isolinux/hdt.c32
boot/isolinux/ifcpu.c32
boot/isolinux/ifcpu64.c32
boot/isolinux/isolinux.cfg
boot/isolinux/kbdmap.c32
boot/isolinux/linux.c32
boot/isolinux/mboot.c32
boot/isolinux/meminfo.c32
boot/isolinux/menu.c32
boot/isolinux/pcitest.c32
boot/isolinux/pmload.c32
boot/isolinux/reboot.c32
boot/isolinux/rosh.c32
boot/isolinux/sanboot.c32
boot/isolinux/sdi.c32
boot/isolinux/sysdump.c32
boot/isolinux/vesainfo.c32
boot/isolinux/vesamenu.c32
boot/isolinux/vpdtest.c32

Thanks guys for the support.

I think that the problem is not with my specific project "ArchOne", because I've created a directory called "myarch", and I've followed exactly the first part of the wiki without changing anything (same name, same directory, same configurations, same packages, isomounts, isolinux.cfg, same isolinux/myarch.msg!!! smile ), and I get the same problem!

So I think that it's a problem with this package, "archiso-git", or maybe other depends-packages, or a problem of my system at this point.. i don't know


Sorry for my bad english :-)

Offline

#11 2010-03-07 12:38:21

sHyLoCk
Member
From: /dev/null
Registered: 2009-06-19
Posts: 1,197

Re: [Solved] archiso - boot device didn't show up after 30 seconds

Hi el_cammello,
are you fully updated? Run a :

pacman -Syyu

~ Regards,
sHy
ArchBang: Yet another Distro for Allan to break.
Blog | GIT | Forum (。◕‿◕。)

Offline

#12 2010-03-07 13:14:17

el_cammello
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2009-03-20
Posts: 70
Website

Re: [Solved] archiso - boot device didn't show up after 30 seconds

sHyLoCk wrote:

Hi el_cammello,
are you fully updated? Run a :

pacman -Syyu
[~] sudo pacman -Syyu
:: Synchronizing package databases...
 core                      36.0K   39.4K/s 00:00:01 [#####################] 100%
 extra                    448.4K   77.6K/s 00:00:06 [#####################] 100%
 community                359.3K   80.8K/s 00:00:04 [#####################] 100%
 archone                    1.2K  131.4K/s 00:00:00 [#####################] 100%
 archlinuxfr               24.9K   64.7K/s 00:00:00 [#####################] 100%
 archrepo                  35.6K   63.6K/s 00:00:01 [#####################] 100%
 unarch                    25.9K   34.3K/s 00:00:01 [#####################] 100%
:: Starting full system upgrade...
local database is up to date
[~]

EDIT:

I've tried on my other arch, arch64, and it works! the iso boots without any problem!
so now I know that surely I've some problem on my arch32 bit, I'll try to resolve it, thank's again for support, I'll keep you updated

Solved:

In short: there was in my local repository a package called "kernel26_31", obviously it wasn't present in packages.list, but it belonged to the group "base", present in packages.lists!

I had forgotten to change the group of that package, so in this situation the first kernel26.img was generated by the kernel 32, and then the same image was overwritten by the kernel26_31!
for this the image couldn't boot! it was the image of the kernel v 31!

now everything works, sorry for bad english and my "newbie things" wink

Last edited by el_cammello (2010-03-07 16:08:15)


Sorry for my bad english :-)

Offline

#13 2010-03-07 16:26:24

djgera
Developer
From: Buenos Aires - Argentina
Registered: 2008-12-24
Posts: 723
Website

Re: [Solved] archiso - boot device didn't show up after 30 seconds

¡Bene!

About your issue, this is why I recommend to use mkarchroot to build archiso. smile

¡chau!

PS: Note that you show me the .iso instead of .img (initramfs)

Offline

#14 2010-06-22 13:18:10

danielausparis
Member
Registered: 2010-06-22
Posts: 34

Re: [Solved] archiso - boot device didn't show up after 30 seconds

Just found this thread by googling on the exact same issue.

Please note that in my case the problem was due to package updating! My mkinitcpio generated its stuff into a 2.6.34-ARCH folder instead of a 2.6.33-ARCH folder. The symptoms were exactly as described here. A simple change of the KVER variable in the Makefile solved the headache.

Vieeeeeeew. One and a half days to find out.

Offline

#15 2011-02-10 08:19:09

DrWindows
Member
Registered: 2011-02-09
Posts: 2

Re: [Solved] archiso - boot device didn't show up after 30 seconds

I had same problem but it was because I added to package list all packages included in my Arch Linux install CD.

Among these was lilo which caused hook list to be empty at boot.

Once deleted lilo from package list, ISO boots as expected.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB