You are not logged in.

#1 2005-05-26 07:19:14

borisb
Member
Registered: 2005-05-18
Posts: 11

Making Arch Faster[solved]

Ok, I am using Arch for one week now and it's great and unlikely other distros I was able to set everything up as I wanted it and to run like I wanted it to run.
It's fast, it makes u learn a lot about linux and the community is great. lol

Now, I said that it's fast ,especially compared to SuSE, but there is one thing annoying me: Hotplug.
The boot process is very straight forward except for Hotplug. The boot process would be about 10s wouldnt there be Hotplug that needs about 9s.

So I wanted to ask if there is a way of making my machine boot even faster to have boot times as fast as e.g. a Mac.

Or if u have other suggestions of making my pc faster plz post them here.
I would really like to make my system faster.

Thx in advance, borisb wink

Offline

#2 2005-05-26 07:36:35

torindan2
Member
Registered: 2004-07-15
Posts: 74

Re: Making Arch Faster[solved]

Take a look what modules are loaded by hotplug, then disable it.
Put those modules in MODULES array in rc.conf, probably you will need to put some parameters for modules in modprobe.conf.

My system boots in about 15-20 sec. (boot and startx/xdm)

Offline

#3 2005-05-26 08:09:29

johnisevil
Member
From: Hamilton, ON Canada
Registered: 2003-08-07
Posts: 221
Website

Re: Making Arch Faster[solved]

What's the rush in booting your computer?  Speeding up the boot process doesn't necessarily make the entire system faster.  I don't see what the problem is in giving hotplug a few seconds to start.  Is it absolutely vital that you shave off 10 seconds from the boot process?

Offline

#4 2005-05-26 08:53:04

iphitus
Forum Fellow
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2004-10-09
Posts: 4,927

Re: Making Arch Faster[solved]

you dont needhotplug anyway, just stick your modules in the modules array in rc.conf as suggested by torindan.

Offline

#5 2005-05-26 15:19:45

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: Making Arch Faster[solved]

Agreed - the biggest change for boot speeds is to disable hotplug when you know your running modules.

A common misconception is that the hotplug daemon is needed for pluggable devices (usb, firewire, etc) - while that's true, you don't need the hotplug daemon.

The hotplug daemon, called on startup, finds the module for all hardware it finds at that time, then exits... this is called "coldplugging" - loading modules for devices *already there*... this should really only be done once.  Add the modules hotplug found to the daemons array.

Hotplug itself is still used for pluggable devices, but in these cases the scripts are called directly by udev, and not the hotplug daemon.

So, if you removed the hotplug daemon, you can still use usb devices.

Offline

#6 2005-05-26 18:45:25

cactus
Taco Eater
From: t͈̫̹ͨa͖͕͎̱͈ͨ͆ć̥̖̝o̫̫̼s͈̭̱̞͍̃!̰
Registered: 2004-05-25
Posts: 4,615
Website

Re: Making Arch Faster[solved]

phrakture wrote:

A common misconception is that the hotplug daemon is needed for pluggable devices (usb, firewire, etc) - while that's true, you don't need the hotplug daemon.

The hotplug daemon, called on startup, finds the module for all hardware it finds at that time, then exits... this is called "coldplugging" - loading modules for devices *already there*... this should really only be done once.  Add the modules hotplug found to the daemons array.

Hotplug itself is still used for pluggable devices, but in these cases the scripts are called directly by udev, and not the hotplug daemon.

So, if you removed the hotplug daemon, you can still use usb devices.

Wow. great info there phrak. I didn't actually know that. wink
Sweet. I never liked running the hotplug daemon at boot, and now I know that I don't have to!  8)


"Be conservative in what you send; be liberal in what you accept." -- Postel's Law
"tacos" -- Cactus' Law
"t̥͍͎̪̪͗a̴̻̩͈͚ͨc̠o̩̙͈ͫͅs͙͎̙͊ ͔͇̫̜t͎̳̀a̜̞̗ͩc̗͍͚o̲̯̿s̖̣̤̙͌ ̖̜̈ț̰̫͓ạ̪͖̳c̲͎͕̰̯̃̈o͉ͅs̪ͪ ̜̻̖̜͕" -- -̖͚̫̙̓-̺̠͇ͤ̃ ̜̪̜ͯZ͔̗̭̞ͪA̝͈̙͖̩L͉̠̺͓G̙̞̦͖O̳̗͍

Offline

#7 2005-05-26 21:59:57

z4ziggy
Member
From: Israel
Registered: 2004-03-29
Posts: 573
Website

Re: Making Arch Faster[solved]

you can look here for some more tips : http://wiki2.archlinux.org/index.php/Post installation tips
and also, i found this strange/intresting idea of using lshwd instead of hotplug, although its non-english, i think you'll get the idea : http://wiki2.archlinux.org/index.php/Sustituyendo a Hotplug con LSHWD

Offline

#8 2005-05-27 03:10:58

iBertus
Member
From: Greenville, NC
Registered: 2004-11-04
Posts: 2,228

Re: Making Arch Faster[solved]

You should search the forum for information about backgrounding parts of the DAEMONS array. If done correctly this could net a few seconds on startup. I really don't see the point since my system boots in ~10s without any deliberate optimizations.

Offline

#9 2005-05-27 09:02:56

Legout
Member
From: Wuerburg/germany
Registered: 2004-01-19
Posts: 292

Re: Making Arch Faster[solved]

z4ziggy wrote:

and also, i found this strange/intresting idea of using lshwd instead of hotplug, although its non-english, i think you'll get the idea : http://wiki2.archlinux.org/index.php/Sustituyendo a Hotplug con LSHWD

Who's the author of this wiki entry?? It seems to be creat. But i don't understand it completly. It would be great if someone could translate it to english.

Offline

#10 2005-05-27 09:33:12

iphitus
Forum Fellow
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2004-10-09
Posts: 4,927

Re: Making Arch Faster[solved]

z4ziggy wrote:

you can look here for some more tips : http://wiki2.archlinux.org/index.php/Post installation tips
and also, i found this strange/intresting idea of using lshwd instead of hotplug, although its non-english, i think you'll get the idea : http://wiki2.archlinux.org/index.php/Sustituyendo a Hotplug con LSHWD

z4ziggy hates hotplug with a passion!

Offline

#11 2005-05-27 15:07:35

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: Making Arch Faster[solved]

iphitus wrote:

z4ziggy hates hotplug with a passion!

so do i - not only is it ass slow... it also loads waaaay too much crap and gets crap wrong alot... it should really cache stuff like "ok, last boot I loaded modules for these devices... all our devices now are the same, reload this list of modules"

Offline

#12 2005-05-27 16:22:29

borisb
Member
Registered: 2005-05-18
Posts: 11

Re: Making Arch Faster[solved]

Thx to all the help I'm really happy to get my Linux-Box even faster.
yikes
P.S. If u ask why I am tryin to disable Hotplug: I am trying to convince a friend of using Linux and he got a shock after seeing how long SuSE needed to boot. (It booted 2 minutes without counting all the BIOS and GRUB things on a P4 3.2 Ghz with 2 GB System Memory and  then asked for the screen diagonal in millimetres !!!)
So now I bet with him that Arch will boot faster than the M$-Thing (And it's booting incredibly fast I have to assume)  :shock:

Offline

#13 2005-05-27 17:56:01

NeOnsKuLL
Member
From: Havana, Cuba
Registered: 2005-03-29
Posts: 117

Re: Making Arch Faster[solved]

Who's the author of this wiki entry?? It seems to be creat. But i don't understand it completly. It would be great if someone could translate it to english.

Legout, I'm the author of that wiki entry. I can try to translate it by myself, but probably I'll need some help. I'm an spanish language user of arch (I'm cuban, xD), then I'm not speak/write english very well.

See you

NeOnsKuLL


Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 3.0 GHz | 2x1GB 667MHz | 250+750GB Seageate SATAII | Samsung 19" TFT 1440x900
Openbox + obmenugen + PyTyle | bmpanel2 | oblogout | conky | pyBgSetter (with Esetroot as backend)
Projects: obmenugen, pyBgSetter

Offline

#14 2005-05-27 18:39:05

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

Re: Making Arch Faster[solved]

NeOnsKuLL: If you translate the document, I or somebody can go through it and make sure it makes sense in English. I'm always impressed with people who know even enough of a second language to say "I don't speak this language very well". ;-)

Dusty

Offline

#15 2005-05-27 19:02:05

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: Making Arch Faster[solved]

Dusty wrote:

NeOnsKuLL: If you translate the document, I or somebody can go through it and make sure it makes sense in English. I'm always impressed with people who know even enough of a second language to say "I don't speak this language very well". ;-)

Dusty

And he even knew to say "well" instead of "good" - which is more than alot of high school students

Offline

#16 2005-05-27 19:21:52

NeOnsKuLL
Member
From: Havana, Cuba
Registered: 2005-03-29
Posts: 117

Re: Making Arch Faster[solved]

OK, I made the translation. It's here http://wiki2.archlinux.org/index.php/Replacing Hotplug with LSHWD

I made it with the help of the Google translation service for some words.

See you

NeOnsKuLL


Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 3.0 GHz | 2x1GB 667MHz | 250+750GB Seageate SATAII | Samsung 19" TFT 1440x900
Openbox + obmenugen + PyTyle | bmpanel2 | oblogout | conky | pyBgSetter (with Esetroot as backend)
Projects: obmenugen, pyBgSetter

Offline

#17 2005-05-27 19:39:43

z4ziggy
Member
From: Israel
Registered: 2004-03-29
Posts: 573
Website

Re: Making Arch Faster[solved]

tnx for the translation NeOnsKuLL.

you wrote "lshwd does not detect some things, like cards of audio. " - i would appreciate if you can elaborate on this (card ids, lshwd output with unsupported hw, etc). tnx.

Offline

#18 2005-05-27 19:55:36

NeOnsKuLL
Member
From: Havana, Cuba
Registered: 2005-03-29
Posts: 117

Re: Making Arch Faster[solved]

In my home linuxbox if I use my lshwd instead of hotplug, I don't hace audio. I'll say you the audio card id the next week, because now I'm in my job and I don't have Internet in my home.

See you

NeOnsKuLL

PD: By the way, thanks for both hwd and lshwd, they are great software, and a big help for all.


Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 3.0 GHz | 2x1GB 667MHz | 250+750GB Seageate SATAII | Samsung 19" TFT 1440x900
Openbox + obmenugen + PyTyle | bmpanel2 | oblogout | conky | pyBgSetter (with Esetroot as backend)
Projects: obmenugen, pyBgSetter

Offline

#19 2005-05-27 20:30:55

Gullible Jones
Member
Registered: 2004-12-29
Posts: 4,863

Re: Making Arch Faster[solved]

If you want to make Arch faster, use a CK kernel. If you want to make Arch faster and test features which may either be awesome, buggy as hell, or some combination thereof, use an MM kernel.

Offline

#20 2005-05-28 03:29:41

miqorz
Member
Registered: 2004-12-31
Posts: 475

Re: Making Arch Faster[solved]

Or you guys can compile your own kernel and not use modules at all. The only module I have is for nvidia and I load it via /etc/rc.conf. heh.


http://wiki2.archlinux.org/

Read it. Love it. Live it. Or die.

Offline

#21 2005-05-28 04:17:13

dtw
Forum Fellow
From: London, UK
Registered: 2004-08-03
Posts: 4,428
Website

Re: Making Arch Faster[solved]

i find identifying which config file options refer to which modules a nightmare though, any tips?  Aside from read through the WHOLE kernel config instructions for every option smile

Offline

#22 2005-05-28 22:16:32

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

Re: Making Arch Faster[solved]

NeOnsKuLL wrote:

OK, I made the translation. It's here http://wiki2.archlinux.org/index.php/Replacing Hotplug with LSHWD

And as promised, I've edited it for correct English. Nice work!! :-)

Dusty

Offline

#23 2005-05-29 08:12:51

firedance
Member
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Registered: 2005-04-18
Posts: 131

Re: Making Arch Faster[solved]

I tried to take all modules from lsmod and put them in rc.conf, the computer worked but it felt like xorg took longer to start.

Offline

#24 2005-05-29 15:50:37

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: Making Arch Faster[solved]

miqorz wrote:

Or you guys can compile your own kernel and not use modules at all. The only module I have is for nvidia and I load it via /etc/rc.conf. heh.

that's only a speed increase on module load, and it's barely anything - I recommend against it

Offline

#25 2005-05-29 18:35:47

xerxes2
Member
From: Malmoe, Sweden
Registered: 2004-04-23
Posts: 1,249
Website

Re: Making Arch Faster[solved]

firedance wrote:

I tried to take all modules from lsmod and put them in rc.conf, the computer worked but it felt like xorg took longer to start.

I don't think that's related to loading modules in rc.conf,
xorg should start in a few seconds otherwise there is something wrong,
do you have your hostname in /etc/hosts ?


arch + gentoo + initng + python = enlisy

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB