You are not logged in.

#1 2011-05-02 21:48:08

markz79
Member
Registered: 2009-05-17
Posts: 65

[SOLVED]gnome-power-manager 3.0.0-1 resume from suspend

After the update to Gnome 3 my laptop freezes when coming out of suspend mode. The desktop graphics are corrupted and I usually need to do a hard reboot. Sometimes I'm able to do Alt+F2 and type "r". The only failures I see in the logs are included below. Otherwise Gnome 3 has been running fine. How can I resolve this?

pm-powersave.log
===========
/usr/lib/pm-utils/power.d/sched-powersave false: success.
Running hook /usr/lib/pm-utils/power.d/wireless false:
Turning powersave for wlan0 off...Error for wireless request "Set Power Management" (8B2C) :
    SET failed on device wlan0 ; Operation not supported.
Failed.

pm-suspend.log
=========
Running hook /etc/pm/sleep.d/90alsa resume suspend:
ALSA lib pulse.c:229:(pulse_connect) PulseAudio: Unable to connect: Connection refused

aplay: main:660: audio open error: Connection refused

Last edited by markz79 (2011-06-15 15:08:57)

Offline

#2 2011-05-03 14:03:35

jib2
Member
From: Paris, France
Registered: 2009-08-13
Posts: 84

Re: [SOLVED]gnome-power-manager 3.0.0-1 resume from suspend

Same freeze with nvidia driver (with Nouveau, computer resumes correctly from suspend but workspace switching is very slow).

Offline

#3 2011-05-03 15:51:52

markz79
Member
Registered: 2009-05-17
Posts: 65

Re: [SOLVED]gnome-power-manager 3.0.0-1 resume from suspend

Downgrading to gnome-power-manager-2.32.0-2 may have resolved the issue. I am still testing.

I use the nvidia driver.

Offline

#4 2011-05-03 16:16:25

jib2
Member
From: Paris, France
Registered: 2009-08-13
Posts: 84

Re: [SOLVED]gnome-power-manager 3.0.0-1 resume from suspend

I don't use gnome-power-manager, so it shouldn't be the problem.

Offline

#5 2011-05-03 17:58:30

markz79
Member
Registered: 2009-05-17
Posts: 65

Re: [SOLVED]gnome-power-manager 3.0.0-1 resume from suspend

With the g-p-m downgrade I don't have any issues, or at least haven't yet. I've seen a few posts in other forums regarding this or a similar issue but no resolution.

@jib2: Did your problem surface after upgrading to Gnome 3?

My latest update to nvidia:
[2011-04-20 17:57] upgraded nvidia (270.41.03-1 -> 270.41.06-1)

I didn't have any problems with the nvidia drivers while using Gnome 2.

Offline

#6 2011-05-03 21:22:16

crabmarkjellozest
Member
Registered: 2010-07-09
Posts: 20

Re: [SOLVED]gnome-power-manager 3.0.0-1 resume from suspend

I have this problem, too, but it occurs when using gnome-power-manager or just using pm-suspend from a console. This is a fresh install and I'm using Nvidia drivers.

Last edited by crabmarkjellozest (2011-05-03 21:43:14)

Offline

#7 2011-05-04 05:51:49

jib2
Member
From: Paris, France
Registered: 2009-08-13
Posts: 84

Re: [SOLVED]gnome-power-manager 3.0.0-1 resume from suspend

@markz79: yes, the problem started with gnome3 upgrade.
My computer is a desktop, so i never used gnome-power-management.

When resuming from suspend, i get the unlock screen and i enter my password; then, when clicking on 'unlock', the display gets corrupted and the computer freezes. No log.
This problem doesn't occur with Nouveau driver.

Last edited by jib2 (2011-05-04 05:53:42)

Offline

#8 2011-05-04 12:54:29

hooch
Member
Registered: 2010-12-15
Posts: 21

Re: [SOLVED]gnome-power-manager 3.0.0-1 resume from suspend

Same problem here.

I installed Gnome3 on a completely new system (thinkpad t61p) yesterday.  I use the nvidia video driver, which worked without any xorg.conf file. Everything works fine beside suspend and activating another monitor via nvidia-settings.

Linux thinkpad 2.6.38-ARCH (64bit), Quadro FX 570M/PCI/SSE2, nvidia 270.41.06-1, gnome-power-manager 3.0.0-1


edit: just realized that it's also not possible to switch again back from the console (strg+alt+f1) to gnome3 (strg+alt+f7).

Last edited by hooch (2011-05-04 15:37:07)

Offline

#9 2011-05-05 03:21:38

markz79
Member
Registered: 2009-05-17
Posts: 65

Re: [SOLVED]gnome-power-manager 3.0.0-1 resume from suspend

I went back to the latest g-p-m and the problem persists. I was hoping upower 0.9.10-1 or kernel 2.6.38.5-1 might solve the issue. The display still goes corrupt after I enter a password to unlock the computer. Interestingly, I've been able to do "Alt+F2, r" to restart gnome-shell and within a few seconds the display corrects itself.

Offline

#10 2011-05-05 17:59:53

Fingel
Member
Registered: 2009-02-28
Posts: 84

Re: [SOLVED]gnome-power-manager 3.0.0-1 resume from suspend

I am having the same issue. I've pretty much resigned to completely shutting off my laptop whenever I need to close and move it.
Is there an upstream bug somewhere where we can post comments?

Offline

#11 2011-05-05 18:44:12

jib2
Member
From: Paris, France
Registered: 2009-08-13
Posts: 84

Re: [SOLVED]gnome-power-manager 3.0.0-1 resume from suspend

There is a thread in Nvidia forum   http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=161990 where you may post comments.
No response from nv people so far...

Offline

#12 2011-05-05 19:22:01

proxima_centauri
Member
From: Nova Scotia, Canada
Registered: 2008-07-17
Posts: 117
Website

Re: [SOLVED]gnome-power-manager 3.0.0-1 resume from suspend

hooch wrote:

Linux thinkpad 2.6.38-ARCH (64bit), Quadro FX 570M/PCI/SSE2, nvidia 270.41.06-1, gnome-power-manager 3.0.0-1
edit: just realized that it's also not possible to switch again back from the console (strg+alt+f1) to gnome3 (strg+alt+f7).

Exact same rig here -> same issues with suspend and switching consoles.


Thinkpad T61p - 15.4' WSXGA TFT - 2.5Ghz Intel Core2 Duo T9300 - 2X2GB Kingston RAM - 160GB 7200RPM - NVIDIA Quadro FX 570m - Intel 4965AGN

Offline

#13 2011-05-06 00:47:08

cell
Member
Registered: 2007-10-23
Posts: 96

Re: [SOLVED]gnome-power-manager 3.0.0-1 resume from suspend

hey dolinux made it to the arch forum hah...
https://bugzilla.gnome.org/show_bug.cgi?id=647355 - this was the bug that i could not find again.
I am able to switch between tty ok btw.

Last edited by cell (2011-05-06 00:47:55)

Offline

#14 2011-05-10 22:23:10

bluefalcon
Member
Registered: 2011-05-10
Posts: 12

Re: [SOLVED]gnome-power-manager 3.0.0-1 resume from suspend

Well, It looks like they have closed the bug.  It seems the message from gnome is to switch to the slower more power hungry nouveau driver.  I for one am going back to xfce.

Last edited by bluefalcon (2011-05-10 22:23:46)

Offline

#15 2011-05-11 09:47:00

cell
Member
Registered: 2007-10-23
Posts: 96

Re: [SOLVED]gnome-power-manager 3.0.0-1 resume from suspend

I suspend once or twice a day and recently quite a lot because of some suspend issues and I have yet to experience a hard lock. But then this is with a (very standard I suppose) gtx260. I am not a graphics guy either but if people are getting hard locks then my guess would be the driver. It is annoying but even if they could I can't blame them for not working around nvidia. Anyway this is a opportunity to rage about nvidia, sweet. Also flash sucks.

ps
I hear a lot of good things about xfce these days. smile

Offline

#16 2011-05-11 13:54:49

markz79
Member
Registered: 2009-05-17
Posts: 65

Re: [SOLVED]gnome-power-manager 3.0.0-1 resume from suspend

I should have mentioned my laptop is a Dell XPS M1530 with a nVidia GeForce 8600M graphics card. On several desktops with nVidia cards I do not have this problem. I am going to turn off lock after suspend to see if that makes a difference.

lspci | grep nVidia:
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation G84 [GeForce 8600M GT] (rev a1)

Offline

#17 2011-05-12 13:27:18

Koven
Member
Registered: 2006-06-13
Posts: 151

Re: [SOLVED]gnome-power-manager 3.0.0-1 resume from suspend

Same problem here, the only workaround is ALT+F2 and r. Not always works. My graphic card is:

koven@koven:~$ lspci | grep -i nvidia
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation G98M [Quadro NVS 160M] (rev a1)

Mu driver nvidia version is

Name           : nvidia
Version        : 270.41.06-1
URL            : http://www.nvidia.com/
Licenses       : custom
Groups         : None
Provides       : None
Depends On     : kernel26>=2.6.38  kernel26<2.6.39  nvidia-utils=270.41.06
Optional Deps  : None
Required By    : None
Conflicts With : nvidia-96xx  nvidia-173xx
Replaces       : None
Installed Size : 3944.00 K
Packager       : Ionut Biru <ibiru@archlinux.org>
Architecture   : x86_64
Build Date     : Wed 20 Apr 2011 01:11:09 PM COT
Install Date   : Sun 01 May 2011 08:01:37 PM COT
Install Reason : Explicitly installed
Install Script : Yes
Description    : NVIDIA drivers for kernel26.

I see nouveau driver will kill my battery so I think I'll not suspend for a while. Let's wait until this issue  be resolved.

BR

Last edited by Koven (2011-05-12 13:37:10)

Offline

#18 2011-05-12 20:49:54

bluefalcon
Member
Registered: 2011-05-10
Posts: 12

Re: [SOLVED]gnome-power-manager 3.0.0-1 resume from suspend

I am running a Macbook pro an 8600M GT

$ lspci | grep nVidia
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation G84 [GeForce 8600M GT] (rev a1)

Last edited by bluefalcon (2011-05-12 20:52:02)

Offline

#19 2011-05-13 01:42:42

markz79
Member
Registered: 2009-05-17
Posts: 65

Re: [SOLVED]gnome-power-manager 3.0.0-1 resume from suspend

So far no issues after I turned off lock after suspend. Anyone else willing to give this a try? If we can narrow the problem the Gnome (or nVidia) developers will be more likely to respond.

To turn off lock-suspend: run "dconf-editor", and set org.gnome.power-manager.lock-suspend to false (unchecked). I also have "lock-use-screensaver" off.

Offline

#20 2011-05-13 03:35:53

bluefalcon
Member
Registered: 2011-05-10
Posts: 12

Re: [SOLVED]gnome-power-manager 3.0.0-1 resume from suspend

setting org.gnome.power-manager.lock-suspend to false seems to have worked for me as well.  I was able to suspend and resume with no issues.

Offline

#21 2011-05-14 03:04:23

markz79
Member
Registered: 2009-05-17
Posts: 65

Re: [SOLVED]gnome-power-manager 3.0.0-1 resume from suspend

The problem remains for me. After several successful resumes I thought turning off lock-suspend resolved it. It does seem like the problem occurs less frequently, though.

Offline

#22 2011-05-14 16:43:09

bluefalcon
Member
Registered: 2011-05-10
Posts: 12

Re: [SOLVED]gnome-power-manager 3.0.0-1 resume from suspend

Yeah, I have seen it a few more times as well.  It seems to only happen when I am using my external monitor configured with twinview.

Offline

#23 2011-05-15 14:50:06

cell
Member
Registered: 2007-10-23
Posts: 96

Re: [SOLVED]gnome-power-manager 3.0.0-1 resume from suspend

Just posting [1] as reference. There seems to be some consensus about this. So it is a waiting game I guess.
[1]https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=694917

Offline

#24 2011-05-15 20:49:35

markz79
Member
Registered: 2009-05-17
Posts: 65

Re: [SOLVED]gnome-power-manager 3.0.0-1 resume from suspend

So distros and GNOME write it off as an nVidia bug, and nVidia thinks it's a GNOME bug or doesn't care. Downgrading g-p-m or GNOME fixes the problem, which indicates that the GNOME folks need to be working with nVidia to resolve this. Unfortunately, this is unlikely to be a priority.

Offline

#25 2011-05-18 10:43:59

moystard
Member
Registered: 2011-05-18
Posts: 2

Re: [SOLVED]gnome-power-manager 3.0.0-1 resume from suspend

I am having the exact same problem. Thank you for the tip for disabling the lock after suspend; I hope it will make a difference because I am tired of rebooting my PC every time I suspend it.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB