You are not logged in.

#1 2011-04-05 23:18:07

aluser
Member
Registered: 2011-01-16
Posts: 119

[SOLVED] Grub not loading kernel

Hello everyone,
I had to install windows in my machine and I had some empty 30 gigs o unoccupied space to install it to. After installing it windows obviously overwrote grub and now grub does'nt load. But that's not the problem... after reading throughout the forums mostly everyone suggested reinstalling grub from the MBR and so I did but could'nt find any guide specifically for arch so I followed the Ubuntu's guide instead (https://help.ubuntu.com/community/RecoveringUbuntuAfterInstallingWindows.) Everything went well.. no errors or nothing.

Now after its booted up all I'm getting is this Grub command line screen and it says "  Minimal BASH-like line editing is supported. For the first word, TAB
   lists possible command completions. Anywhere else TAB lists possible
   device or file completions."
I've tried to load the kernel manually but I'm getting an error in the boot process (hd0,1 is the linux partition)

sh: grub> ls

 (hd0) (hd0,4) (hd0,3) (hd0,2) (hd0,1) (fd0)
sh:grub> root (hd0,1)
sh: grub > linux /vmlinuz26
sh:grub > initrd /kernel26.img
sh:grub> boot
sh: grub > decompressing linux
. 
.
.
waiting 10 seconds for device
root device ' ' doesnt exaist. Attempting to create it.
ash: /dev/: unknown opperand
ERROR: Unable to determine major/minor nmber of root device"
you are being dropped to a recovery shell type 'exit' to try and continue

I'd really appreciate any input.

Last edited by aluser (2011-05-09 02:43:56)

Offline

#2 2011-04-06 09:57:12

ekenbrand
Member
From: Argentina
Registered: 2010-06-21
Posts: 28

Re: [SOLVED] Grub not loading kernel

Im looking at my grub menu.lst and the commands look a bit different(your using grub2) but none the less i think your missing to set the root device in the linux line. You should try something like this

root (hd0,1)
linux /vmlinuz26 root=/dev/root_device_here ro
initrd /kernel26.img

look at the commands in the cfg file

Last edited by ekenbrand (2011-04-06 10:04:01)

Offline

#3 2011-04-06 14:28:45

aluser
Member
Registered: 2011-01-16
Posts: 119

Re: [SOLVED] Grub not loading kernel

I added the root=/dev/sda3 part to the linux line and I get a something smilar to the above but this time saying its unable to determine the file system ( I used sda3 because its what I used before installing windows)
Also, here is my grub.cfg located at /media/80afa712-1bcb-4d00-833c-d3d25e59d930/grub/grub.cfg

#
# DO NOT EDIT THIS FILE
#
# It is automatically generated by grub-mkconfig using templates
# from /etc/grub.d and settings from /etc/default/grub
#

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/00_header ###
if [ -s $prefix/grubenv ]; then
  load_env
fi
set default="0"
if [ "${prev_saved_entry}" ]; then
  set saved_entry="${prev_saved_entry}"
  save_env saved_entry
  set prev_saved_entry=
  save_env prev_saved_entry
  set boot_once=true
fi

function savedefault {
  if [ -z "${boot_once}" ]; then
    saved_entry="${chosen}"
    save_env saved_entry
  fi
}

function load_video {
  insmod vbe
}

set menu_color_normal=light-blue/black
set menu_color_highlight=light-cyan/blue

insmod part_msdos
insmod ext2
set root='(hd0,msdos3)'
search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 89aa7efc-c50d-4a7f-a8c7-6f395d35b47a
if loadfont /usr/share/grub/unicode.pf2 ; then
  set gfxmode=640x480
  load_video
  insmod gfxterm
fi
terminal_output gfxterm
insmod part_msdos
insmod ext2
set root='(hd0,msdos1)'
search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 80afa712-1bcb-4d00-833c-d3d25e59d930
set locale_dir=($root)/grub/locale
set lang=en_US
insmod gettext
set timeout=5
### END /etc/grub.d/00_header ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/05_archtheme ###
set menu_color_normal=light-blue/black
set menu_color_highlight=light-cyan/blue
### END /etc/grub.d/05_archtheme ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/10_linux ###
menuentry 'Arch Linux, with Linux vmlinuz26' --class archlinux --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {
    load_video
    insmod part_msdos
    insmod ext2
    set root='(hd0,msdos1)'
    search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 80afa712-1bcb-4d00-833c-d3d25e59d930
    echo    'Loading Linux vmlinuz26 ...'
    linux    /vmlinuz26 root=/dev/disk/by-uuid/89aa7efc-c50d-4a7f-a8c7-6f395d35b47a ro video=VGA-1:1366x768@60 quiet
    echo    'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
    initrd    /kernel26.img
}
menuentry 'Arch Linux, with Linux vmlinuz26 Fallback' --class archlinux --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {
    load_video
    insmod part_msdos
    insmod ext2
    set root='(hd0,msdos1)'
    search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 80afa712-1bcb-4d00-833c-d3d25e59d930
    echo    'Loading Linux vmlinuz26 ...Loading Linux Fallback ...'
    linux    /vmlinuz26 root=/dev/disk/by-uuid/89aa7efc-c50d-4a7f-a8c7-6f395d35b47a  ro quiet
    echo    'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
    initrd    /kernel26-fallback.img
}
menuentry 'Arch Linux, with Linux vmlinuz26 Fallback (recovery mode)' --class archlinux --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {
    load_video
    insmod part_msdos
    insmod ext2
    set root='(hd0,msdos1)'
    search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 80afa712-1bcb-4d00-833c-d3d25e59d930
    echo    'Loading Linux vmlinuz26 ...Loading Linux Fallback ...'
    linux    /vmlinuz26 root=/dev/disk/by-uuid/89aa7efc-c50d-4a7f-a8c7-6f395d35b47a ro single 
    echo    'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
    initrd    /kernel26-fallback.img
}
### END /etc/grub.d/10_linux ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/20_linux_xen ###
### END /etc/grub.d/20_linux_xen ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/20_memtest86+ ###
### END /etc/grub.d/20_memtest86+ ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###
### END /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/40_custom ###
# This file provides an easy way to add custom menu entries.  Simply type the
# menu entries you want to add after this comment.  Be careful not to change
# the 'exec tail' line above.
### END /etc/grub.d/40_custom ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/41_custom ###
if [ -f  $prefix/custom.cfg ]; then
  source $prefix/custom.cfg;
fi
### END /etc/grub.d/41_custom ###

Last edited by aluser (2011-04-06 18:30:45)

Offline

#4 2011-04-06 22:16:33

jaen
Member
Registered: 2010-12-24
Posts: 21

Re: [SOLVED] Grub not loading kernel

Maybe try referring to the partitions by their UUID?
Due to partitioning that sda3 might have changed to something else.

Offline

#5 2011-04-06 23:17:10

bohoomil
Member
Registered: 2010-09-04
Posts: 2,376
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Grub not loading kernel

Are you sure about this:

set root='(hd0,msdos1)'

? Try to replace it with

'(hd0,1)'

:: Registered Linux User No. 223384

:: github
:: infinality-bundle+fonts: good looking fonts made easy

Offline

#6 2011-04-09 20:40:46

aluser
Member
Registered: 2011-01-16
Posts: 119

Re: [SOLVED] Grub not loading kernel

Turns out / was destroyed and windows was installed on top of it. Sorry for the whole missunderstanding... I accidentally the whole thing.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB