You are not logged in.

#626 2011-03-30 15:03:59

off220
Member
Registered: 2010-04-01
Posts: 92

Re: gnome unstable repository

and what about theming? Do gtk2 and gtk3 apps look different, or gtk3 themes are applied to gtk2 apps?

Offline

#627 2011-03-31 11:19:12

steffinger
Member
From: Munich/Beijing
Registered: 2011-02-07
Posts: 40

Re: gnome unstable repository

I'm using gnome3 for a while now and found some issues and I wanted to know if somebody else has similar issues:

- The Touchpad of my laptop is not working correctly: I can move the cursor but i can't use multitouch or scrolling like before.  When I went to dconf-editor org.gnome.settings-daemon.peripherals.touchpad to change some values, just to try I could not log into gnome-shell via gdm until I changed the values back to default. (I came out in fallback-mode, where $ gnome-shell --replace worked like a charme)
- When I want to connect to a wireless network I can click on it and then enter a pasword, but it won't connect. I first have to go to network-settings and go into the options for the chosen network, where I can check "make available for all users". Than the connection will work. Same for VPN. Why would it be so complicated? Or is it just a bug?

Is this the right place to ask such questions? Or should it be for the bugtracker?


P.S. Some more Infos about the Synaptics touchpad from Xorg.0.log:

[   784.112] (II) config/udev: Adding input device SynPS/2 Synaptics TouchPad (/dev/input/event9)
[   784.112] (**) SynPS/2 Synaptics TouchPad: Applying InputClass "evdev touchpad catchall"
[   784.112] (II) Using input driver 'evdev' for 'SynPS/2 Synaptics TouchPad'
[   784.112] (II) Loading /usr/lib/xorg/modules/input/evdev_drv.so
[   784.112] (**) SynPS/2 Synaptics TouchPad: always reports core events
[   784.112] (**) SynPS/2 Synaptics TouchPad: Device: "/dev/input/event9"
[   784.136] (--) SynPS/2 Synaptics TouchPad: Found 3 mouse buttons
[   784.136] (--) SynPS/2 Synaptics TouchPad: Found absolute axes
[   784.136] (--) SynPS/2 Synaptics TouchPad: Found x and y absolute axes
[   784.136] (--) SynPS/2 Synaptics TouchPad: Found absolute touchpad.
[   784.136] (II) SynPS/2 Synaptics TouchPad: Configuring as touchpad
[   784.136] (**) SynPS/2 Synaptics TouchPad: YAxisMapping: buttons 4 and 5
[   784.136] (**) SynPS/2 Synaptics TouchPad: EmulateWheelButton: 4, EmulateWheelInertia: 10, EmulateWheelTimeout: 200
[   784.136] (**) Option "config_info" "udev:/sys/devices/platform/i8042/serio4/input/input9/event9"
[   784.137] (II) XINPUT: Adding extended input device "SynPS/2 Synaptics TouchPad" (type: TOUCHPAD)
[   784.137] (II) SynPS/2 Synaptics TouchPad: initialized for absolute axes.
[   784.137] (**) SynPS/2 Synaptics TouchPad: (accel) keeping acceleration scheme 1
[   784.137] (**) SynPS/2 Synaptics TouchPad: (accel) acceleration profile 0
[   784.137] (**) SynPS/2 Synaptics TouchPad: (accel) acceleration factor: 2.000
[   784.137] (**) SynPS/2 Synaptics TouchPad: (accel) acceleration threshold: 4
[   784.138] (II) config/udev: Adding input device SynPS/2 Synaptics TouchPad (/dev/input/mouse0)
[   784.138] (II) No input driver/identifier specified (ignoring)
[   784.139] (II) config/udev: Adding input device PC Speaker (/dev/input/event3)
[   784.139] (II) No input driver/identifier specified (ignoring)

Offline

#628 2011-03-31 11:35:28

wonder
Developer
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2006-07-05
Posts: 5,937
Website

Re: gnome unstable repository

@steffinger open System Settings->Mouse and Touchpad and then click on Touchpad tab. do your settings there.

for the rest i don't know.

NOTE: do not report  such kind of bugs to arch bugtracker. Do it directly upstream. Report only _packaging_ bugs on our tracker.


Give what you have. To someone, it may be better than you dare to think.
Blog

Offline

#629 2011-03-31 13:23:56

steffinger
Member
From: Munich/Beijing
Registered: 2011-02-07
Posts: 40

Re: gnome unstable repository

@wonder: It seems to be some bigger problem, because my system settings >> mouse and touchpad does not show a touchpad tab (altough gnome2 did)
and as it doesn't seem to affect you, i have to do some research on it. Thanks anyway

Offline

#630 2011-03-31 16:23:15

misc
Member
From: Bavaria, Germany
Registered: 2010-03-22
Posts: 112

Re: gnome unstable repository

off220 wrote:

and what about theming? Do gtk2 and gtk3 apps look different

That depends on whether the theme is both gtk2 and gtk3 compatible, as those installed by gnome-themes-standard should be.

Process is the same as with gtk2: Create or edit .gtkrc-{2,3}.0 in your ~ and insert

include "<path to gtk{2,3} theme>/gtkrc"

such as /usr/share/themes/Clearlooks/gtk-{2,3}.0/gtkrc, for instance.

Or at least, that's how it should be. Thanks to the recently added settings.ini my nautilus now may start, but the ~/.gtkrc-3.0 still gets ignored.

Offline

#631 2011-03-31 16:26:36

wonder
Developer
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2006-07-05
Posts: 5,937
Website

Re: gnome unstable repository

note, gtk3 configuration is called settings.ini and the option available are: http://library.gnome.org/devel/gtk/unst … tings.html


Give what you have. To someone, it may be better than you dare to think.
Blog

Offline

#632 2011-03-31 17:20:22

off220
Member
Registered: 2010-04-01
Posts: 92

Re: gnome unstable repository

misc wrote:
off220 wrote:

and what about theming? Do gtk2 and gtk3 apps look different

That depends on whether the theme is both gtk2 and gtk3 compatible, as those installed by gnome-themes-standard should be.

Process is the same as with gtk2: Create or edit .gtkrc-{2,3}.0 in your ~ and insert

include "<path to gtk{2,3} theme>/gtkrc"

such as /usr/share/themes/Clearlooks/gtk-{2,3}.0/gtkrc, for instance.

Or at least, that's how it should be. Thanks to the recently added settings.ini my nautilus now may start, but the ~/.gtkrc-3.0 still gets ignored.

Thanx,now it's almost clear.

settings.ini - I've seen this file somewhere long time ago..;)

Offline

#633 2011-03-31 23:54:54

chad
Member
Registered: 2009-11-10
Posts: 6

Re: gnome unstable repository

mgzpac wrote:

After updating, I get the system settings menu bug noted earlier, but I also get a bug where my application tab icons are very washed out.

http://i.imgur.com/T3QUcs.png

Anyone else get this problem?

I'm having exactly this same problem.  NVidia card with nouveau driver 0.0.16_git20110316-2.  Doesn't appear to be a widespread issue, since I haven't seen anyone else mention it.  Hoping its an easy fix because I'm really liking Gnome 3 overall.

Offline

#634 2011-04-01 10:10:21

michal.penka
Member
From: Czech Republic
Registered: 2011-04-01
Posts: 8
Website

Re: gnome unstable repository

Seems that GNOME 3 will be rescheduled for September 2011.
http://www.gnome.org/press/releases/201 … duled.html

The questions are:

  • How often will be gnome unstable repo updated?

  • How to perform as less effortless downgrade to GNOME 2.32 as possible?

Thank you guys, especially wonder for your wonderful work wink

Last edited by michal.penka (2011-04-01 10:12:48)

Offline

#635 2011-04-01 10:20:03

alexcriss
Member
Registered: 2010-05-24
Posts: 121

Re: gnome unstable repository

I think that it's a pretty april fool's day prank!

From your link: "The release team is also concerned about the possible near-future release of GTK4 and what that means for GNOME as a development platform." <-- Let's port GS to GTK4 for September! Even more scam wink

Last edited by alexcriss (2011-04-01 10:22:20)

Offline

#636 2011-04-01 11:48:17

michal.penka
Member
From: Czech Republic
Registered: 2011-04-01
Posts: 8
Website

Re: gnome unstable repository

alexcriss wrote:

I think that it's a pretty april fool's day prank!

From your link: "The release team is also concerned about the possible near-future release of GTK4 and what that means for GNOME as a development platform." <-- Let's port GS to GTK4 for September! Even more scam wink

That was the first thing I've thought. Internet is full of it today. However the article by Akshat Jain starts with "And no, this is not an April Fools." and he assured everyone in comments that it is true.

If it is not, I quit OMG!UBUNTU subscription 'cause it is just not fair sad

Offline

#637 2011-04-01 13:13:37

alexcriss
Member
Registered: 2010-05-24
Posts: 121

Re: gnome unstable repository

michal.penka wrote:

However the article by Akshat Jain starts with "And no, this is not an April Fools." and he assured everyone in comments that it is true.

If it is not, I quit OMG!UBUNTU subscription 'cause it is just not fair sad

I can't reach that link. However, saying that's true is the best practise to support an April fools, at least in Italy wink

Offline

#638 2011-04-01 14:27:04

polslinux
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2009-03-30
Posts: 23
Website

Re: gnome unstable repository

there's a way to hide category from gnome-shell?
i want to hide "Other" and "Development" sections...is this possible?

Offline

#639 2011-04-01 15:26:35

alexcriss
Member
Registered: 2010-05-24
Posts: 121

Re: gnome unstable repository

polslinux wrote:

there's a way to hide category from gnome-shell?
i want to hide "Other" and "Development" sections...is this possible?


I don't think so. If it's really that requested (you're the second one in this topic) I may try to look into writing an extension for it, hoping that categories are done in JS.

Last edited by alexcriss (2011-04-01 15:26:45)

Offline

#640 2011-04-01 16:02:25

luciferin
Member
Registered: 2007-05-10
Posts: 144

Re: gnome unstable repository

@steffinger:  You need to install the community/libsynaptics package.  I'm not sure what changed to make this now necessary, but installing it brought back the touchpad tab and the multitouch options.

Offline

#641 2011-04-01 16:31:18

polslinux
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2009-03-30
Posts: 23
Website

Re: gnome unstable repository

alexcriss wrote:
polslinux wrote:

there's a way to hide category from gnome-shell?
i want to hide "Other" and "Development" sections...is this possible?


I don't think so. If it's really that requested (you're the second one in this topic) I may try to look into writing an extension for it, hoping that categories are done in JS.

it is a very lovely things that you want doing for us *.* smile
however, if you have some time and you want to do it i think that we all appreciate this work smile
i can't help you because i know only bash scripting xD

Offline

#642 2011-04-01 18:14:09

megawebmaster
Member
Registered: 2009-08-12
Posts: 73

Re: gnome unstable repository

Hello!
I've been using Gnome-Shell for a few days now and at the beginning I had these perfect gestures - drag to top, drag to left and drag to right respectively: maximize, maximize in left side, maximize in right side, but after yesterdays update - these gestures disappeared. Can anyone confirm or it is just my system and account?

Offline

#643 2011-04-01 18:43:35

luciferin
Member
Registered: 2007-05-10
Posts: 144

Re: gnome unstable repository

megawebmaster wrote:

Hello!
I've been using Gnome-Shell for a few days now and at the beginning I had these perfect gestures - drag to top, drag to left and drag to right respectively: maximize, maximize in left side, maximize in right side, but after yesterdays update - these gestures disappeared. Can anyone confirm or it is just my system and account?

They're working fine for me...

Last edited by luciferin (2011-04-01 18:44:16)

Offline

#644 2011-04-02 03:43:37

chad
Member
Registered: 2009-11-10
Posts: 6

Re: gnome unstable repository

mgzpac wrote:

After updating, I get the system settings menu bug noted earlier, but I also get a bug where my application tab icons are very washed out.

http://i.imgur.com/T3QUcs.png

Anyone else get this problem?


I was having this as well, I've fixed it locally by modifying /usr/share/gnome-shell/js/ui/appDisplay.js by changing the vfade parameter to false in the init() function for AlphabeticalView, as well as commenting out the vfade stuff in the ensureIconVisible() function.  A brute force approach, but it works for me.

Offline

#645 2011-04-02 08:33:57

megawebmaster
Member
Registered: 2009-08-12
Posts: 73

Re: gnome unstable repository

luciferin wrote:

They're working fine for me...

Thats weird then... I don't know where I should start looking for problems - does anyone know?

Thanks.

Offline

#646 2011-04-02 09:21:06

Zom
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2007-10-27
Posts: 406

Re: gnome unstable repository

megawebmaster wrote:

Thats weird then... I don't know where I should start looking for problems - does anyone know?

Thanks.

You could try creating a new user and just log in with that to see if the problem persists. If it's fixed, then you know the problem lies in your configuration. Otherwise, it's more likely to be something else.

Last edited by Zom (2011-04-02 09:21:27)

Offline

#647 2011-04-02 09:33:52

mitkonanov
Member
From: Berlin, Germany
Registered: 2010-12-13
Posts: 3

Re: gnome unstable repository

Hello,
Ive been trying for two days to get gnome-tweak-tool to run on my system, but i seem to have some problem with it or maybe python installation. Everything else is working smooth and as expected, but i just cant get the GTT to run. The message i get is :

[mitko@KOPELE ~]$ gnome-tweak-tool
Caching gsettings: <gtweak.gsettings._GSettingsSchema: org.gnome.shell.clock>
Caching gconf: <gtweak.gconf.GConfSetting: /desktop/gnome/shell/windows/button_layout> (--short-docs)
Caching gconf: <gtweak.gconf.GConfSetting: /desktop/gnome/shell/windows/button_layout> (--long-docs)
Caching gsettings: <gtweak.gsettings._GSettingsSchema: org.gnome.settings-daemon.plugins.power>
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/bin/gnome-tweak-tool", line 81, in <module>
    MainWindow()
  File "/usr/bin/gnome-tweak-tool", line 46, in __init__
    model)
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/site-packages/gtweak/tweakview.py", line 38, in __init__
    self._model.load_tweaks()
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/site-packages/gtweak/tweakmodel.py", line 97, in load_tweaks
    mods = __import__("gtweak.tweaks", globals(), locals(), tweak_files, 0)
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/site-packages/gtweak/tweaks/tweak_shell.py", line 162, in <module>
    GSettingsComboEnumTweak("org.gnome.settings-daemon.plugins.power", "lid-close-battery-action", size_group=sg),
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/site-packages/gtweak/widgets.py", line 100, in __init__
    _type, values = self.settings.get_range(key_name)
AttributeError: 'GSettingsSetting' object has no attribute 'get_range'

After alot of searching in the fourms and in the net, it seems nobody else has this problem. Could anyone help me find a solution ( or at least a reason? wink )?



    - Mitko

Last edited by mitkonanov (2011-04-02 09:34:59)

Offline

#648 2011-04-02 09:42:21

wonder
Developer
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2006-07-05
Posts: 5,937
Website

Re: gnome unstable repository

@mitkonanov reinstall pygobject and gobject-introspection


Give what you have. To someone, it may be better than you dare to think.
Blog

Offline

#649 2011-04-02 09:46:02

mitkonanov
Member
From: Berlin, Germany
Registered: 2010-12-13
Posts: 3

Re: gnome unstable repository

@wonder : Thanks Alot! I have reinstalled pygobject yesterday alredy, but didnt get to reinstalling gobject-introspection, when i did ( appereantly i was using some git package ), everything worked as magic! Thanks again.


    - Mitko.

Offline

#650 2011-04-02 09:48:22

wonder
Developer
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2006-07-05
Posts: 5,937
Website

Re: gnome unstable repository

check out pacman -Qm and see what other -devel or -git packages you are using from aur and replace them with packages from gnome-unstable


Give what you have. To someone, it may be better than you dare to think.
Blog

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB