You are not logged in.

#1 2005-05-31 19:59:53

Snowman
Developer/Forum Fellow
From: Montreal, Canada
Registered: 2004-08-20
Posts: 5,212

AMD launched dual core processor

It seems that AMD just shipped its 64 bit dual core processor (Athlon64 X2). I don't know when they'll be available here, but I hope that it's pretty soon as I need a new computer and might go with it (still not sure).  Compared to Intel, AMD processors are quite expensive nowadays.  :?

Offline

#2 2005-05-31 21:41:52

FUBAR
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2004-12-08
Posts: 1,029
Website

Re: AMD launched dual core processor

I found a shop where you can (pre-)order them! They aren't ridiculously expensive, considering they're dual-core and brand new.

  AMD ADA4200BVBOX Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 4200+ 2x512Kb (2.2GHz) s939 PIB (Manchester/0.09µ)     € 529            
  AMD ADA4400CDBOX Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 4400+ 2x1Mb (2.2GHz) s939 PIB (Toledo/0.09µ)           € 574            
  AMD ADA4600BVBOX Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 4600+ 2x512Kb (2.4GHz) s939 PIB (Manchester/0.09µ)     € 788            
  AMD ADA4800CDBOX Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 4800+ 2x1Mb (2.4GHz) s939 PIB (Toledo/0.09µ)           € 977            

A bus station is where a bus stops.
A train station is where a train stops.
On my desk I have a workstation.

Offline

#3 2005-05-31 22:01:12

T-Dawg
Forum Fellow
From: Wilmington, NC
Registered: 2005-01-29
Posts: 2,734

Re: AMD launched dual core processor

geeese now a dual core. I would like to get a 64 bit too but, the technology on it hasn't seemed to stabilize on anything definitive yet....

Offline

#4 2005-05-31 22:48:39

ozar
Member
From: USA
Registered: 2005-02-18
Posts: 1,681

Re: AMD launched dual core processor

AMD makes good stuff but I'm gonna wait a while on this one, too.  Might try one after it becomes better established, though.


oz

Offline

#5 2005-06-01 00:16:54

johnisevil
Member
From: Hamilton, ON Canada
Registered: 2003-08-07
Posts: 221
Website

Re: AMD launched dual core processor

As nice as these sound, I'm sticking with my FX55 for a while.  I read this Linux site that reviewed and benchmarked the X2 4800 and the FX55 beat it in every benchmark except for one.  Maybe in a year or so I'll make the jump to dual-core.

Offline

#6 2005-06-01 00:44:44

Gullible Jones
Member
Registered: 2004-12-29
Posts: 4,863

Re: AMD launched dual core processor

You might want to keep the FX55 for longer than that, if you're into file sharing.

Offline

#7 2005-06-01 20:30:32

Snowman
Developer/Forum Fellow
From: Montreal, Canada
Registered: 2004-08-20
Posts: 5,212

Re: AMD launched dual core processor

FUBAR wrote:

They aren't ridiculously expensive, considering they're dual-core and brand new.

Yes, but the Intel ones are much cheaper:

Processor                             Per 1,000
Pentium D 820 (2.8 GHz)     $241
Pentium D 830 (3.0 GHz)     $316
Pentium D 840 (3.2 GHz)     $530

Also, the price goes up when you convert the price from US $/Euro to the CND $ and add a 15% sales tax  :x .    Another thing that increase the price of the system is that you don't want to put these high-end processor in a low-end machine so the other components increase the cost of the system.   
Anyway, I think that the price of the dual-core could increase in the future when the (Windows) apps will be able to use them performance-wise.  Currently, the market is very small and  Intel or AMD would have problems  to justify a higher price.

N.B. I might get the  4400+ because of the 1MB cache.

Offline

#8 2005-06-02 07:38:40

iphitus
Forum Fellow
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2004-10-09
Posts: 4,927

Re: AMD launched dual core processor

Penguin wrote:

geeese now a dual core. I would like to get a 64 bit too but, the technology on it hasn't seemed to stabilize on anything definitive yet....

Get a dual core and 64bit processor in one wink

Offline

#9 2005-06-02 12:13:07

postlogic
Member
Registered: 2005-02-24
Posts: 410
Website

Re: AMD launched dual core processor

I would go for a single core, since there's no real need for a dual-core on workstations as of yet anyway. I'd rather go for SLI if you are into gaming or similar.

Offline

#10 2005-06-02 14:51:54

FUBAR
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2004-12-08
Posts: 1,029
Website

Re: AMD launched dual core processor

Snowman wrote:
FUBAR wrote:

They aren't ridiculously expensive, considering they're dual-core and brand new.

Yes, but the Intel ones are much cheaper

Intel's "dual core" solution is just a packaging scam. Read AnandTech's article.

AMD's current dual core architecture is vastly superior to Intel's. The more than twice as fast cache-to-cache communication does not pay off in all multithreaded applications, but it should give AMD a scaling advantage in OLTP and some rendering and HPC applications. It will be very easy for AMD to make communications between the cores even faster, by attaching a shared L2-cache to the SRQ. AMD can also leverage their knowledge and experiences with the on die northbridge to lower the latency and increase the bandwidth of the memory subsystem.


A bus station is where a bus stops.
A train station is where a train stops.
On my desk I have a workstation.

Offline

#11 2005-06-02 15:50:48

Snowman
Developer/Forum Fellow
From: Montreal, Canada
Registered: 2004-08-20
Posts: 5,212

Re: AMD launched dual core processor

There is also this one

What we did find interesting was that while AMD generally maintains a large performance advantage in single threaded applications, our multitasking scenarios were a mixed bag of results between AMD and Intel. The multitasking gaming tests were obviously very strongly in favor of AMD, but the general usage tests were more mixed between AMD and Intel. In many cases, Intel's Pentium D actually pulled ahead in terms of performance.

I'll probably go with AMD anyway.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB