You are not logged in.

#1 2005-07-03 14:29:05

dtw
Forum Fellow
From: UK
Registered: 2004-08-03
Posts: 4,431
Website

-cko2 in the AUR

Please note: I am abusing my mod privledges to bring a matter to the attention of as many people as possible!

-cko2 has just been released and it seems as tho the maintainence of the suspend2 patches has been taken over by another hacker.  This is excellent news for me personally and possibly a few others after my failed attempts.

i recently proposed a -ckarch patchset but i had to abandon that almost instantly.

I am now proposing to add a -cko with -swsusp2 PKGBUILD to the AUR - it will use the normal stock config where possible and, if qwerty does the patch I asked for, should work "out of the box" with the ati drivers.  All of the -cko features will be enabled including fbsplash, reiser4, etc.

I have always been against providing an oxymoronical stock custom config in binary form but so many people have said they want to try stuff in it but can't be arsed to compile it I now figure what the hell!

Therefore I see this as a way for people to try these patches without getting techincal and if they like it they can further customize the config and rebuild it themselves.

As I said I am waiting for a patch from qwerty with the ATI options that are need.

I'm open to further config options but not whole patches.

The PKGBUILD will initially go in the AUR as usual and will only be added to [community] if it receives the necessary votes.  I don't feel i can add it directly to [community] as it's probably a bit of a bandwidth hog and so fair's fair, eh?

Offline

#2 2005-07-03 16:58:22

CyberTron
Member
From: Gotland ,Sweden
Registered: 2005-03-17
Posts: 645
Website

Re: -cko2 in the AUR

sounds absolutly perfect! big_smile   good work dibblethewrecker big_smile


http://www.linuxportalen.com  -> Linux Help portal for Linux and ArchLinux (in swedish)

Dell Inspiron 8500
Kernel 2.6.14-archck1  (selfcompiled)
Enlightenment 17

Offline

#3 2005-07-03 20:31:16

dtw
Forum Fellow
From: UK
Registered: 2004-08-03
Posts: 4,431
Website

Re: -cko2 in the AUR

It's in there - build it yourselves - test it - get voting!

Offline

#4 2005-07-03 22:27:04

CyberTron
Member
From: Gotland ,Sweden
Registered: 2005-03-17
Posts: 645
Website

Re: -cko2 in the AUR

seems to be working just fine dibble big_smile

thanks!

btw, just a quistion, why are there no fbvesa-tng?? (it is mostly useful for nvidia based cards that are suffereing with garbled display after one has been using tv-out)

EDIT: Seems as there are fbvesa-tng support included anyway big_smile

I guess you have a good reason for not include it..

otherwise, great work big_smile


http://www.linuxportalen.com  -> Linux Help portal for Linux and ArchLinux (in swedish)

Dell Inspiron 8500
Kernel 2.6.14-archck1  (selfcompiled)
Enlightenment 17

Offline

#5 2005-07-03 22:31:35

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,838

Re: -cko2 in the AUR

Just so I'm clear - your AUR files include a config. Presumably I can substitute my own? Also, there's a comment referring to LIRC:

NO Linux Infrared Remote Control support - you provide the config i'll include the support

Does that mean that you have removed LIRC from -cko2, or that you simply haven't enabled it in the config?

Offline

#6 2005-07-04 05:24:48

CyberTron
Member
From: Gotland ,Sweden
Registered: 2005-03-17
Posts: 645
Website

Re: -cko2 in the AUR

EDIT: Another, quite important thing, is that the build is not compatible with Arch's kernel26 pacakge, since the filename (System.map26, kconfig26 and vmlinuz26) are the same .

EDIT2: There are some other "problems"; the dirs name /usr/src/linux-2.6.12   probably should change name to match /lib/modules/2.6.12-cko2    (which I have changed manually in the pkgbuild (look below) ) 

EDIT3: I should probably add that I use my own config btw..

Seems as there are an error on line 61

  INSTALL net/ipv4/netfilter/ipt_NOTRACK.ko
  INSTALL net/ipv4/netfilter/iptable_raw.ko
if [ -r System.map -a -x /sbin/depmod ]; then /sbin/depmod -ae -F System.map -b /home/cybertron/pkgbuilds/kernel-2.6.12-cko2-swsusp2/pkg -r 2.6.12-cko2; fi
./PKGBUILD: line 61: cd: /home/cybertron/pkgbuilds/kernel-2.6.12-cko2-swsusp2/pkg/lib/modules/2.6.12: No such file or directory
==> ERROR: Build Failed.  Aborting...

The error is that the lib/modules/2.6.12 does not exist, which is correct, cause the dir is called $startdir/pkg/lib/modules/2.6.12-cko2

  cd $startdir/pkg/usr/src/linux-${_kernver}/include && ln -s asm-i386 asm
  chown -R root.root $startdir/pkg/usr/src/linux-${_kernver}
  cd $startdir/pkg/lib/modules/${_kernver} && 
    (rm -f source build; ln -sf /usr/src/linux-${_kernver} build)

changes to

  cd $startdir/pkg/usr/src/linux-${_kernver}/include && ln -s asm-i386 asm
  chown -R root.root $startdir/pkg/usr/src/linux-${_kernver}
  cd $startdir/pkg/lib/modules/${_kernver}-cko2 && 
    (rm -f source build; ln -sf /usr/src/linux-${_kernver} build)

http://www.linuxportalen.com  -> Linux Help portal for Linux and ArchLinux (in swedish)

Dell Inspiron 8500
Kernel 2.6.14-archck1  (selfcompiled)
Enlightenment 17

Offline

#7 2005-07-04 08:01:04

dtw
Forum Fellow
From: UK
Registered: 2004-08-03
Posts: 4,431
Website

Re: -cko2 in the AUR

well, we all know I'm pretty smart when it comes to kernel PKGBUILDs but I must confess to having really screwed this one up!  I was trying to get it in before I went to bed and i guess i balls'ed it up!

Apologies.

Just to clarify:

LIRC support is in the patches but not in the config - anyone that can present a working set of config options may have them included in the kernel - i can't work it out as i don't have the gear

vesa-tng support is in the patches but not enabled in the config - if you build it yourself you can of course enable it.  if vesa-tng is better for nvidia users then that is one tick mark against using it - if more people want it i will put it in - i don't use it myself you see, it's always been worse smile

Offline

#8 2005-07-04 08:20:48

dtw
Forum Fellow
From: UK
Registered: 2004-08-03
Posts: 4,431
Website

Re: -cko2 in the AUR

CyberTron wrote:

EDIT2: There are some other "problems"; the dirs name /usr/src/linux-2.6.12   probably should change name to match /lib/modules/2.6.12-cko2    (which I have changed manually in the pkgbuild (look below) ) 

EDIT3: I should probably add that I use my own config btw..

Seems as there are an error on line 61

  INSTALL net/ipv4/netfilter/ipt_NOTRACK.ko
  INSTALL net/ipv4/netfilter/iptable_raw.ko
if [ -r System.map -a -x /sbin/depmod ]; then /sbin/depmod -ae -F System.map -b /home/cybertron/pkgbuilds/kernel-2.6.12-cko2-swsusp2/pkg -r 2.6.12-cko2; fi
./PKGBUILD: line 61: cd: /home/cybertron/pkgbuilds/kernel-2.6.12-cko2-swsusp2/pkg/lib/modules/2.6.12: No such file or directory
==> ERROR: Build Failed.  Aborting...

The error is that the lib/modules/2.6.12 does not exist, which is correct, cause the dir is called $startdir/pkg/lib/modules/2.6.12-cko2

  cd $startdir/pkg/usr/src/linux-${_kernver}/include && ln -s asm-i386 asm
  chown -R root.root $startdir/pkg/usr/src/linux-${_kernver}
  cd $startdir/pkg/lib/modules/${_kernver} && 
    (rm -f source build; ln -sf /usr/src/linux-${_kernver} build)

changes to

  cd $startdir/pkg/usr/src/linux-${_kernver}/include && ln -s asm-i386 asm
  chown -R root.root $startdir/pkg/usr/src/linux-${_kernver}
  cd $startdir/pkg/lib/modules/${_kernver}-cko2 && 
    (rm -f source build; ln -sf /usr/src/linux-${_kernver} build)

I just want to point out the errors in your fix for educational purposes smile

the ${_kernver} is made up of the kernel version/pkgver and the CONFIG_LOCALVERSION.  In your fix,  ${_kernver}-cko2, this produces results of 2.6.12-localversion-cko2.  You have obviously removed the localversion for you config in this case but if it were still there you'd get errors.  -cko2 is the EXTRAVERSION in this case and the correct order used by the kernel is:

2.6.12-EXTRAVERSION-LOCALVERSION

This is a patch showing the changes I have made to the PKGBUILD.  I think this covers everything:

--- PKGBUILD    2005-07-03 21:24:51.000000000 +0100
+++ PKGBUILD.new    2005-07-04 09:11:54.000000000 +0100
@@ -1,7 +1,7 @@
 # Contributor: dibblethewrecker <dibblethewrecker.at.jiwe.org>
 pkgname=kernel2612-cko2-swsusp2
 pkgver=2.6.12
-pkgrel=1
+pkgrel=2
 pkgdesc="The Linux Kernel 2.6.12 and modules (IDE support) with -cko2 patchset and suspend2 support"
 url="http://www.kernel.org"
 backup=('boot/kconfig26')
@@ -27,20 +27,21 @@
   cat ../config | sed "s|#CARCH#|$carch|g" >./.config
   # build the full kernel version to use in pathnames
   . ./.config
-  _kernver="${pkgver}${CONFIG_LOCALVERSION}"
+  _kernsuffix="-cko2${CONFIG_LOCALVERSION}"
+  _kernver="${pkgver}${_kernsuffix}"
   # load configuration
   yes "" | make config
   # build!
   make clean bzImage modules || return 1
   mkdir -p $startdir/pkg/{lib/modules,boot}
   make INSTALL_MOD_PATH=$startdir/pkg modules_install || return 1
-  cp System.map $startdir/pkg/boot/System.map26
-  cp arch/i386/boot/bzImage $startdir/pkg/boot/vmlinuz26
+  cp System.map $startdir/pkg/boot/System.map2612${_kernsuffix}
+  cp arch/i386/boot/bzImage $startdir/pkg/boot/vmlinuz2612${_kernsuffix}
   install -D -m644 Makefile 
     $startdir/pkg/usr/src/linux-${_kernver}/Makefile
   install -D -m644 .config 
     $startdir/pkg/usr/src/linux-${_kernver}/.config
-  install -D -m644 .config $startdir/pkg/boot/kconfig26
+  install -D -m644 .config $startdir/pkg/boot/kconfig2612${_kernsuffix}
   mkdir -p $startdir/pkg/usr/src/linux-${_kernver}/include
   mkdir -p $startdir/pkg/usr/src/linux-${_kernver}/arch/i386/kernel
   for i in acpi asm-generic asm-i386 config linux math-emu net pcmcia scsi video; do

The /boot components are suffixed with the extra and local version and also the kernel version 12, this is to allow them to be used with kernels generated from my custom kernel PKGBUILD, which, by the way, isn't suitable for use in the AUR big_smile

That should fix everything smile

Offline

#9 2005-07-04 08:26:04

CyberTron
Member
From: Gotland ,Sweden
Registered: 2005-03-17
Posts: 645
Website

Re: -cko2 in the AUR

will try it out later today big_smile

btw. thanks, now I understand how it works

EDIT: works perfectly


http://www.linuxportalen.com  -> Linux Help portal for Linux and ArchLinux (in swedish)

Dell Inspiron 8500
Kernel 2.6.14-archck1  (selfcompiled)
Enlightenment 17

Offline

#10 2005-07-04 08:27:39

dtw
Forum Fellow
From: UK
Registered: 2004-08-03
Posts: 4,431
Website

Re: -cko2 in the AUR

the new tarball is in - i think CyberTron is going to be the first victim so we'll hear from him soon enough i think smile

Offline

#11 2005-07-04 08:50:19

mmgm
Member
From: Israel
Registered: 2005-05-26
Posts: 52
Website

Re: -cko2 in the AUR

Well, you thought wrong, muahaha. I'm DL'ing linux-2.6.12.tar.bz as we speak. I guess you'll hear from me pretty soon.

On a side note, I'm kinda new to the forums, so ummmm, hi.

Edit: I'm in the compilation stage, weeeeeeee.

Offline

#12 2005-07-04 09:02:49

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,838

Re: -cko2 in the AUR

I've never used the stock Arch kernels, so I took the source and md5sum lines and the patch commands from this PKGBUILD and added them to your wiki PKGBUILD, using my own config, and make oldconfig. To get the naming right, I added -swsusp2 before my usual hostname/date combo in CONFIG_LOCALVERSION.

So my package is called

kernel2612-cko2-swsusp2.i5ka.20050704-2.6.12-2.pkg.tar.gz

the kernel is

/boot/vmlinuz2612-cko2-swsusp2.i5ka.20050704

the headers are in

/usr/src/linux-2.6.12-cko2-swsusp2.i5ka.20050704

and the modules in

/lib/modules/2.6.12-cko2-swsusp2.i5ka.20050704

and I still have 4 other proven stable kernels on the system in case anything needs tweaking.  big_smile

Nice one dibble.

Offline

#13 2005-07-04 09:16:44

CyberTron
Member
From: Gotland ,Sweden
Registered: 2005-03-17
Posts: 645
Website

Re: -cko2 in the AUR

mmgm wrote:

Well, you thought wrong, muahaha. I'm DL'ing linux-2.6.12.tar.bz as we speak. I guess you'll hear from me pretty soon.

On a side note, I'm kinda new to the forums, so ummmm, hi.

Edit: I'm in the compilation stage, weeeeeeee.

Just to get something straight big_smile

I was stil firstl big_smile *look at my edit in my previos post* time: Last edited Jul 04, 2005 9:44 am   

*haha* big_smile

Weell, everything workes fine and fast (as usual with a -cko build)

btw mmgm: welcome to arch (or atleast the forums) big_smile


http://www.linuxportalen.com  -> Linux Help portal for Linux and ArchLinux (in swedish)

Dell Inspiron 8500
Kernel 2.6.14-archck1  (selfcompiled)
Enlightenment 17

Offline

#14 2005-07-04 09:41:41

dtw
Forum Fellow
From: UK
Registered: 2004-08-03
Posts: 4,431
Website

Re: -cko2 in the AUR

so - everyone reporting A ok, then?  good.  sorry about the screw up before

tomk - you defintely win the award for bizarre kernel naming scheme of the year!  but i'm glad we can cater for your needs smile

Offline

#15 2005-07-04 09:56:38

mmgm
Member
From: Israel
Registered: 2005-05-26
Posts: 52
Website

Re: -cko2 in the AUR

dibblethewrecker wrote:

so - everyone reporting A ok, then?  good.  sorry about the screw up before

tomk - you defintely win the award for bizarre kernel naming scheme of the year!  but i'm glad we can cater for your needs smile

Actually, I'm reporting that I hate my stupid, slow computer, but everything seems to be going fine so far, so yeah, I'll probably be reporting A OK soon.

Edit: Works pretty much OK, I think. I'm getting errors at bootup when trying to restore ALSA levels, but it just happens to work non-the-less, so I dont really care. It's fast, quite predictably. I'll just be compiling the ATI modules again now, to see if they really work with this kernel.
Another edit: I guess this is a good chance to try out the new ATI graphical installer.

Offline

#16 2005-07-04 10:17:14

CyberTron
Member
From: Gotland ,Sweden
Registered: 2005-03-17
Posts: 645
Website

Re: -cko2 in the AUR

I am giving you (dibblethewrecker) A+ for this pkgbuild big_smile


http://www.linuxportalen.com  -> Linux Help portal for Linux and ArchLinux (in swedish)

Dell Inspiron 8500
Kernel 2.6.14-archck1  (selfcompiled)
Enlightenment 17

Offline

#17 2005-07-04 10:46:09

mmgm
Member
From: Israel
Registered: 2005-05-26
Posts: 52
Website

Re: -cko2 in the AUR

Shit.
I cant make new modules for my ATI card. I dont know if it's this new kernel or the new ati-drivers package from the AUR, but im getting build errors.
I think I just broke whatever acceleration I had in the old kernel trying to make it work in the new one. Shit shit shit!

Offline

#18 2005-07-04 10:50:21

dtw
Forum Fellow
From: UK
Registered: 2004-08-03
Posts: 4,431
Website

Re: -cko2 in the AUR

whoops!

Offline

#19 2005-07-04 11:06:35

mmgm
Member
From: Israel
Registered: 2005-05-26
Posts: 52
Website

Re: -cko2 in the AUR

Well, I have no fglrx module, neither in the old kernel, nor the new one, and I have no way to rebuild it. I only just got X running again. Grrrr, I hate my computer. Now I'll just try to figure out if the problems I'm having are related to the ati-drivers package or your kernel. I'll keep you posted.

Offline

#20 2005-07-04 11:07:42

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,838

Re: -cko2 in the AUR

dibblethewrecker wrote:

tomk - you defintely win the award for bizarre kernel naming scheme of the year!

You know, it didn't seem that odd when I started doing it back in my debian days - e.g. 2.4.22.gx.20041031. Then I started throwing in patches - 2.6.9-mh3.i5k.20050218 - then multiple patches - 2.6.11-ck8-mh2.i5ka.20050527. Which brings us to today.

The use of the date is presumably self-explanatory, and I include the hostname because I don't always compile on the machine that will use the finished kernel.

And nobody really needed to know all that, did they? tongue

Offline

#21 2005-07-04 11:31:52

mmgm
Member
From: Israel
Registered: 2005-05-26
Posts: 52
Website

Re: -cko2 in the AUR

Ok, under my old kernel (stock Arch, only with AGP and DRI set to compile as modules, no other changes) I get lots and lots of warnings compiling the new ati-drivers package from the AUR but makepkg succeeds and pacman installs it fine, after which it works exactly as expected. Using your patched kernel, however, compilation fails in $startdir/src/lib/modules/fglrx/build_mod/agpgart_be.c, which happens to be the same file that produces countless warning on my old kernel.

The only requirement in the wiki for successfully compiling the module is that AGP and DRI support is compiled as modules. It seems like the config file supplied with your PKGBUILD complies to that, so unless there is another requirement that got neglected being mentioned in the wiki, I'm guessing one of the patches broke support. It is, however, very possible that I am a complete idiot. Never-the-less, compiling fglrx under my old kernel seemed pretty much idiot-proof, while under this one, its quite idiot-prone so I think its definitely something to work on.

Offline

#22 2005-07-04 11:39:52

dtw
Forum Fellow
From: UK
Registered: 2004-08-03
Posts: 4,431
Website

Re: -cko2 in the AUR

ok - grab the all of the patches for the -cko kernel and see if you can find which file might be causing the error

Offline

#23 2005-07-04 11:46:45

iphitus
Forum Fellow
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2004-10-09
Posts: 4,927

Re: -cko2 in the AUR

could just be that the ATI drivers havnt been updated for 2.6.12. see if you get the same issue with 2.6.12 stock.

It is *extremely* unlikely, that anything in 2.6.12-ck* could mess with a graphics card, and I know that it wouldnt mess with anything in the nvidia cards.

iphitus

Offline

#24 2005-07-04 11:48:27

dtw
Forum Fellow
From: UK
Registered: 2004-08-03
Posts: 4,431
Website

Re: -cko2 in the AUR

could just be that the ATI drivers havnt been updated for 2.6.12

i forgot to say that too smile

Offline

#25 2005-07-04 12:14:44

mmgm
Member
From: Israel
Registered: 2005-05-26
Posts: 52
Website

Re: -cko2 in the AUR

iphitus wrote:

could just be that the ATI drivers havnt been updated for 2.6.12. see if you get the same issue with 2.6.12 stock.

Hmm, never thought of that. As I said; there is a great possibility that all my problems derive from the fact that I am an idiot. I think I'll stop bitching now.
*hides*

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB