You are not logged in.

#1 2003-11-14 20:42:00

esel
Member
From: Norway
Registered: 2003-11-14
Posts: 20

pseudo terminal problem

Ok, so I have installed arch linux, and somehow managed to get my audigy soundcard function. To do this I had to compile a custom kernel (2.6.0-test9).
In the "make xconfig"-thing I chose support for devfs, obviously.

Now, when I log in as root, everything works real fine.
Logging in using my normal user, however, KDE gives me this  error message when trying to open Konsole:
"Unable to find suitable terminal device" or something.

My current theory is that my normal user does not have access to parts of the devfs-filesystem (perhaps pty or pts?), but I have been unable to solve this sh*t.

Please help a frustrated newbie, before I mess something up playing around as root =P

Erik

Offline

#2 2003-11-14 21:14:34

sarah31
Member
From: Middle of Canada
Registered: 2002-08-20
Posts: 2,975
Website

Re: pseudo terminal problem

the second response in this post will solve your problem


AKA uknowme

I am not your friend

Offline

#3 2003-11-14 23:00:03

contrasutra
Member
From: New Jersey
Registered: 2003-07-26
Posts: 507

Re: pseudo terminal problem

My sound blaster Audigy worked fine in 2.4.2x

Just use ALSA instead of the default OSS.


"Contrary to popular belief, penguins are not the salvation of modern technology.  Neither do they throw parties for the urban proletariat."

Offline

#4 2003-11-15 01:21:25

esel
Member
From: Norway
Registered: 2003-11-14
Posts: 20

Re: pseudo terminal problem

sarah31: Thanks for the tip, unfortunately it didn't work. Now I get a "bad line X in fstab" at startup, where X is the line I added. But that line, as I understand it, mounts devfs, but devfs has always mounted (my /dev-folder is not empty, and I do get sound even when logging in as normal user).

The exact error message given by Konsole is: "Unable to open a suitable terminal device".

Here's what I've tried so far:

Added something like this in my /etc/devfsd.conf:
REGISTER ^pts/.* PERMISSIONS root.users=rwxrwxrwx
REGISTER ^pts/.* PERMISSIONS root.users=0660
REGISTER * PERMISSIONS root.users=rwxrwxrwx

Added this in fstab:
none /dev/pts devfs defaults 0 0

Any advice would be greatly appreciated (please try to keep it relatively explicit though smile

Erik

Offline

#5 2003-11-15 01:26:45

red_over_blue
Member
Registered: 2003-07-19
Posts: 152

Re: pseudo terminal problem

Are you sure you are typing the line correctly in fstab?  Notice nothing about devfs.

none  /dev/pts  devpts  default  0  0

Don't forget to post your PKGBUILD in your thread when you announce a new package in incoming.
see HERE for details

Offline

#6 2003-11-15 02:04:34

sarah31
Member
From: Middle of Canada
Registered: 2002-08-20
Posts: 2,975
Website

Re: pseudo terminal problem

devpts not devfs


AKA uknowme

I am not your friend

Offline

#7 2003-11-15 10:15:20

esel
Member
From: Norway
Registered: 2003-11-14
Posts: 20

Re: pseudo terminal problem

Oh, sorry, what I really did write in my fstab was
"none  /dev/pts  devpts  default  0  0"

This morning it suddenly stopped working when logging in as root too! Now I'm totally confused. The root should have access to anything, right?

Offline

#8 2003-11-15 10:19:28

esel
Member
From: Norway
Registered: 2003-11-14
Posts: 20

Re: pseudo terminal problem

I guess that should really be "defaults" and not "default", but nothing works.

Offline

#9 2003-11-15 10:36:09

esel
Member
From: Norway
Registered: 2003-11-14
Posts: 20

Re: pseudo terminal problem

I enabled the "/dev/pts file system for Unix98 PTY's" option in xconfig, could this cause problems?

I've searched around, but there really don't seem to be many who has gotten the exact "Unable to open a suitable terminal device" error message, and that's really strange. I mean, my configuration, both hardware and in xconfig, should be very common, so _somebody_ out there must have gotten into the same problem I have!

Offline

#10 2003-11-15 17:10:08

sarah31
Member
From: Middle of Canada
Registered: 2002-08-20
Posts: 2,975
Website

Re: pseudo terminal problem

i got it when i tried a 2.6 kernel on my old test box. adding the line discussed here worked for me. i know lots of people who had this problem.


AKA uknowme

I am not your friend

Offline

#11 2003-11-15 20:07:33

esel
Member
From: Norway
Registered: 2003-11-14
Posts: 20

Re: pseudo terminal problem

Question: is the kernel on the Arch Linux CD (or the one you get using pacman) compiled with support for sound/alsa?

In that case, will I just need to edit my module.conf something like this post indicates (except with snd_emu10k1.o)?

http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?t=1634

Offline

#12 2003-11-16 01:34:54

sarah31
Member
From: Middle of Canada
Registered: 2002-08-20
Posts: 2,975
Website

Re: pseudo terminal problem

yes OSS is enabled in the kernel or you have the option to install alsa if you prefer. i am not sure if the OSS module is enabled in the stock kernel though. you can look at the config file in the abs directory or online via the cvs web interface.


AKA uknowme

I am not your friend

Offline

#13 2003-11-16 03:12:14

scottro
Member
From: NYC
Registered: 2002-10-11
Posts: 452
Website

Re: pseudo terminal problem

I also had the problem about pseudo terminals and adding the /dev/pts line worked for me as well.  In the kernel I enabled in pseudo file systems both devfs and devpts.

Is it possible you didn't compile it in your kernel?

Just making a stab here--as Sarah said I too know several people who had the same problem, including myself, who fixed it by adding the devpts to /etc/fstab

Scott

Offline

#14 2003-11-16 14:36:24

Guest
Guest

Re: pseudo terminal problem

Well, thank you all for bearing with me (was a little frustrated at the steep lurning curve GNU/linux has).

I'm sure I could have gotten 2.6 to work using the advice you've given me, but I think I'll just stick with the 2.4.22 kernel you get with pacman, since it should be possible to get sound working using it. I'm going to try all the good advice in the "newbie" and "kernel" section, and if I don't get it working I'll come back and ask many more stupid questions wink

#15 2003-11-16 15:13:30

esel
Member
From: Norway
Registered: 2003-11-14
Posts: 20

Re: pseudo terminal problem

Well, that was certainly alot easier than anticipated!

Great support people! Arch Linux has a new recruit!  8)

(BTW: the Guest above was me. Forgot to log in..)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB