You are not logged in.

#1 2011-08-05 00:41:08

pjk1939
Member
Registered: 2011-08-05
Posts: 13

[SOLVED]Realtek wireless driver

Alright I just recently installed Arch onto my laptop; however, I am struggling getting wireless. I have looked around and can't really find anything.

sudo lspci | grep -i net

<code>
02:00.0 Network controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8191SEvA Wireless LAN Controller (rev 10)
03:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8101E/RTL8102E PCI Express Fast Ethernet controller (rev 02)
</code>

iwconfig

<code>
lo         no wireless extensions.

eth0       no wireless extensions.
</code>

lsmod

<code>
Module                  Size  Used by
ipv6                  288690  22
ext2                   63714  1
joydev                  9959  0
snd_hda_codec_hdmi     22784  1
snd_hda_codec_realtek   297871  1
uvcvideo               62143  0
i915                  648410  2
videodev               78070  1 uvcvideo
hp_wmi                  7802  0
snd_hda_intel          22186  0
drm_kms_helper         27529  1 i915
snd_hda_codec          77543  3 snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_intel
sparse_keymap           3128  1 hp_wmi
snd_hwdep               6342  1 snd_hda_codec
rfkill                 15498  1 hp_wmi
media                  10437  1 videodev
drm                   181991  3 i915,drm_kms_helper
snd_pcm                73736  3 snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec
evdev                   9530  15
v4l2_compat_ioctl32     8364  1 videodev
snd_timer              19488  1 snd_pcm
i2c_algo_bit            5239  1 i915
i2c_i801                8195  0
sg                     25621  0
intel_agp              10848  1 i915
snd                    57256  7 snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_hwdep,snd_pcm,snd_timer
pcspkr                  1891  0
i2c_core               20165  6 i915,videodev,drm_kms_helper,drm,i2c_algo_bit,i2c_i801
video                  11300  1 i915
intel_gtt              14359  3 i915,intel_agp
psmouse                54752  0
soundcore               6178  1 snd
r8169                  41003  0
snd_page_alloc          7161  2 snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm
serio_raw               4366  0
iTCO_wdt               12781  0
intel_ips              11285  0
wmi                     8387  1 hp_wmi
battery                10945  0
processor              24328  0
thermal                 7903  0
mii                     4003  1 r8169
iTCO_vendor_support     1969  1 iTCO_wdt
button                  4510  1 i915
ac                      3305  0
ext4                  368162  2
mbcache                 5793  2 ext2,ext4
jbd2                   70956  1 ext4
crc16                   1337  1 ext4
sr_mod                 14663  0
sd_mod                 27379  5
cdrom                  36393  1 sr_mod
ahci                   20905  4
libahci                18925  1 ahci
libata                173061  2 ahci,libahci
ehci_hcd               39359  0
scsi_mod              130020  4 sg,sr_mod,sd_mod,libata
usbcore               142192  3 uvcvideo,ehci_hcd
</code>

ifconfig

<code>
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 78:AC:C0:41:25:5E 
          inet addr:192.168.0.10  Bcast:192.168.0.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::7aac:c0ff:fe41:255e/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:6774 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:6059 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:6848108 (6.5 Mb)  TX bytes:921270 (899.6 Kb)
          Interrupt:41 Base address:0xe000

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback 
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
</code>

I thought that the kernel automatically loaded the driver at start up but I guess not.

Any help would be appricated
Thanks

Last edited by pjk1939 (2011-08-08 14:38:39)

Offline

#2 2011-08-05 00:47:57

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,440

Re: [SOLVED]Realtek wireless driver

When pasting code, please use [ code ] tags https://bbs.archlinux.org/help.php#bbcode

like this

It makes the code more readable and more convenient to scroll through.


Try following those instructions as the article mentions the same card.
Have you installed Arch using the official images: http://www.archlinux.org/download/ ? If so and you find it difficult to get the wireless driver running, you may want to use the testing images that provide a more recent kernel http://releng.archlinux.org/isos/2011.06.10/

Last edited by karol (2011-08-05 00:53:36)

Offline

#3 2011-08-05 00:54:52

pjk1939
Member
Registered: 2011-08-05
Posts: 13

Re: [SOLVED]Realtek wireless driver

Yeah sorry apparently <code> doesn't work lol, Alright I will give it a look. Yes I got it from there

Offline

#4 2011-08-05 01:47:04

pjk1939
Member
Registered: 2011-08-05
Posts: 13

Re: [SOLVED]Realtek wireless driver

Alright I am trying to install using makpkg -s; however, it says it can't find dependicies. I downloaded the rtl8192se-firmware from AUR and makepkg and kernel26 from pacman. However I still can't resolve dependicies, sorry this is the first time using AUR and I just barely started using Arch. So what exactly do I need to do to fix the dependicies issue?

any help would be great
Thanks

Offline

#5 2011-08-05 02:08:44

hauzer
Member
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Registered: 2010-11-17
Posts: 279
Website

Re: [SOLVED]Realtek wireless driver

makepkg -s uses pacman to install the missing dependencies, and since pacman doesn't support AUR, it can't automatically resolve rtl8192se-firmware. You first need to build and install the told package and then build rtl8192se.
Alternatively, you could just download yaourt and run yaourt -S rtl8192se, which is the easy and, in the long run, unbeneficial way. I highly recommend you build everything by yourself to familiraize with the core tools of Arch.


Vanity of vanities, saith the Preacher, vanity of vanities; all is vanity.
What profit hath a man of all his labour which he taketh under the sun?
All the rivers run into the sea; yet the sea is not full; unto the place from whence the rivers come, thither they return again.
For in much wisdom is much grief: and he that increaseth knowledge increaseth sorrow.

Offline

#6 2011-08-05 02:44:13

pjk1939
Member
Registered: 2011-08-05
Posts: 13

Re: [SOLVED]Realtek wireless driver

Well i thought i did install the firmware. I downloaded the tarball, extract the contents and ran makepkg. It was successfully installed. I installed kernel26 using pacman and the I ran makepkg and am still having the dependicy problems, i don't need to move any files into the package directory do I?

Also I agree I want to do it the arch way.

Offline

#7 2011-08-05 03:27:17

pjk1939
Member
Registered: 2011-08-05
Posts: 13

Re: [SOLVED]Realtek wireless driver

Alright got the driver installed, I didnt reliaze I needed to do pacman -U *.xz file.

Thanks for all the help so far, but I could have more lol

Offline

#8 2011-08-05 03:42:37

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 19,793

Re: [SOLVED]Realtek wireless driver

pjk1939:

Welcome to Arch.
Please mark the thread as solved by editing your first post and change the title by adding [SOLVED]

Thanks.


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Sometimes it is the people no one can imagine anything of who do the things no one can imagine. -- Alan Turing
---
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#9 2011-08-05 12:38:43

pjk1939
Member
Registered: 2011-08-05
Posts: 13

Re: [SOLVED]Realtek wireless driver

Lol only if it was solved...

Alright I got my driver installed and running. "iwconfig" shows the wlan0 output even after I restart my computer. Also I typed
"ip link set wlan0 up" and "ifconfig wlan0 up" which should tell me that I don't need further firmware because they didn't output anything. So I assumed I was good and I should be able to install Wicd and connect to wireless.

However...

That is not the case. Wicd doesn't see any wireless signals and there should be a lot (I have two in my apartment). I also tried "iwlist wlan0 scan" and all it says is scan complete: with no wireless essids.

Also I tried wpa_supplicant, but I got "dhcpcd wlan0" to just time out.

So is there another step that I happen to forget to do? Maybe it is the wrong driver I installed?

Any help would be great.... Sorry I don't have any command output, I'm at work but I will be heading home for lunch and I can put some up then.

Thanks

Offline

#10 2011-08-08 13:41:30

pjk1939
Member
Registered: 2011-08-05
Posts: 13

Re: [SOLVED]Realtek wireless driver

Alright I got wireless working...

I ended up quitting for the night and when I turned my computer back on the next day, my wireless was working.

I don't really know the difference but I was using the command

sudo reboot

to restart my computer but I shut it down with

sudo shutdown -h now

I guess there is a difference, but I thank everyone who was able to help me through my questions and advice me in the right direction.

Thanks

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB