You are not logged in.

#1 2011-02-27 06:38:21

Cows
Member
From: Brooklyn, NY
Registered: 2007-05-20
Posts: 101

Arch Linux KDE Workstation Installer

Hello everyone,

I've been using Arch for a while now and love it. I've also been contributing to the ArchWiki and AUR (and learning how this community works).

I wanted to make it even easier for people to set up their Arch boxes right after they finished installing. Arch is what you make it, and that means downloading a bunch of packages after you freshly installed. Here I submit my script which completely downloads a KDE workstation (kde packages based off groups not the entire kde group).

The script installs the following packages:

Powerpill (Used to automate the entire download procedure)
X11
Audio (PulseAudio)
KDE (Based off groups)
Fonts

Please edit the script and customize to your needs. You can also replace KDE with GNOME, and remove Synaptics, and Intel video drivers if you don't have those, and if you find any bugs or have any suggestions for the layout, or programming, please let me know.

Enjoy !

PS: Forgive me for my bash scripting, I've never really done this type of programming, only Java/C++/C.

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/15799260/kde.sh

EDIT:

Latest Version: 0.1.2
ADDED: ttf-freefont
ADDED: xorg-video-drivers (more generic for everyone)
ADDED: alsa-lib & alsa-oss
REMOVED: pulseaudio
REMOVED: hal
REMOVED: dbus

Previous Versions: 0.1.1
Changes:
- Placed script in my public dropbox folder (Link above updated; I'm going to put the script in my dropbox folder so I don't have to keep repasting).
- Made it more generic and separated it from my personal machine requirements.

Package Changes:
- ADDED: wireless_tools
- ADDED: sudo (default)
- ADDED: kdeplasma-applets-networkmanagement
- REMOVED: xf86-input-synaptics
- REMOVED: xf86-video-intel

Planning to add more code to automatically download a few packages from AUR and install them (like packer).

Last edited by Cows (2011-02-27 22:55:13)

Offline

#2 2011-02-27 06:41:38

KlavKalashj
Member
Registered: 2008-10-09
Posts: 376

Re: Arch Linux KDE Workstation Installer

Nice! But why would you install Hal?

Offline

#3 2011-02-27 06:46:42

Cows
Member
From: Brooklyn, NY
Registered: 2007-05-20
Posts: 101

Re: Arch Linux KDE Workstation Installer

I noticed some things weren't working inside of KDE, or some other application.

Offline

#4 2011-02-27 10:23:08

JokerBoy
Member
From: România
Registered: 2009-09-24
Posts: 641

Re: Arch Linux KDE Workstation Installer

like what things/applications? i still prefer using pacman with aria2. smile

no more hal and pulseaudio:

--- kde.sh.old  2011-02-27 12:16:38.972000036 +0200
+++ kde.sh      2011-02-27 12:20:31.577000037 +0200
@@ -34,13 +34,8 @@
 echo "Downloading and Installing Xorg & Drivers ..."
 
 powerpill ${FLAGS} \
-xorg
-
-echo "Downloading and Installing Dbus & HAL ..."
-
-powerpill ${FLAGS} \
-dbus \
-hal
+xorg \
+xorg-video-drivers
 
 echo "Downloading and Installing Gamin ..."
 
@@ -50,31 +45,33 @@
 echo "Downloading and Installing PulseAudio ..."
 
 powerpill ${FLAGS} \
-pulseaudio \
+alsa-lib \
+alsa-oss \
 alsa-plugins
 
 echo "Downloading and Installing KDE ..."
 
 powerpill ${FLAGS} \
+kdeadmin \
+kdeartwork \
 kdebase \
-kdeutils \
+kdegraphics \
 kdemultimedia \
+kdeutils \
 kdeplasma-addons \
-kdeartwork \
-kdeadmin \
-kdegraphics \
 kdeplasma-applets-networkmanagement
 
 echo "Downloading and Installing Fonts ..."
 
 powerpill ${FLAGS} \
 ttf-dejavu \
-ttf-liberation
+ttf-liberation \
+ttf-freefont
 
 echo "Download and Installing sudo ..."
 
 powerpill ${FLAGS} \
-sudo 
+sudo
 
 echo "Download and Installing Wireless Tools ..."
 
@@ -87,6 +84,6 @@
 # powerpill ${FLAGS} \
 # kwebkitpart
 
-echo "Please make sure to add hal, dbus, and kdm to your /etc/rc.conf DAEMONS"
+echo "Don't forget to add dbus and kdm to your /etc/rc.conf DAEMONS array."
 
 exit 0

Offline

#5 2011-02-27 12:46:26

hellnest
Member
From: $ dmesg | grep ATA
Registered: 2010-11-11
Posts: 194
Website

Re: Arch Linux KDE Workstation Installer

JokerBoy wrote:

like what things/applications? i still prefer using pacman with aria2. smile

no more hal and pulseaudio:

--- kde.sh.old  2011-02-27 12:16:38.972000036 +0200
+++ kde.sh      2011-02-27 12:20:31.577000037 +0200
@@ -34,13 +34,8 @@
 echo "Downloading and Installing Xorg & Drivers ..."
 
 powerpill ${FLAGS} \
-xorg
-
-echo "Downloading and Installing Dbus & HAL ..."
-
-powerpill ${FLAGS} \
-dbus \
-hal
+xorg \
+xorg-video-drivers
 
 echo "Downloading and Installing Gamin ..."
 
@@ -50,31 +45,33 @@
 echo "Downloading and Installing PulseAudio ..."
 
 powerpill ${FLAGS} \
-pulseaudio \
+alsa-lib \
+alsa-oss \
 alsa-plugins
 
 echo "Downloading and Installing KDE ..."
 
 powerpill ${FLAGS} \
+kdeadmin \
+kdeartwork \
 kdebase \
-kdeutils \
+kdegraphics \
 kdemultimedia \
+kdeutils \
 kdeplasma-addons \
-kdeartwork \
-kdeadmin \
-kdegraphics \
 kdeplasma-applets-networkmanagement
 
 echo "Downloading and Installing Fonts ..."
 
 powerpill ${FLAGS} \
 ttf-dejavu \
-ttf-liberation
+ttf-liberation \
+ttf-freefont
 
 echo "Download and Installing sudo ..."
 
 powerpill ${FLAGS} \
-sudo 
+sudo
 
 echo "Download and Installing Wireless Tools ..."
 
@@ -87,6 +84,6 @@
 # powerpill ${FLAGS} \
 # kwebkitpart
 
-echo "Please make sure to add hal, dbus, and kdm to your /etc/rc.conf DAEMONS"
+echo "Don't forget to add dbus and kdm to your /etc/rc.conf DAEMONS array."
 
 exit 0

Sorry out of topic, btw how to integrate pacman with aria2? i try but always failed... smile


roll Snapping my own life roll
hmmgithubhmm
coolMyBlogcool

Offline

#6 2011-02-27 12:49:26

JokerBoy
Member
From: România
Registered: 2009-09-24
Posts: 641

Re: Arch Linux KDE Workstation Installer

Offline

#7 2011-02-27 21:50:57

Dieter@be
Forum Fellow
From: Belgium
Registered: 2006-11-05
Posts: 2,001
Website

Re: Arch Linux KDE Workstation Installer

why would you do this when you can just take an aif sample config file, add the packages to it, and run it?


< Daenyth> and he works prolifically
4 8 15 16 23 42

Offline

#8 2011-02-27 22:44:20

Cows
Member
From: Brooklyn, NY
Registered: 2007-05-20
Posts: 101

Re: Arch Linux KDE Workstation Installer

It's a much more flexible and independent way to install your desktop after you install Arch. Sure this script is made for Arch, but a person can also take it and modify it for any package manager and or distro. This also makes the life of a person coming to Arch much easier (whether they have a lot of experience, or a small amount).

EDIT:

The reason I personally use Pulse Audio and HAL is because I noticed that some sound related stuff and Skype weren't working without them. I will try to get them to work on my machine without Pulse and HAL.

Thanks Joker. I applied your patch.

Last edited by Cows (2011-02-27 22:52:48)

Offline

#9 2011-03-02 12:41:39

Dieter@be
Forum Fellow
From: Belgium
Registered: 2006-11-05
Posts: 2,001
Website

Re: Arch Linux KDE Workstation Installer

Cows wrote:

It's a much more flexible and independent way to install your desktop after you install Arch. Sure this script is made for Arch, but a person can also take it and modify it for any package manager and or distro. This also makes the life of a person coming to Arch much easier (whether they have a lot of experience, or a small amount).

EDIT:

The reason I personally use Pulse Audio and HAL is because I noticed that some sound related stuff and Skype weren't working without them. I will try to get them to work on my machine without Pulse and HAL.

Thanks Joker. I applied your patch.

your script is so tied to Arch that "modying it for any package manager or distro" basically means rewriting it.
I would say if you really want to "make the life of a person coming to Arch" easier, you would use the features of the official installer, which is written to support this kind of thing.
this approach is definitely not "more flexible" because the arch installer can do everything you do.


< Daenyth> and he works prolifically
4 8 15 16 23 42

Offline

#10 2011-03-07 06:39:11

Cows
Member
From: Brooklyn, NY
Registered: 2007-05-20
Posts: 101

Re: Arch Linux KDE Workstation Installer

You would have to rewrite it but not the entire thing, just some commands. It's a simple contribution, you are by no means required to use it.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB