You are not logged in.

#1 2005-06-20 19:44:42

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

Arch64 website

I've made a draft of a simpler new website for the AMD64 project. Have a look, I'm not ready to go live:

http://genesis.blogdns.net/~dusty/index.php

Syamajala: Do you want your e-mail address listed on the contact page? AIM? Your full name?

Other contributors: I don't know who else is actively working on this project, but I'd be glad to add contact information for you.

The stuff on the front page is kind of fluffy sounding. I don't know what to write. :-P

I'll probably be making a few changes and making it live this afternoon. Suggestions are welcome.

Dusty

Offline

#2 2005-06-20 21:25:22

cactus
Taco Eater
From: t͈̫̹ͨa͖͕͎̱͈ͨ͆ć̥̖̝o̫̫̼s͈̭̱̞͍̃!̰
Registered: 2004-05-25
Posts: 4,615
Website

Re: Arch64 website

Can you make the content a bit wider? Maybe 70 or 75%?
Other than that, it looks nice.


"Be conservative in what you send; be liberal in what you accept." -- Postel's Law
"tacos" -- Cactus' Law
"t̥͍͎̪̪͗a̴̻̩͈͚ͨc̠o̩̙͈ͫͅs͙͎̙͊ ͔͇̫̜t͎̳̀a̜̞̗ͩc̗͍͚o̲̯̿s̖̣̤̙͌ ̖̜̈ț̰̫͓ạ̪͖̳c̲͎͕̰̯̃̈o͉ͅs̪ͪ ̜̻̖̜͕" -- -̖͚̫̙̓-̺̠͇ͤ̃ ̜̪̜ͯZ͔̗̭̞ͪA̝͈̙͖̩L͉̠̺͓G̙̞̦͖O̳̗͍

Offline

#3 2005-06-20 22:41:57

xerxes2
Member
From: Malmoe, Sweden
Registered: 2004-04-23
Posts: 1,249
Website

Re: Arch64 website

it looks pretty nice dusty but i changed a little in the css because my eyes/brain can't take the light,

you can use it as alternate stylesheet like this:

<link rel="alternate stylesheet" href="dark.css" title="Dark" />

and the code:

html {margin:0;padding:0}

body {background:#000000;color:white;padding:0;margin:5mm}

#title {height:25mm;width:140mm;margin-right:auto;margin-left:auto;right:auto;left:auto;
        top:0;bottom:auto;background:#050566;color:#eeeeee;
        border:0.6mm solid #eeeeee}

#menu {width:90mm;background:#050566;height:auto;
       border-right:0.6mm solid #eeeeee;top:25.6mm;right:auto;left:auto;margin-right:auto;margin-left:auto;
       border-left:0.6mm solid #eeeeee;border-bottom:0.6mm solid #eeeeee;bottom:auto;background:#050566;
       }

#menu a {color:#aaaa22}

div.news {width:70mm;height:auto;background:#660505;float:left;
            top:0;right:auto;left:0;bottom:auto;color:#eeeeee;
            border:0.6mm solid #eeeeee;padding:4 4 4 4;margin:4mm}

#content {background:#050566;padding:4 4 4 4;margin-top:4mm;border:0.6mm solid #eeeeee}
#content a {color:aaaa22}

h1 {text-align:center}
h2 {text-align:center}
h3 {text-align:center}

you can alternate between them in ff like view->page style ,
good luck with the project, i don't have an amd64 cpu myself but it's fun to read about your work while i'm just beeing lazy myself,  tongue


arch + gentoo + initng + python = enlisy

Offline

#4 2005-06-20 23:30:59

syamajala
Member
From: here, there, everywhere
Registered: 2005-01-25
Posts: 604
Website

Re: Arch64 website

I think it looks good. You can put my email address (syamajala@genesis.blogdns.net). I don't know if creepy wants his info up there, you can pm him. I think its good its now. im me for info on mysql. i also thought about the stuff that i asked you to keep before and i decided that you can get rid of it. its not that important and if i really need it i can always host it on another box or create a virtual host in apache

Offline

#5 2005-06-20 23:56:12

KalephOne
Member
From: Fortaleza, Brasil
Registered: 2004-04-02
Posts: 99

Re: Arch64 website

cool - just got my 64 3000+ last week, soon i'll be start testing this baby big_smile


Kaleph
jabber: kaleph@jabber.org

Offline

#6 2005-06-21 22:20:02

syamajala
Member
From: here, there, everywhere
Registered: 2005-01-25
Posts: 604
Website

Re: Arch64 website

sorry the site went down for a couple of hours. i was trying to get lighttpd up, it worked when i first set it up but php was messed up. i recompiled it a few times tweaking stuff until it i got it working. Dusty check to make sure u can write to the dir (/home/lighttpd/html) if not i'll fix it.

Offline

#7 2005-06-21 23:49:57

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

Re: Arch64 website

I can write to the files, but I don't think I can add, remove, or move files in the /home/lighthttpd/html directory. I see its owned by the lighthttpd group; if you add me to that group, I should be able to manage it.

Dusty

Offline

#8 2005-06-22 19:03:19

syamajala
Member
From: here, there, everywhere
Registered: 2005-01-25
Posts: 604
Website

Re: Arch64 website

done. i lost power last night so if people were trying to access the site but couldn't get in you now know why. ;-) power outages are starting to become a weekly thing ;-p

Offline

#9 2005-06-23 03:12:59

sarah31
Member
From: Middle of Canada
Registered: 2002-08-20
Posts: 2,975
Website

Re: Arch64 website

404


AKA uknowme

I am not your friend

Offline

#10 2005-06-23 03:47:33

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

Offline

#11 2005-06-29 02:32:51

mmccaskill
Member
From: NC
Registered: 2005-02-21
Posts: 163

Re: Arch64 website

Per Dusty's instructions to make this thread the current AMD64:
1.) The NVIDIA driver builds somewhat. It complains that there already exists symlinks/libraries when compiling the 32-bit GLX stuff.

2.) X errors saying that it cannot load libGLcore.so.1while loading GLX extension. Tried putting various symlinks but cannot find the correct one.

3.) Fluxbox-devel doesn't seem to be built with XFT enabled. I tried compiling it and it can't seem to link to it but I obviously have it installed.

Could not link with Xft. Install Xft if you want support for it.

EDIT: Fixed by adding /usrX11R6/lib64/pkgconfig to PKG_CONFIG_PATH

Offline

#12 2005-06-29 11:51:48

syamajala
Member
From: here, there, everywhere
Registered: 2005-01-25
Posts: 604
Website

Re: Arch64 website

/usr/X11R6/lib64/pkgconfig is already supposed to be in the PKG_CONFIG_PATH when you install pkgconfig. Also I would like to announce the new bug tracker! Thank you Dusty for setting it up.

Offline

#13 2005-06-29 13:05:25

mmccaskill
Member
From: NC
Registered: 2005-02-21
Posts: 163

Re: Arch64 website

Well it wasn't so something is not right.

Offline

#14 2005-06-30 20:41:32

Creepy
Member
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2004-09-20
Posts: 48

Re: Arch64 website

Niiicee!

Last month I haven't had the time to do anything constructive on Arch64 sad I've been waaay to busy with work and haven't really been online that much.

But good news: I've got and amd64 laptop next to my amd64 desktop system. Now I can finally get some compiles going and do some other stuff smile

Syamajala: I saw your message to late and didn't have the time to get the kernel compile going.

Anyway, I'm going on a much needed holiday (again wink ) for two weeks. Expect some updates packages from me then.. I need to get the new GCC/glibc/binutils combo ready and put a gcc4.0 somewhere in testing..

Offline

#15 2005-07-05 15:51:31

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

Re: Arch64 website

xerxes2 wrote:

it looks pretty nice dusty but i changed a little in the css because my eyes/brain can't take the light,

I added your styles unedited... sorry for delay, I forgot about them. :oops:

Dusty

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB