You are not logged in.

#1 2011-02-20 06:23:13

doom_phd
Member
From: US
Registered: 2009-08-11
Posts: 25

[Solved] Problem using kdebindings for ruby

As a weekend project I was going to look into using ruby as language for developing KDE plasma widgets.
I have kdebindings-ruby 4.6.0-1 along with the required kdebindings-smoke 4.6.0-1.

When trying:

require "plasma_applet"

I get the error:

LoadError: libsmokebase.so.3: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory - /usr/lib/ruby/site_ruby/1.9.1/x86_64-linux/plasma_applet.so

However when checking the directory

/usr/lib/ruby/site_ruby/1.9.1/x86_64-linux/

32K plasma_applet.so

shows up clear as day.
So what gives? I haved tried to find an answer here on the forums and on google but perhaps my google foo is too weak.

Thanks

Edit: With some more google foo I found this: https://github.com/pcapriotti/kaya/issu … ed#issue/3

Where this statement is made:

Kdebindings-smoke does not provide anymore libsmokebase.so.3, either in chakra-Linux or Arch Linux, was available in kde 4.5.5 but no in 4.6.0

Does this need to be submitted as a bug?

Last edited by ilpianista (2011-02-25 13:22:49)


Don't you worry about blank. Let me worry about blank
I did do the nasty in the past-y.
Pizza delivery for... I. C. Weiner. Aww... I always thought by this stage in my life I'd be the one making the crank calls.

Offline

#2 2011-02-25 13:21:50

ilpianista
Fellow developer
Registered: 2007-10-06
Posts: 568
Website

Re: [Solved] Problem using kdebindings for ruby

fixed in kdebindings-smoke 4.6.0-2

Offline

#3 2011-09-02 16:14:07

zajca
Member
From: Czech Republic
Registered: 2008-11-24
Posts: 35

Re: [Solved] Problem using kdebindings for ruby

Hi, i know this is solved but i have similar problem with kdebindings-qtruby 4.7.0-1
i start irb. and when i type require "Qt"

irb(main):003:0> require "Qt"
LoadError: libsmokebase.so.3: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory - /usr/lib/ruby/site_ruby/1.9.1/x86_64-linux/qtruby4.so
        from <internal:lib/rubygems/custom_require>:29:in `require'
        from <internal:lib/rubygems/custom_require>:29:in `require'
        from /usr/lib/ruby/site_ruby/1.9.1/Qt.rb:1:in `<top (required)>'
        from <internal:lib/rubygems/custom_require>:29:in `require'
        from <internal:lib/rubygems/custom_require>:29:in `require'
        from (irb):3
        from /usr/bin/irb:12:in `<main>'

same when i try require "qtruby4" or somethink like this.
but file /usr/lib/ruby/site_ruby/1.9.1/x86_64-linux/qtruby4.so exist

Offline

#4 2011-09-02 21:48:38

nodevel
Member
Registered: 2011-09-02
Posts: 3

Re: [Solved] Problem using kdebindings for ruby

zajca: try installing 'kdebindings-smokegen' . It has fixed similar problem for me...

Last edited by nodevel (2011-09-02 21:49:17)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB