You are not logged in.

#1 2005-06-19 12:22:52

gujeroo
Member
From: didjabringabeeralong
Registered: 2005-03-23
Posts: 17
Website

gthumb would not work under xfce

Hi.

Using xfce as my favourite windowmanager I wanted to use gthumb as well.

Unfortunately gthumb would not display any picture, it  actually says 'No Image' in the main window.

This is what it says on the console:

** (gthumb:5170): CRITICAL **: gth_image_list_append_with_data: assertion `pixbuf != NULL' failed

** (gthumb:5170): CRITICAL **: gth_image_list_append_with_data: assertion `pixbuf != NULL' failed

** (gthumb:5170): CRITICAL **: gth_image_list_append_with_data: assertion `pixbuf != NULL' failed

(gthumb:5170): GLib-GObject-CRITICAL **: g_object_unref: assertion `G_IS_OBJECT (object)' failed

** (gthumb:5170): CRITICAL **: gth_image_list_append_with_data: assertion `pixbuf != NULL' failed

** (gthumb:5170): CRITICAL **: gth_image_list_append_with_data: assertion `pixbuf != NULL' failed

** (gthumb:5170): CRITICAL **: gth_image_list_append_with_data: assertion `pixbuf != NULL' failed


Gthumb itself seems to work, I have tested it under fluxbox and enlightenment. But just not in combination with xfce.

Could anyone give me a hint what I could do?

Cheers
Michael


$>man woman
no manual entry for woman

Offline

#2 2005-06-20 00:24:17

iphitus
Forum Fellow
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2004-10-09
Posts: 4,927

Re: gthumb would not work under xfce

gthumb is pretty broken here too. ion3+xfce-mcs-manager (settings daemon)

Offline

#3 2005-06-23 23:36:26

gujeroo
Member
From: didjabringabeeralong
Registered: 2005-03-23
Posts: 17
Website

Re: gthumb would not work under xfce

Hi.

That is nice to know, but what am I to do?

Compile the package on my own? Inform the package maintainer?
What do the error messages mean?

Cheers
Michael


$>man woman
no manual entry for woman

Offline

#4 2005-06-23 23:41:15

droog
Member
Registered: 2004-11-18
Posts: 877

Re: gthumb would not work under xfce

recompile it, and if that fixes it post the bug to the arch maintainer, if it doesn't fix it check the bug lists at gthumb and xfce or post one there..

Offline

#5 2005-06-24 13:08:24

Kern
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2005-02-09
Posts: 460

Re: gthumb would not work under xfce

xfce or xfce4 ? i just ran pacman -Sy gthumb and ran it from a terminal. works ok here, im using xfce4

have you started Gnome services from xfce [settings manager] -  [sessions  and startup] - [Advanced] ?

maybe its a dependencies issue, try here

Offline

#6 2005-06-27 19:04:14

gujeroo
Member
From: didjabringabeeralong
Registered: 2005-03-23
Posts: 17
Website

Re: gthumb would not work under xfce

Hi.

Thanks for your tips.

Am using xfce 4.2. Tried it with starting the Gnome Services during Startup but that did not help. Neither did pacman -R gthumb and then pacman -Sy gthumb.

So I will recompile and see what this brings. But not today ;-)

Thanks again!

Michael


$>man woman
no manual entry for woman

Offline

#7 2005-07-11 22:16:52

gujeroo
Member
From: didjabringabeeralong
Registered: 2005-03-23
Posts: 17
Website

Re: gthumb would not work under xfce

Hi there.

Don't know why, but after a reinstall of Arch (due to HDD Crash), gthumb also works now under xfce.

Thanks anyway.

Cheers
Michael


$>man woman
no manual entry for woman

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB