You are not logged in.

#1 2005-06-16 02:19:22

Todd_Z
Member
From: MA, USA
Registered: 2005-01-31
Posts: 35
Website

[SOLVED] The root run-time file

Where do i put the command dhcpcd so that whenever I boot archlinux, the internet will be up and running without me typing in the command for it?

Offline

#2 2005-06-16 02:22:26

T-Dawg
Forum Fellow
From: Wilmington, NC
Registered: 2005-01-29
Posts: 2,734

Re: [SOLVED] The root run-time file

in DAEMONS() array in /etc/rc.conf...except its dhcpd.

Offline

#3 2005-06-16 02:29:19

Todd_Z
Member
From: MA, USA
Registered: 2005-01-31
Posts: 35
Website

Re: [SOLVED] The root run-time file

What if its a string command that needs to be inputted as the root?

Offline

#4 2005-06-16 02:31:33

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: [SOLVED] The root run-time file

wow.. you really need to read some of the docs man:
http://wiki2.archlinux.org/

Offline

#5 2005-06-18 17:50:33

Todd_Z
Member
From: MA, USA
Registered: 2005-01-31
Posts: 35
Website

Re: [SOLVED] The root run-time file

dhcpd <- is in my list of daemons, but the internet still needs a dhcpcd call in root after i go into my user account to start working... any ideas?

Offline

#6 2005-06-18 17:54:57

Cerebral
Forum Fellow
From: Waterloo, ON, CA
Registered: 2005-04-08
Posts: 3,108
Website

Re: [SOLVED] The root run-time file

Uh... I used to simply have

lo="lo 127.0.0.1"
eth0="dhcp"
INTERFACES=(lo eth0)

in my rc.conf file. (change to suit your 'net device)

Offline

#7 2005-06-18 18:01:39

Karma XXL
Member
From: Budapest, Hungary
Registered: 2005-06-13
Posts: 91

Re: [SOLVED] The root run-time file

Todd_Z wrote:

dhcpd <- is in my list of daemons, but the internet still needs a dhcpcd call in root after i go into my user account to start working... any ideas?

Set up your interface /etc/rc.conf to use DHCP automatically, so the network script will run dhcpcd for you:

My example:

#
# Interfaces to start at boot-up (in this order)
# Declare each interface then list in INTERFACES
#   (prefix an interface in INTERFACES with a ! to disable it)
#
# Note: to use DHCP, set your interface to be "dhcp" (eth0="dhcp")
#
lo="lo 127.0.0.1"
eth0="dhcp"
INTERFACES=(lo eth0)


If it doesn't work for some reason, you can add your command to /etc/rc.local, which executes the commands in it as the last step of the boot-up.

EDIT: Too slow I am  lol


Ailen:
Kernel: Linux 2.6.14-rc4-ck1 #1 PREEMPT
Built on: Mon Oct 17 14:51:37 CEST 2005
Hardware: Mobile AMD Sempron(tm) Processor 2800+ AuthenticAMD
WM: E17 snapshot 20051016

Offline

#8 2005-06-18 19:25:37

Todd_Z
Member
From: MA, USA
Registered: 2005-01-31
Posts: 35
Website

Re: [SOLVED] The root run-time file

Thanks guys, i went with the rc.local method

Offline

#9 2005-06-18 22:07:58

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: [SOLVED] The root run-time file

Todd_Z wrote:

Thanks guys, i went with the rc.local method

ummm rc.local isn't "The Arch Way"... it's rather simple actually...

in rc.conf set:

eth0="dhcp"
INTERFACES=(lo eth0)
...
DAEMONS=(... network ...)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB