You are not logged in.

#1 2005-06-19 22:55:06

wenter
Member
Registered: 2005-06-17
Posts: 10

how i can recover my Arch? (solved - see last post)

Hi, everybody. Some time ago I installed Arch 0.7, added some programs and etc. Then hard drive was moved to another computer with almost similar configuration. I tried to start my linux and I received a mistake and boot process stoped. Here is a screenshot of the mistake. screen.jpgI don't know what to do, to have my Arch back. Please help.

Offline

#2 2005-06-20 00:33:44

Kern
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2005-02-09
Posts: 460

Re: how i can recover my Arch? (solved - see last post)

check your IDE cable for a start.
seen similar to this - was a bad cable.

Offline

#3 2005-06-20 00:40:47

iphitus
Forum Fellow
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2004-10-09
Posts: 4,927

Re: how i can recover my Arch? (solved - see last post)

I've also seen this, it was a hard drive failure.

if the cable isnt loose, then that may well be what's happened.

Sorry dude.

Offline

#4 2005-06-20 01:20:06

iBertus
Member
From: Greenville, NC
Registered: 2004-11-04
Posts: 2,228

Re: how i can recover my Arch? (solved - see last post)

try booting from a live-cd and see what happens. don't suppose you have an extra hard drive sitting around?

Offline

#5 2005-06-20 01:23:20

ozar
Member
From: USA
Registered: 2005-02-18
Posts: 1,681

Re: how i can recover my Arch? (solved - see last post)

Before you toss the drive, it might be worth trying to turn off dma to see what happens.  Also, I wonder if one of the live distros like Knoppix would boot on it so you could look around a bit?

Just some ideas... let us know.

edit:  oops... ibertus beat me to the punch!   lol


oz

Offline

#6 2005-06-20 02:38:13

wenter
Member
Registered: 2005-06-17
Posts: 10

Re: how i can recover my Arch? (solved - see last post)

I have windows me also on this hard drive. It boots ok. Knoppix starts and gives me access to hard drive. I just want to know how I can tell Arch to reconfigure system hardware without reinstalling all system.

Offline

#7 2005-06-20 02:58:04

iBertus
Member
From: Greenville, NC
Registered: 2004-11-04
Posts: 2,228

Re: how i can recover my Arch? (solved - see last post)

is the arch system running a custom kernel? if you switched mobos then maybe you didn't compile in the drivers for the current IDE chipset.

Offline

#8 2005-06-20 03:57:58

wenter
Member
Registered: 2005-06-17
Posts: 10

Re: how i can recover my Arch? (solved - see last post)

The kernel was installed once (default ide kernel) while installing arch. I want to tell one more time: Arch was working perfect, than HDD was pulled out and installed to other hardware. Now it is not booting up. It seems to me that it cannot recognise that hardware changed and is trying to use previous settings. What files contain this information? How to renew it? That's the question

Offline

#9 2005-06-20 04:11:47

CyberTron
Member
From: Gotland ,Sweden
Registered: 2005-03-17
Posts: 645
Website

Re: how i can recover my Arch? (solved - see last post)

well, there might be an easy way out, boot up your arch-install-cd and do /arch/setup , then just install the kernel (nothing else) 

ps. you might have to "configure harddrives" first, to choose which partition to install the kernel too...(jsut be sure not answerng any wrong questions there so that you wipe out the partition)


http://www.linuxportalen.com  -> Linux Help portal for Linux and ArchLinux (in swedish)

Dell Inspiron 8500
Kernel 2.6.14-archck1  (selfcompiled)
Enlightenment 17

Offline

#10 2005-06-20 04:45:08

wenter
Member
Registered: 2005-06-17
Posts: 10

Re: how i can recover my Arch? (solved - see last post)

thanks I'll try and write here about results

Offline

#11 2005-06-20 04:51:50

CyberTron
Member
From: Gotland ,Sweden
Registered: 2005-03-17
Posts: 645
Website

Re: how i can recover my Arch? (solved - see last post)

good luck big_smile
hope you the best


http://www.linuxportalen.com  -> Linux Help portal for Linux and ArchLinux (in swedish)

Dell Inspiron 8500
Kernel 2.6.14-archck1  (selfcompiled)
Enlightenment 17

Offline

#12 2005-06-20 05:19:23

wenter
Member
Registered: 2005-06-17
Posts: 10

Re: how i can recover my Arch? (solved - see last post)

I still have a problem:

installing packages...
kernel26: not found in sync db

Offline

#13 2005-06-20 09:39:18

iphitus
Forum Fellow
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2004-10-09
Posts: 4,927

Re: how i can recover my Arch? (solved - see last post)

Guys, CRC errors means data corruption, and data corruption most of the time, is because of a bad drive.

CRC errors arent something that can be fixed like filesystem issues, they are at a lower level than that, and are primarily caused by hardware failure or damage.

Once you see CRC errors, 99% of the time the drive is dead, on it's way out or damaged.

iphitus

Offline

#14 2005-06-20 10:48:25

vacant
Member
From: downstairs
Registered: 2004-11-05
Posts: 799

Re: how i can recover my Arch? (solved - see last post)

Take the cover off your PC
Install a new hard drive
Point a very large and fast fan at the dodgy hard drive
Try and get your data copied off

Keeping it as cool as possible may give you a better chance of reading data from it. I have one of the faulty Fuji drives which works OK in an emergency like this. Some people reckon putting the HD in a plastic bag and freezing it will allow better data recovery but it is usually a "one off" which wrecks the drive as it warms up.

Offline

#15 2005-06-20 11:08:43

CyberTron
Member
From: Gotland ,Sweden
Registered: 2005-03-17
Posts: 645
Website

Re: how i can recover my Arch? (solved - see last post)

iphitus wrote:

Guys, CRC errors means data corruption, and data corruption most of the time, is because of a bad drive.

CRC errors arent something that can be fixed like filesystem issues, they are at a lower level than that, and are primarily caused by hardware failure or damage.

Once you see CRC errors, 99% of the time the drive is dead, on it's way out or damaged.

iphitus

I tend not to agree with you on that one, i have had times when i got CRC errors when booting the kernel, running a windows scandisk/defrag, and some other random times...and the drives still workes, (in the worst cases I just needed to wipe the drive clean and reinstall)...ofcourse, sometimes it might be that the drive is damaged...but i don't think that is the case here...what I don't understand is why he doesn't just reinstall Arch , i mean, it takes like 30 minutes..total...

but hey, the ones'  that lives will see big_smile


http://www.linuxportalen.com  -> Linux Help portal for Linux and ArchLinux (in swedish)

Dell Inspiron 8500
Kernel 2.6.14-archck1  (selfcompiled)
Enlightenment 17

Offline

#16 2005-06-27 00:28:18

wenter
Member
Registered: 2005-06-17
Posts: 10

Re: how i can recover my Arch? (solved - see last post)

First I reinstalled Arch. There was no effect. So I tried to find another desigion. On other forum one guy tald me the answer. The desigion was: add to kernel parameters"ide=nodma". It's working now. Thanks for all.

Offline

#17 2005-06-27 08:49:49

CyberTron
Member
From: Gotland ,Sweden
Registered: 2005-03-17
Posts: 645
Website

Re: how i can recover my Arch? (solved - see last post)

good to see thast it finally worked for you big_smile


http://www.linuxportalen.com  -> Linux Help portal for Linux and ArchLinux (in swedish)

Dell Inspiron 8500
Kernel 2.6.14-archck1  (selfcompiled)
Enlightenment 17

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB