You are not logged in.

#1 2005-07-03 10:36:27

dwight
Member
From: Estonia
Registered: 2005-05-22
Posts: 18

Openoffice2 beta won't start

I've been using the 2.0 beta for some time now, but about a week ago I updated it with pacman and it stopped working. Today there was a new update and it still isn't working, so I guess the problem is with my system not with the package.
More precisely: when i try to run any of OO2 programs from a terminal I get the splash screen and after that a error window with the text: Application cannot be started, an internal error has occured. And that's it. No other error messages and if I try to start some OO2 app after this, I won't even get the error windows.
Anything I can do to make OO work again?

Offline

#2 2005-07-03 10:43:45

dtw
Forum Fellow
From: UK
Registered: 2004-08-03
Posts: 4,431
Website

Re: Openoffice2 beta won't start

i assume it has asked you to go through the user set up each time?  Have you kept any old settings or used a fresh profile?

Offline

#3 2005-07-03 10:55:34

dwight
Member
From: Estonia
Registered: 2005-05-22
Posts: 18

Re: Openoffice2 beta won't start

Nope. Nothing like that. Just the splash screen, error message and then nothing.

Offline

#4 2005-07-03 10:58:17

scarecrow
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2004-11-18
Posts: 714

Re: Openoffice2 beta won't start

What about a debugger? (strace or gdb)


Microshaft delenda est

Offline

#5 2005-07-03 11:09:38

dwight
Member
From: Estonia
Registered: 2005-05-22
Posts: 18

Re: Openoffice2 beta won't start

Luckily I won't have to use a debugger this time. Got it sorted. The first question about profiles got me thinking, so I moved all 3 OO directories in ~ and after that the program started nicely. Thanks for your input.

Offline

#6 2005-07-03 11:28:52

dtw
Forum Fellow
From: UK
Registered: 2004-08-03
Posts: 4,431
Website

Re: Openoffice2 beta won't start

aye - "backup your old profile and create a new one" is climbing the "troubleshooting tips chart" slowly but surely big_smile

Offline

#7 2005-07-03 12:24:52

Dreameen
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2004-09-06
Posts: 252

Re: Openoffice2 beta won't start

It'a bit annoying though, the necessity to create a new account everytime OO is updated(which happens frequently).

Offline

#8 2005-07-03 12:33:12

iphitus
Forum Fellow
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2004-10-09
Posts: 4,927

Re: Openoffice2 beta won't start

Dreameen wrote:

It'a bit annoying though, the necessity to create a new account everytime OO is updated(which happens frequently).

It *is* beta.

Offline

#9 2005-07-03 13:52:31

Dreameen
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2004-09-06
Posts: 252

Re: Openoffice2 beta won't start

Yea, but it's not that hard to import previous settings. It's been done million times in different programs.

Offline

#10 2005-07-03 15:51:31

iphitus
Forum Fellow
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2004-10-09
Posts: 4,927

Re: Openoffice2 beta won't start

Dreameen wrote:

Yea, but it's not that hard to import previous settings. It's been done million times in different programs.

Ok, go write me a program to import the settings from OOo 1.1.3.

Just because it craps out at the settings import stage doesnt neccesarily mean its the settings importing that's breaking it, there would be countless other things that could be breaking it.

Offline

#11 2005-07-03 16:51:43

dtw
Forum Fellow
From: UK
Registered: 2004-08-03
Posts: 4,431
Website

Re: Openoffice2 beta won't start

Dreameen - make sense to me that a new profile should be need for beta software with every release!  Let's face it, the firefox release cycle was MUCH worse!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB