You are not logged in.

#26 2010-12-21 21:18:56

pablokal
Member
From: Nijmegen, Holland
Registered: 2010-03-07
Posts: 96
Website

Re: [LiveCD/USB] CTKArch Live 0.7 release

Thanks lirecho for pointing this out!!
This should be enough to help me out.


GNu/Linux: Nu nog schoner: http://linuxnogschoner.blogspot.com/

Offline

#27 2011-01-28 16:45:57

ibendiben
Member
Registered: 2007-10-10
Posts: 519
Website

Re: [LiveCD/USB] CTKArch Live 0.7 release

I'll give it a try! Looks good!

Offline

#28 2011-02-08 07:22:01

boogy
Member
Registered: 2010-05-20
Posts: 26
Website

Re: [LiveCD/USB] CTKArch Live 0.7 release

ibendiben wrote:

I'll give it a try! Looks good!

Same here ...


WHERE THERE IS A SHELL, THERE IS A WAY
Success is to be measured not so much by the position that one has reached in life as by the obstacles which he has overcome.
TUXGEEK.ORG

Offline

#29 2011-02-24 05:33:19

krillehb
Member
From: Berlin/Germany
Registered: 2005-06-07
Posts: 7

Re: [LiveCD/USB] CTKArch Live 0.7 release

Hi there,

your project looks nice :-)
Is it possible to add the b43fwcutter and the firmware for my Broadcom 4311 wireless with pacman or yaourt ?


"We don´t see things as they are we see them as we are"

Offline

#30 2011-02-25 16:38:29

lilsirecho
Veteran
Registered: 2003-10-24
Posts: 5,000

Re: [LiveCD/USB] CTKArch Live 0.7 release

EDIT: krillehb:     Pacman can load the b43-fwcutter since it is available in archlinux.


You may have to establish USA archlinux access first.  EDIT:  This also means editing the mirrorlist to enable USmirrors ( if you use US mirrors)

Usually you need to pacman -Syy and use latest pacman -S pacman.

To use the wireless, you may have to copy the wicd wireless data from the CTK file and generate your particulars for the wireless device you utilize.

The b43-fwcutter should be installable directly thru aufs for an initial test, after which it is lost on reboot.

To install permanently, it can be installed easily with the mkaddon procedure which generates an addon for any pacman packages as desired.

To provide the wicd data for the wireless device, you can generate an addon which installs the desired wicd data but it has to be provided as an edit in the mkaddon process (pacman package not used) and the addon must be entered into CTKHome/addons (after changing permissions therein).

In your case, the addon modifies the wicd wireless data in the CTK wicd file during boot sequence to enter your required data.

Thusly, you will have wireless addon and be good to go.

There may be a better way to do this wicd addon, but this should be adequate.

Last edited by lilsirecho (2011-02-25 16:42:34)


Prediction...This year will be a very odd year!
Hard work does not kill people but why risk it: Charlie Mccarthy
A man is not complete until he is married..then..he is finished.
When ALL is lost, what can be found? Even bytes get lonely for a little bit!     X-ray confirms Iam spineless!

Offline

#31 2011-04-07 20:49:29

Calimero
Member
From: france
Registered: 2008-08-06
Posts: 45
Website

Re: [LiveCD/USB] CTKArch Live 0.7 release

It's been a while! I've released a brand new version today. smile

thumb.png
http://ctkarch.org/download/0.7/

I've implemented something quite interesting there: the possibility of turning your live into a “nomad installation”, by saving all system changes to the persistent data partition.
Add-ons are perfectly compatible with this! For those who know AUFS, let's say this just gives directly to the user some of its possibilities.

Also, I designed an additional theme (white!) for this version. You can't tell it's too dark now! wink

More info on this version there : http://ctkarch.org/documentation/0.7/

Hope you like it!


In a world without walls and fences, who needs windows and gates ?

Offline

#32 2011-04-08 06:08:49

lilsirecho
Veteran
Registered: 2003-10-24
Posts: 5,000

Re: [LiveCD/USB] CTKArch Live 0.7 release

Calimero:

Downloaded the x64.iso and it performs as expected.

Attempted to utilize isomaster to add the addons I have in version 0.6.

I was able to insert the addons as  a directory and the size was compatible with my 1000mb partition.  The partition shows bootable in cfdisk.

The new .iso created with the addons was saved with a modified name.

I assume that the existing .iso has to be zeroed out so I did that.  The new .iso was then written into a reestablished partition (dd with zero and cfdisk a 1000mb partition) and an attempt to boot failed.

Perhaps I misinterpret your remarks regarding adding the addons to the .iso.


Prediction...This year will be a very odd year!
Hard work does not kill people but why risk it: Charlie Mccarthy
A man is not complete until he is married..then..he is finished.
When ALL is lost, what can be found? Even bytes get lonely for a little bit!     X-ray confirms Iam spineless!

Offline

#33 2011-04-08 08:51:23

Calimero
Member
From: france
Registered: 2008-08-06
Posts: 45
Website

Re: [LiveCD/USB] CTKArch Live 0.7 release

I'm not sure I've understood what you did there…

The possibility of inserting addons directly into the iso image allows to burn a customized CD/DVD.
Of course, add-ons must have been created before, typically by using the live and saving them somewhere. Or downloaded from somewhere.

Then you can burn the modified iso, and without the persistent data partition you will have your addons.
It is useless if you don't want to use a CD, or share your customized ISO with other people: if it's just for you, why not just keep the add-ons in the persistent data partition?

Last edited by Calimero (2011-04-08 09:15:41)


In a world without walls and fences, who needs windows and gates ?

Offline

#34 2011-04-08 22:37:08

lilsirecho
Veteran
Registered: 2003-10-24
Posts: 5,000

Re: [LiveCD/USB] CTKArch Live 0.7 release

I have performed the procedure of adding the addons to the downloaded .iso file with the program isomaster.  After loading the addons from my 0.6 installation to the addons dir of the .iso, I saved the resulting .iso to a new name.

I then dd'ed the new file to the flash primary 1GB partition and was unable to boot from that operating system flash device.

I then cleared the flash drive ( with dd=/dev/zero and created a 1gb partition with gparted.

I then ran dd on the .iso as downloaded and was able to boot into desktop (without any addons installed).

What I do not understand is why my first post doesn't say the same things that I just repeated.

It seems that adding addons directory to the downloaded .iso (increasing the size two or three hundred MB) does not permit the .iso to boot.

Why?


Prediction...This year will be a very odd year!
Hard work does not kill people but why risk it: Charlie Mccarthy
A man is not complete until he is married..then..he is finished.
When ALL is lost, what can be found? Even bytes get lonely for a little bit!     X-ray confirms Iam spineless!

Offline

#35 2011-04-08 23:13:03

Calimero
Member
From: france
Registered: 2008-08-06
Posts: 45
Website

Re: [LiveCD/USB] CTKArch Live 0.7 release

More precisely, what to you mean by ”it doesn't boot”?
Do you have the boot menu with the choice Français/English?

If so, does it fail later during bootup?
I wouldn't be surprised if add-ons assembled for v0.6 broke v0.7, because of shared libray versions mismatches!

Last edited by Calimero (2011-04-08 23:15:17)


In a world without walls and fences, who needs windows and gates ?

Offline

#36 2011-04-09 03:43:03

lilsirecho
Veteran
Registered: 2003-10-24
Posts: 5,000

Re: [LiveCD/USB] CTKArch Live 0.7 release

It fails to begin the boot sequence at the end of the post.

It just hangs at that point.

It says that the flash device is not detected.

The flash device responds and boots without the addons.

The addons directory is displayed :

file:///media/CTKArch7/README
file:///media/CTKArch7/addons   (207mb)
file:///media/CTKArch7/boot                           (568.3MB for the .iso items)
file:///media/CTKArch7/root-image.sqfs
Total size 787.7MB
This is the display when the usb flash device is called up in my archHDD system.  The addons are in a folder.

Perhaps the addons need to be separate entries as sqfs files( as the root-image.sqfs appears).

This device does not reach the boot sequence as I described
above...hangs at the point where grub appears in normal arch system boots.  Thus it never gets to the language select prompt.

I may not be using the isomaster procedure correctly?

Enter the .iso,select addons and open.  Copy addon.sqfs from 0.6 flash device into the contents of the addons dir.

Save the result immediately into a new file using ...Save as...

EDIT: It is probable that the ID data on the flash drive is compromised by the addon addition so it cannot be recognized for booting.

Last edited by lilsirecho (2011-04-09 03:47:45)


Prediction...This year will be a very odd year!
Hard work does not kill people but why risk it: Charlie Mccarthy
A man is not complete until he is married..then..he is finished.
When ALL is lost, what can be found? Even bytes get lonely for a little bit!     X-ray confirms Iam spineless!

Offline

#37 2011-04-09 05:51:11

jolinfire
Member
From: France
Registered: 2007-12-21
Posts: 176

Re: [LiveCD/USB] CTKArch Live 0.7 release

I try to launch it using qemu special settings in xorg options. And it freezes when I press enter on this option. Maybe because I'm using qemu-git ?

Offline

#38 2011-04-09 10:50:56

Calimero
Member
From: france
Registered: 2008-08-06
Posts: 45
Website

Re: [LiveCD/USB] CTKArch Live 0.7 release

You shall use qemu or qemu-kvm from extra (if you have a KVM capable processor. modprobe kvm-intel or kvm-amd to find out.)
I usually use this commandline (-vga std is to prevent X from crashing on composite):
qemu -m 512 -vga std -soundhw es1370 -cdrom ctkarchlive-0.7-*.iso

If you still have problems, add the option -no-kvm-irqchip


lilsirecho, why do you want to insert addons into the iso, when you can create a partition in the remaining space of the flash drive to store add-ons?
You know, if you disable the persistent home, it will be mounted read-only and will be just as reliable as if you had put the addons in the iso before dd'ing it.

After inserting addons into the iso with isomaster, it will only boot from a CD/DVD. Not a block device, just as you experienced it.
I couldn't find a way to “re-hybrid” the iso after using isomaster on it, so here's a script to make an hybrid iso from a folder “iso” containing the contents you want in the resulting iso.
http://pastebin.archlinux.fr/431914
(again, this is pointless. but you seem to want it, so… ☺)

Last edited by Calimero (2011-04-09 10:55:18)


In a world without walls and fences, who needs windows and gates ?

Offline

#39 2011-04-09 17:44:55

lilsirecho
Veteran
Registered: 2003-10-24
Posts: 5,000

Re: [LiveCD/USB] CTKArch Live 0.7 release

My efforts to perform the addon procedure were to test the feature in my machine and report the results.

This is standard testing for new features for any new upgrades or other designs.

I realize that I can do the CTKHOME persistent arrangement but that was a given.

I may have ruffled your feathers by testing your new feature?

I will try your script and report results.

Thank you....

Ray


Prediction...This year will be a very odd year!
Hard work does not kill people but why risk it: Charlie Mccarthy
A man is not complete until he is married..then..he is finished.
When ALL is lost, what can be found? Even bytes get lonely for a little bit!     X-ray confirms Iam spineless!

Offline

#40 2011-04-09 20:59:53

jolinfire
Member
From: France
Registered: 2007-12-21
Posts: 176

Re: [LiveCD/USB] CTKArch Live 0.7 release

Ok. Will try vga-std option. I think it will work a little better. Thanks for the tip !

Offline

#41 2011-04-09 23:03:20

lilsirecho
Veteran
Registered: 2003-10-24
Posts: 5,000

Re: [LiveCD/USB] CTKArch Live 0.7 release

The script fails to run.................


Prediction...This year will be a very odd year!
Hard work does not kill people but why risk it: Charlie Mccarthy
A man is not complete until he is married..then..he is finished.
When ALL is lost, what can be found? Even bytes get lonely for a little bit!     X-ray confirms Iam spineless!

Offline

#42 2011-04-09 23:53:35

Calimero
Member
From: france
Registered: 2008-08-06
Posts: 45
Website

Re: [LiveCD/USB] CTKArch Live 0.7 release

I didn't test it. The "usage" and "warning" messages are fixed now: http://pastebin.com/rY2wKpd4
You did understand that before running the script, you have to copy the contents of the iso + your addons into a folder called 'iso' in the folder where you run the script, right?

Last edited by Calimero (2011-04-09 23:54:28)


In a world without walls and fences, who needs windows and gates ?

Offline

#43 2011-04-10 14:15:50

lilsirecho
Veteran
Registered: 2003-10-24
Posts: 5,000

Re: [LiveCD/USB] CTKArch Live 0.7 release

I do understand the data setup in the iso folder and anticipate another trial of the script.


Prediction...This year will be a very odd year!
Hard work does not kill people but why risk it: Charlie Mccarthy
A man is not complete until he is married..then..he is finished.
When ALL is lost, what can be found? Even bytes get lonely for a little bit!     X-ray confirms Iam spineless!

Offline

#44 2011-04-10 15:24:32

lilsirecho
Veteran
Registered: 2003-10-24
Posts: 5,000

Re: [LiveCD/USB] CTKArch Live 0.7 release

Running script: result..............

[root@n6re Desktop]# bash x sh
genisoimage: Uh oh, I cant find the boot catalog directory 'boot/syslinux'!
[root@n6re Desktop]#

EDIT:.....................................
Repeating the trial with the script file (x) in the iso folder:

Result:

[root@n6re ~]# cd /root/Desktop/iso
[root@n6re iso]# bash x sh
Please create a folder called iso with the contents of the iso to generate
[root@n6re iso]#

The iso is the directory from which I ran the script and it contains the .iso and addons plus the script (x) file.

EDIT 2: The purpose for this iso modification is to provide a block device boot speed for the system and in the end to determine the performance thereafter with this addons arrangement.

Last edited by lilsirecho (2011-04-10 16:10:22)


Prediction...This year will be a very odd year!
Hard work does not kill people but why risk it: Charlie Mccarthy
A man is not complete until he is married..then..he is finished.
When ALL is lost, what can be found? Even bytes get lonely for a little bit!     X-ray confirms Iam spineless!

Offline

#45 2011-04-10 16:20:31

lilsirecho
Veteran
Registered: 2003-10-24
Posts: 5,000

Re: [LiveCD/USB] CTKArch Live 0.7 release

The .iso that is downloaded for 0.7 contains an empty addons folder.

If I am to add my 13 addons to this .iso, do I place them in an addons folder or do I provide them separately in the .iso folder?

The result of using an addons folder in the .iso folder I create will be to have the .iso with two addons in tandem since the  0.7.iso is providing a directory with the same name.  This creates /addons/addons which won't permit system response to addons.  At least, this is the way I see it.


Prediction...This year will be a very odd year!
Hard work does not kill people but why risk it: Charlie Mccarthy
A man is not complete until he is married..then..he is finished.
When ALL is lost, what can be found? Even bytes get lonely for a little bit!     X-ray confirms Iam spineless!

Offline

#46 2011-04-10 17:30:12

Calimero
Member
From: france
Registered: 2008-08-06
Posts: 45
Website

Re: [LiveCD/USB] CTKArch Live 0.7 release

Just create the "iso" folder with the contents you want in the ISO. wink
This means the command "find iso" gives something like this before running the script in the same folder:

[calimero@m50vn tmp]$ find iso/
iso/
iso/boot
iso/boot/archiso.img
iso/boot/System.map26
iso/boot/syslinux
iso/boot/syslinux/vesamenu.c32
iso/boot/syslinux/splash.png
iso/boot/syslinux/en.cfg
iso/boot/syslinux/isolinux.bin
iso/boot/syslinux/fr.cfg
iso/boot/syslinux/syslinux.cfg
iso/boot/syslinux/infoen.txt
iso/boot/syslinux/infofr.txt
iso/boot/vmlinuz26
iso/boot/memtest86
iso/README
iso/addons
iso/addons/addon-ask-something.sqfs
iso/addons/addon-ask-somethingelse.sqfs

iso/root-image.sqfs

So, yes, the add-ons must totally be in ./iso/addons/


In a world without walls and fences, who needs windows and gates ?

Offline

#47 2011-04-10 18:11:31

lilsirecho
Veteran
Registered: 2003-10-24
Posts: 5,000

Re: [LiveCD/USB] CTKArch Live 0.7 release

My results:

[root@n6re ~]# cd /root/Desktop
[root@n6re Desktop]# find iso
iso
iso/CtkArchLive-0.7-x64.iso
iso/addons
iso/addons/addon-noask-lp.sqfs
iso/addons/addon-noask-klive.sqfs
iso/addons/addon-noask-vlc.sqfs
iso/addons/addon-noask--rc-cups.sqfs
iso/addons/addon-noask-plug-in.sqfs
iso/addons/addon-noask-mirage.sqfs
iso/addons/addon-noask-py.sqfs
iso/addons/addon-noask-wicd-autostart.sqfs
iso/addons/addon-noask-cups.sqfs
iso/addons/addon-noask-feh.sqfs
iso/addons/addon-noask-fsh.sqfs
iso/addons/addon-noask-wicdconf.sqfs
iso/addons/addon-noask-hp.sqfs
iso/x
[root@n6re Desktop]#

The script is in the iso folder and is not displayed in the above find procedure.

So, my folder has the .iso and a folder of addons within the iso.

The running of bash x sh which starts the script does not recognize the folder .iso as already created..  This result has been posted previously.

I will try the script running from Desktop instead of the .iso folder.

EDIT:  The results of running from Desktop:.....

[root@n6re Desktop]# bash x sh
genisoimage: Uh oh, I cant find the boot catalog directory 'boot/syslinux'!

Last edited by lilsirecho (2011-04-10 18:14:02)


Prediction...This year will be a very odd year!
Hard work does not kill people but why risk it: Charlie Mccarthy
A man is not complete until he is married..then..he is finished.
When ALL is lost, what can be found? Even bytes get lonely for a little bit!     X-ray confirms Iam spineless!

Offline

#48 2011-04-10 18:28:20

lilsirecho
Veteran
Registered: 2003-10-24
Posts: 5,000

Re: [LiveCD/USB] CTKArch Live 0.7 release

As I interpret your posting of ....find iso... it seems that your definition of iso is not the same as mine.  Your post indicates that the iso is mounted in the created folder such that the various files are accessed with ....find iso...

As is illustrated in my post, the iso created folder contains the downloaded iso for 0.7...not an installed with DD iso.

The term iso is being used for more than one program/device name. 

To me, iso means a downloaded program ready to be installed.

In this case, I would expect the iso to be generated with the script would replace the downloaded iso with a newly generated iso to be installed with dd.

Since the ...find iso... result indicates that my approach is not correct, please advise as to what is required in the created folder named .....iso....


Prediction...This year will be a very odd year!
Hard work does not kill people but why risk it: Charlie Mccarthy
A man is not complete until he is married..then..he is finished.
When ALL is lost, what can be found? Even bytes get lonely for a little bit!     X-ray confirms Iam spineless!

Offline

#49 2011-04-10 19:45:56

lilsirecho
Veteran
Registered: 2003-10-24
Posts: 5,000

Re: [LiveCD/USB] CTKArch Live 0.7 release

Proceeded to copy the dd'ed iso existing in my flash drive to the iso created folder except for the empty addons folder.

The folder iso contains an addons folder with 13 addons.

Then ran ...find iso.... and obtained similar results to those you posted.

Then I ran the script which ran 788mb but received a ....command not found.... for line 18: isohybrid

Since the process seems to have completed, I have no indication of where the new iso is to be found so I can install it to flash device.

I would appreciate a definition for the iso after it is dd'ed to flash drive, because it isn't the same as the definition for the downloaded iso....perhaps ......installed iso.....

The procedure I utilized to get the script to run indicates that it is the  "installed iso contents" that are required in the created iso folder.

Use of iso in several different modes is confusing.

Want to find the new iso if it exists...where?


Prediction...This year will be a very odd year!
Hard work does not kill people but why risk it: Charlie Mccarthy
A man is not complete until he is married..then..he is finished.
When ALL is lost, what can be found? Even bytes get lonely for a little bit!     X-ray confirms Iam spineless!

Offline

#50 2011-04-10 20:34:28

Calimero
Member
From: france
Registered: 2008-08-06
Posts: 45
Website

Re: [LiveCD/USB] CTKArch Live 0.7 release

You need to install syslinux to have the isohybrid command.
Then run isohybrid on your new iso. wink

The script I gave you is what I do use to make the ISO images. So the contents of he iso must be extracted in the "iso/" directory.
I wasn't sure we were okay on this point, which is why I posted the results of the find command on it.

Last edited by Calimero (2011-04-10 20:37:19)


In a world without walls and fences, who needs windows and gates ?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB