You are not logged in.

#1 2011-03-24 00:06:46

frop
Member
Registered: 2011-03-23
Posts: 3

Can't connect to my WPA AP using wpa_supplicant

Hi!

I've got a problem. I've been playing around with Archlinux trying to set up a small server using my laptop. Everything's been working fine and I've been able to get past any problems I've come across using the wonderful wiki. However, my wireless internet connection all of a sudden stopped working today. I've been messing some config files and I think I might have changed something I shouldn't. So I tried to start at square one again following the steps described in the wpa_supplicant wikipost. However, something's not working. After issuing the following command:

# wpa_supplicant -B -Dwext -i wlan0 -c /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf

I still can't get an IP using dcphcd wlan0, it just says "timed out". Output:

[ola@stashbox wpa_supplicant]$ sudo wpa_supplicant -B -Dwext -i wlan0 -c /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf -d
Initializing interface 'wlan0' conf '/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf' driver 'wext' ctrl_interface 'N/A' bridge 'N/A'
Configuration file '/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf' -> '/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf'
Reading configuration file '/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf'
ctrl_interface='DIR=/var/run/wpa_supplicant GROUP=wheel'
Priority group 0
   id=0 ssid='porncave2'
WEXT: cfg80211-based driver detected
SIOCGIWRANGE: WE(compiled)=22 WE(source)=21 enc_capa=0xf
  capabilities: key_mgmt 0xf enc 0xf flags 0x0
netlink: Operstate: linkmode=1, operstate=5
Own MAC address: 00:16:44:90:77:9a
wpa_driver_wext_set_key: alg=0 key_idx=0 set_tx=0 seq_len=0 key_len=0
wpa_driver_wext_set_key: alg=0 key_idx=1 set_tx=0 seq_len=0 key_len=0
wpa_driver_wext_set_key: alg=0 key_idx=2 set_tx=0 seq_len=0 key_len=0
wpa_driver_wext_set_key: alg=0 key_idx=3 set_tx=0 seq_len=0 key_len=0
wpa_driver_wext_set_countermeasures
RSN: flushing PMKID list in the driver
Setting scan request: 0 sec 100000 usec
WPS: UUID based on MAC address - hexdump(len=16): b5 23 79 9f cb 59 5e 92 b2 8e 10 4f f7 27 8a 30
EAPOL: SUPP_PAE entering state DISCONNECTED
EAPOL: Supplicant port status: Unauthorized
EAPOL: KEY_RX entering state NO_KEY_RECEIVE
EAPOL: SUPP_BE entering state INITIALIZE
EAP: EAP entering state DISABLED
EAPOL: Supplicant port status: Unauthorized
EAPOL: Supplicant port status: Unauthorized
Using existing control interface directory.
ctrl_interface_group=10 (from group name 'wheel')
Added interface wlan0
Daemonize..
[ola@stashbox wpa_supplicant]$ ifconfig
lo        Link encap:Local Loopback  
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0 
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)

wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:16:44:90:77:9A  
          UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)

[ola@stashbox wpa_supplicant]$ iwconfig
lo        no wireless extensions.

eth0      no wireless extensions.

wlan0     IEEE 802.11bg  ESSID:off/any  
          Mode:Managed  Access Point: Not-Associated   Tx-Power=20 dBm   
          Retry  long limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
          Power Management:off

I'd be thankful if anyone could take the time to give me a few ideas as to how to proceed.

Offline

#2 2011-03-24 01:25:01

AurosGamma
Member
From: San Cristobal,Venezuela
Registered: 2011-02-22
Posts: 132

Re: Can't connect to my WPA AP using wpa_supplicant

The process that i use every time that i want to get connected using wpa_supplicant:

# ifconfig eth0 down && ifconfig wlan0 up

    You have to shutdown eth0 connection to avoid conflicts

# wpa_passphrase ESSID "PASSWORD" > /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf

    Where ESSID is your wireless network name, and PASSWORD your router password

# wpa_supplicant -B -Dwext -i wlan0 -c /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf

    -B to run as daemon, -D driver parameter using "wext" driver.-i interface "wlan0", -c specify configuration file /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf

    For dhcp:

# dhcpcd wlan0

    For static ip (you should try this one, maybe your router has dhcp option disabled)

# ifconfig wlan0 XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX
# route add default gw XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX
# echo "nameserver XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX" > /etc/resolv.conf

note: XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX must be the numbers (obviously) corresponding to your router configuration(for IP,GW,DNS), e.g. 192.168.3.110

The first command sets your ip
the second one sets your gateway
the third command sets the primary DNS

Try your connection, this procedure always work for me (on  connections with WPA and WPA2 security protocols)

note: In your output says that wlan0 has no acces point associated, maybe a wrong router password? Try to reconfigure /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf

Last edited by AurosGamma (2011-03-24 01:29:28)

Offline

#3 2011-03-24 01:45:10

frop
Member
Registered: 2011-03-23
Posts: 3

Re: Can't connect to my WPA AP using wpa_supplicant

AurosGamma wrote:

The process that i use every time that i want to get connected using wpa_supplicant:

# ifconfig eth0 down && ifconfig wlan0 up

    You have to shutdown eth0 connection to avoid conflicts

# wpa_passphrase ESSID "PASSWORD" > /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf

    Where ESSID is your wireless network name, and PASSWORD your router password

# wpa_supplicant -B -Dwext -i wlan0 -c /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf

    -B to run as daemon, -D driver parameter using "wext" driver.-i interface "wlan0", -c specify configuration file /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf

    For dhcp:

# dhcpcd wlan0

    For static ip (you should try this one, maybe your router has dhcp option disabled)

# ifconfig wlan0 XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX
# route add default gw XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX
# echo "nameserver XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX" > /etc/resolv.conf

note: XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX must be the numbers (obviously) corresponding to your router configuration(for IP,GW,DNS), e.g. 192.168.3.110

The first command sets your ip
the second one sets your gateway
the third command sets the primary DNS

Try your connection, this procedure always work for me (on  connections with WPA and WPA2 security protocols)

note: In your output says that wlan0 has no acces point associated, maybe a wrong router password? Try to reconfigure /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf

Thank you! Your post along with some tinkering made everything work the way they should smile

Offline

#4 2011-03-24 01:52:22

AurosGamma
Member
From: San Cristobal,Venezuela
Registered: 2011-02-22
Posts: 132

Re: Can't connect to my WPA AP using wpa_supplicant

Great! Im glad to help. Please mark the post as "[SOLVED]"

Offline

#5 2011-04-15 14:15:12

frop
Member
Registered: 2011-03-23
Posts: 3

Re: Can't connect to my WPA AP using wpa_supplicant

Thought I had fixed it but apparently I hadn't. I still can't find my router on the AP list. 'iwlist wlan0 scan' finds a number of different AP's but not mine. However, when I tried installing ubuntu, it had no problem finding the AP, neither does the computer I'm writing this from. However, when I removed the WPA encryption it appeared on a scan but then disappeared again. It seems to appear at random sometimes. When I scan, I can see other networks with WPA encryptions, just not mine.

I'd be thankful if anyone could give me some pointers as to how to proceed!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB