You are not logged in.

#2976 2011-05-12 18:06:24

k_ibou
Member
From: Costa Rica
Registered: 2009-06-09
Posts: 101

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

@Unia

Everything looks good for me and I did it like this, after 3 step I reboot, once I login the system I run amdccle and in the information page it show me the last version of catalyst.

[edit] sorry, I didn `t see that already answer you tongue

Last edited by k_ibou (2011-05-12 18:08:29)

Offline

#2977 2011-05-12 18:53:38

Unia
Member
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2010-03-30
Posts: 2,474
Website

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

Thanks guys! I'll update once I'm done with my homework!


If you can't sit by a cozy fire with your code in hand enjoying its simplicity and clarity, it needs more work. --Carlos Torres

Offline

#2978 2011-05-12 20:59:58

Cdh
Member
Registered: 2009-02-03
Posts: 1,098

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

Unia wrote:

This might be a stupid question, but I would just like to be sure on how to upgrade both Catalyst and the kernel. Is it just these steps according to the Wiki?

1. Install the new Catalyst - I'd do this with my AUR wrapper yaourt by running yaourt -Syu --aur

The catalyst repository is equally good.

2. Reboot into TTY/CLI or kill X
3. Run sudo rm /etc/ati/amdpcsdb
4. Reboot or start X again

Yes. I personally delete the whole /etc/ati just to make REALLY sure. Then I reinstall catalyst-utils.

5. Then set up amdcccle - how do I set up amdcccle? By running aticonfig --initial?

aticonfig --initial creates a /etc/X11/xorg.conf. You only have to do this once.

You don't need to set up anything with amdcccle. But your previous settings will be gone of course...

6. Profit?

Hm... I am not sure I really profited from updating fglrx yet.


I still get crap like

CRT1 connected 1400x1050+1600+12 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 433mm x 271mm
   1400x1050      60.0*+
   1680x1050      60.0 +
   1280x1024      75.0     60.0  
   1440x900       60.0  
   1280x960       75.0     60.0  
   1280x800       75.0     60.0  
   1152x864       60.0     75.0  
   1280x768       75.0     60.0  
   1280x720       75.0     60.0  
   1024x768       75.0     70.1     60.0  
   1024x600       75.0     70.1     60.0  
   800x600        72.2     75.0     60.3  
   800x480        72.2     75.0     60.3  
   640x480        75.0     72.8     67.0     59.9  
   640x350        60.0     70.1  

I would like to use a second monitor on my laptop but this is a major blocker:
I have to restart X just to get the resolutions higher than 1440x900 recognized and even then it fucks up xrandr by providing two preferred resolutions.
This is an actual output of a beamer. If the resolution is low like 1024x768, only one X restart is needed, but if I need a high resolution it only gets recognized after the first X restart and I need to restart X again.
This of course kills any X application I am working with. And therefore I don't do it. It's sad because I have tested the Open Source driver and I know that it works with it flawless.
Now with fglrx even video output is broken. For example the cheese video output is above all other windows. Working with kdenlive is NOT funny.

But unfortunately the Open Source driver still has other issues with the hd 6550. Power Saving still isn't as good as fglrx' and I am randomly left with an X server that consumes 100% CPU time on one core with no apparent reason.


฿ 18PRsqbZCrwPUrVnJe1BZvza7bwSDbpxZz

Offline

#2979 2011-05-12 23:51:06

CPUnltd
Member
From: Milwaukee, WI
Registered: 2009-12-05
Posts: 470
Website

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

I get a horrible chewed up looking screen when I exit out of fullscreen for XBMC or Regnum-Online... I posted about it in AUR (if I recall) and was told it's likely an XBMC issue, but having got a similar garbled mess of a desktop after closing Regnum, I am sure it's a catalyst thing... have not yet tried the FOSS drivers to test for sure, but am likely to do so soon...


Help grow the dev population... have your tech trained and certified!

Offline

#2980 2011-05-13 16:04:38

Unia
Member
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2010-03-30
Posts: 2,474
Website

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

Thanks guys, just updated to 11.5 and all's fine!

Cdh wrote:

The catalyst repository is equally good.

Is there any difference between the package in the AUR and the package in the repo? Does the repo has any downsides to it?


If you can't sit by a cozy fire with your code in hand enjoying its simplicity and clarity, it needs more work. --Carlos Torres

Offline

#2981 2011-05-13 18:03:01

Vi0L0
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2009-06-24
Posts: 1,319
Website

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

I almost figured out this whole powerXpress support thing.
I partially based on SUSE's ideas and scripts.
Instead of changing aticonfig binary, which is complicated thing now in 11.5, i just created 2 scripts:
- /usr/lib(64)/switchlibGL
- /usr/lib(64)/switchlibglx
which are needed by aticonfig to work. Well maybe /usr/lib64 isn't the best idea, but surelly it's working, and with it i will save much time in debbuging/editing aticonfig which seems to change with every new catalyst release.

I've pulled catalyst's
- libGL.so into /usr/X11R6/lib
- libglx.so into /usr/lib/xorg/modules/updates/extensions
so it won't conflict with libgl package libraries.

It seems to work fine untill i will install libgl smile... I wrote a post about my problem here: How to force using /usr/X11R6/lib in 1st place over /usr/lib ?

There you will find more informations, if you've got any idea - write it there. I really need some help with it. As soon as it will be figured out powerXpress should work just like AMD wanted it to work.



@Unia:
no differences except that with repo you will save your time in downloading (repo packages are 2,5x smaller than ati-drivers) and building packages.

Offline

#2982 2011-05-13 22:26:25

k_ibou
Member
From: Costa Rica
Registered: 2009-06-09
Posts: 101

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

@Vi0L0:

Hi smile I did some test.

1- smplayer config it's like wiki.
I edit mplayer. conf  because at the beginning I don't want smplayer but at the end I install it.

# Write your default config options here!
vo=vaapi:gl
va=vaapi

2- processes that I think are important, all of them test it with/without Tear Free option and they where quite equal.

smplayer 1%
mplayer   3%
kwin          1%

3- sometimes when I'm playing a video and change desktop or even without it, sound cuts or the video get stuck just for a moment.

4- Browser (Opera) still fell like slow when open a new tab or just scroll down/up. I don't know how to describe it sad
I will try firefox(I leave it for opera sad) maybe it's opera...

I'll update later smile thanks!!!!

[edit] Almost forgot, glxinfo after playing a video don't make any change.

wich do I choose? xv or xv (0 - ATI Radeon AVIVO Video)

Last edited by k_ibou (2011-05-13 22:30:54)

Offline

#2983 2011-05-14 09:00:32

Izuil
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2006-10-07
Posts: 162

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

I'm using catalyst-hook from AUR  and with the update to 11.5 I'm getting horrible cursor lag in the lower right corner.

Any ideas?

PS: Created this thread before I found this one. https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=118952

Offline

#2984 2011-05-15 10:22:14

Fififox
Member
From: France
Registered: 2010-11-30
Posts: 17

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

Hi !

I'm getting the exact same problem as Izuil, using the catalyst package in the repo.
I noticed that when I hover the lower right corner (where I have KDE's system tray), the whole screen freezes for around 1 or 2 seconds, again and again till the cursor finally escapes that area (I can only move 3 pixels at a time because of the freeze).
It seems that the whole screen freezes because it also happens when viewing some video/animation and those animations stop, so it's not just some "cursor lag".

Thanks for any help.

Offline

#2985 2011-05-15 10:26:10

Gillian00
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2010-05-25
Posts: 100

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

Hi,

I have the same problem with kde.  And I have another which is quite annoying:  If I watch a movie in fullscreen with vlc, the movie have lags.  If I disable fullscreen, I have smooth movies (even with 1080p mkv)

Any ideas ?


thank you


Dell Studio XPS 1647 | i5-560m | 4go ddr3 | ATI radeon mobility 4670HD 1go gddr3 | Seagate Momentus 7200.4 G-force | wled 1600x900

Offline

#2986 2011-05-15 11:06:30

Fififox
Member
From: France
Registered: 2010-11-30
Posts: 17

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

Just to add some details, my system tray is configured to stay under other windows, but even when there's another window over it (hiding the tray), hovering the area still freezes the screen.

Last edited by Fififox (2011-05-15 11:06:58)

Offline

#2987 2011-05-15 13:02:54

snack
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2009-01-13
Posts: 673

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

Gillian00 wrote:

Hi,

I have the same problem with kde.  And I have another which is quite annoying:  If I watch a movie in fullscreen with vlc, the movie have lags.  If I disable fullscreen, I have smooth movies (even with 1080p mkv)

Any ideas ?


thank you

I have the same issue with VLC. Try disabling  tear-free desktop from amdcccle, it works for me.

Offline

#2988 2011-05-15 13:04:42

Gillian00
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2010-05-25
Posts: 100

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

argh . . .it works !  but tear free is coool  :-(


Dell Studio XPS 1647 | i5-560m | 4go ddr3 | ATI radeon mobility 4670HD 1go gddr3 | Seagate Momentus 7200.4 G-force | wled 1600x900

Offline

#2989 2011-05-15 17:48:00

Izuil
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2006-10-07
Posts: 162

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

Got the mouselag to go away after installing another screen and running these in dual-head mode with xinerama enabled.
Also I got the same videolag as Gillian00 but that went away after disabling vsync.
Other than that I had a really strange error with running stuff in full screen but that went away after adding the following to xorg.conf:

Section "Extensions"
    Option "Composite" "Disable"
EndSection

Try "aticonfig --xinerama=on" reboot and see if that helps with the mouselag.

EDIT: Okay, I gave up on catalyst. That shitty driver had either real bad desktop performance, artifacts or both.

I'm back to the radeon driver which works like a charm.

Last edited by Izuil (2011-05-15 21:54:46)

Offline

#2990 2011-05-15 22:43:12

royallthefourth
Member
From: North Carolina
Registered: 2011-02-26
Posts: 16
Website

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

Fififox wrote:

Just to add some details, my system tray is configured to stay under other windows, but even when there's another window over it (hiding the tray), hovering the area still freezes the screen.

It seems like it's completely independent of the stuff on your screen. I have the same issue after trying Gnome, KDE, and Xfce and with GDM, KDM, and SLiM. Hopefully there will be a new release that fixes it at the end of the month. I guess I could switch to the open source driver, but I'd rather not lose my 3D graphics, you know?

Offline

#2991 2011-05-17 14:56:04

Vi0L0
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2009-06-24
Posts: 1,319
Website

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

powerXpress support (done)
catalyst-utils' PKGBUILD (+ other needed files) with pXp support is here: http://catalyst.apocalypsus.net/tarball … pxp.tar.gz
(don't forget that you also need catalyst (or daemon/hook/generator) installed to get it work, you may safely remove ati-dri and xf86-video-ati from conflicts in it's PKGBUILD. I will prepare catalyst-total with pXp support in nearest future)

typical use (as root):

aticonfig --pxl / --px-list-active-gpu
aticonfig --px-dgpu   #it will switch to Discrete GPU (AMD)
aticonfig --px-igpu   #it will switch to Integrated GPU (intel)

Both this commands will switch only libglx, so you should be able to start composited desktop (i dunno why AMD decided not to switch also libGL by default).
Anyway you need to run it, it's not only calling /usr/lib(64)/fglrx/switchglx script but also changing /etc/ati/amdpcsdb file.

If you also want to switch libGL (to be able to run opengl software) you need to run:
i686:

/usr/lib/fglrx/switchGL amd
or
/usr/lib/fglrx/switchGL intel

x86_64:

/usr/lib64/fglrx/switchGL amd
or
/usr/lib64/fglrx/switchGL intel

By default installation is switching everything to amd.


I don't know is it working since i don't have notebook with integrated intel gpu, but it should work just like AMD wanted it to work.
Feel free to test it and give a feedback (for intel support you need to instal libgl package, and probably also intel-dri and xf86-video-intel packages)


catalyst and radeon switch
It's working, it could be easier, but it's working.
You need libgl, ati-dri and xf86-video-ati packages installed (it should also work with packages from perry3d's repo).
Let say we are starting with building and installing mentioned above catalyst-utils (so catalyst is set to be default driver).
fglrx should to be added into MODULES array, otherwise radeon driver will be loaded automatically at startup (also when nomodeset or vga= is added to kernel options) and fglrx will crush if you will try to startx with /etc/X11/xorg.conf filled with fglrx (created ie. by aticonfig --initial).
/etc/X11/xorg.conf need to be present if you are trying to run aticonfig' switch.

Now... switch should be as easy as:
Step 1:

aticonfig --px-igpu
/usr/lib(64)/fglrx/switchGL intel

(don't be concerned about intel name, it will just switch libGL from catalyst one to libgl's one)

Step 2:

kill X
+
rmmod fglrx
+
modprobe radeon

Step 2 unfortunatelly causes blank screen for me sad
So my Step 2 was to:

reboot
+
rmmod fglrx #(remember it's in MODULES so i think it shoul be removed)
+
modprobe radeon
+
rm /etc/X11/xorg.conf #(the one with fglrx inside)
+
start X

it's working. I don't have any other xorg.conf with radeon inside, like /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/20-radeon.conf, although it was switched to radeon succesfully.
I'm writing this from GNOME3/gnome-shell and i'm still surprised of how fast it is on radeon.
I'm in UMS mode, but since i needed to reboot - i can also run it in KMS.
BTW: ofcourse if you wan't to use radeon without rmmod fglrx and modprobe radeon at startup you have to remove fglrx from MODULES

TODO:
- AMD didn't think about switching lib32-libgl with lib32-catalyst-utils, but i think it shouldn't be hard to implement into switching scripts. And i will do this, but give me some time, i surelly got enought of work over this powerXpress suport and all those blank screens/reboots i had to do to make it right;
- switching xorg.conf in scripts ? i need to think about it.
Cheers! smile


Aaaah one more thing... will this powerXpress support land in main catalyst-utils package? - i'm not sure is it a good idea, cuz /usr/X11R6/lib + /usr/lib64 (on x86_64 systems) directories doesn't look good in Arch. Maybe in catalyst-total... we shall see.

Last edited by Vi0L0 (2011-05-17 15:19:21)

Offline

#2992 2011-05-17 15:21:16

kismet010
Member
Registered: 2009-09-02
Posts: 137

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

since a few months I was very annoyed with the loud fan and overheated laptop (90º). reboot to windows and all normally. i try everything.. believeme..

yesterday, while moving teamviewer's wine window with super (windows' key) and mouse (dwm's way) fan speed came slow and temperature went down. i really don't know what is this...

any clue?

hd5650 sony vpceb x86_64

Offline

#2993 2011-05-17 16:42:35

canuckkat
Member
Registered: 2009-08-28
Posts: 44

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

I keep getting this error when trying to compile catalyst:

OsVersion says: SMP=1
file /proc/kallsyms says: SMP=1
Warning:
kernel includes at /lib/modules/2.6.35-22-generic/build/include not found or incomplete
file: /lib/modules/2.6.35-22-generic/build/include/linux/autoconf.h

Warning:
kernel includes at /lib/modules/2.6.35-22-generic/build/include not found or incomplete
file: /lib/modules/2.6.35-22-generic/build/include/linux/autoconf.h

assuming default: MODVERSIONS=0
Warning:
kernel includes at /lib/modules/2.6.35-22-generic/build/include not found or incomplete
file: /lib/modules/2.6.35-22-generic/build/arch/x86/include/asm/compat.h

Did I forget to install something?

Offline

#2994 2011-05-17 17:42:05

Vi0L0
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2009-06-24
Posts: 1,319
Website

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

@canuckkat:
kernel's headers files are missing. If you got them in /usr/src/linux-2.6.35-22-generic/include - then link this dir with /lib/modules/2.6.35-22-generic/build/include.
If not - you'll have to get them (usually by changing PKGBUILD of your kernel).

Last edited by Vi0L0 (2011-05-17 18:30:53)

Offline

#2995 2011-05-18 11:26:20

sumski
Member
From: Zagreb, Croatia
Registered: 2011-04-30
Posts: 114

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

Great work, Vi0L0 !!!

Offline

#2996 2011-05-18 17:18:55

Gillian00
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2010-05-25
Posts: 100

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

Hello,

I'm using flashplugin multilib and I have very low flash applications (youtube is ok)  but with chrome apps for example, it is very low.  It's still worse with flash apps on Firefox. Does anybody has the same ? Should I use flashplugin prerelease ?  (I have 64bit machine) 

Thanks for your help


Dell Studio XPS 1647 | i5-560m | 4go ddr3 | ATI radeon mobility 4670HD 1go gddr3 | Seagate Momentus 7200.4 G-force | wled 1600x900

Offline

#2997 2011-05-18 19:04:05

canuckkat
Member
Registered: 2009-08-28
Posts: 44

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

Vi0L0 wrote:

@canuckkat:
kernel's headers files are missing. If you got them in /usr/src/linux-2.6.35-22-generic/include - then link this dir with /lib/modules/2.6.35-22-generic/build/include.
If not - you'll have to get them (usually by changing PKGBUILD of your kernel).

Why is it even trying to find the headers for the 2.6.35-22 kernel anyways? A quick pacman search shows that currently the LTS kernel is 2.6.32.40 and the current kernel is 2.6.38.6.

In addition, my kernel includes folder is /usr/src/linux-2.6.38-ARCH/includes.

$ uname -a
$ Linux aerynsun 2.6.38-ARCH #1 SMP PREEMPT Fri May 13 09:24:47 CEST 2011 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i3 CPU M 380 @ 2.53GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux

Last edited by canuckkat (2011-05-18 19:04:54)

Offline

#2998 2011-05-18 19:33:38

Vi0L0
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2009-06-24
Posts: 1,319
Website

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

canuckkat wrote:
$ uname -a
$ Linux aerynsun 2.6.38-ARCH #1 SMP PREEMPT Fri May 13 09:24:47 CEST 2011 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i3 CPU M 380 @ 2.53GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux

Why is it even trying to find the headers for the 2.6.35-22 kernel anyways?

Good question. Actually catalyst is always using `uname -r` to define kernel version, look at it's PKGBUILD:

 _kernver=`uname -r`
 make -C /lib/modules/${_kernver}/build SUBDIRS="`pwd`" ARCH=${BUILDARCH} \

So it shouldn't be catalyst' fault.
Maybe check your config (/etc/makepkg.conf, yaourt config file if you are using it or something) or maybe there's some symlink(?).
Edit: ah, your failure is happening when running ati_make.sh script file which is imported into PKGBUILD... maybe the problem is here, but i haven't seen anything like it, you are 1st person with such problem... umm... maybe try to hardcode _kernver in PKGBUILD, like
_kernver=2.6.38-ARCH
Or maybe try to add
_kernver=`uname -r`
above function _ati_check() in ati_make.sh file...
If that won't help then i don't know - maybe use [catalyst] repo wink


Gillian00 wrote:

Hello,

I'm using flashplugin multilib and I have very low flash applications (youtube is ok)  but with chrome apps for example, it is very low.  It's still worse with flash apps on Firefox. Does anybody has the same ? Should I use flashplugin prerelease ?  (I have 64bit machine) 

Thanks for your help

Can you give me some url to such lagging app so i could test it?
I'm using flashplugin-prerelease.
Yeah, it's kinda oldy and got some security bugs, but since i'm chromium user it shouldn't be that bad (or that unsafe) because of chromium's sandbox.
flashplugin from [multilib] sux because of nspluginwrapper, although i don't know should it lag that much.

Last edited by Vi0L0 (2011-05-18 20:40:10)

Offline

#2999 2011-05-18 22:49:52

Gillian00
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2010-05-25
Posts: 100

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

hum...  actually...  I have tested with  "angry birds" only.  The now apps from web store  in chromium ...   big_smile    but  wow, lots of  lags !


Dell Studio XPS 1647 | i5-560m | 4go ddr3 | ATI radeon mobility 4670HD 1go gddr3 | Seagate Momentus 7200.4 G-force | wled 1600x900

Offline

#3000 2011-05-19 01:11:49

Vi0L0
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2009-06-24
Posts: 1,319
Website

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

Gillian00 wrote:

hum...  actually...  I have tested with  "angry birds" only.  The now apps from web store  in chromium ...   big_smile    but  wow, lots of  lags !

You mean https://chrome.google.com/webstore/deta … bgmgeghloj ?
with chromium from [extra] 11.0.696.68 - it's lagging, especially when pulling in the bird
with chromium-dev from AUR 12.0.742.53 - it's perfect smile

Thanks for this game, it's kinda fun wink

Edit: ah, i almost forgot - it's not in flash, it's in html5.

BTW maybe you wanna this chromium-dev that i've built? You will save about 30min of compilation (on 4 cores), if yes - i will upload it in about 9-10 hours (i gotta sleep right now).


Edit: ok, here it is: http://catalyst.apocalypsus.net/other_p … pkg.tar.xz
If it's still lagging then maybe try to turn GPU Accelerated Canvas 2D on/off in about:flags tab

Last edited by Vi0L0 (2011-05-19 12:18:25)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB