You are not logged in.

#1 2011-09-10 21:36:44

bjorntj
Member
Registered: 2011-05-10
Posts: 150

How do I tell Arch/pacman that I have Java installed?

Since Sun JDK is removed and I have had to install it manually, how can I tell Arch/pacman that I have Java runtime installed and stop pacman from dragging in OpenJDK when installing a java app?


Regards,

BTJ

Last edited by bjorntj (2011-09-10 21:37:32)


Someone wrote:
"I understand that if you play a Windows CD backwards you hear strange Satanic messages"
To which someone replied:
"It's even worse than that; play it forwards and it installs Windows"

Offline

#2 2011-09-10 21:40:38

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,839

Re: How do I tell Arch/pacman that I have Java installed?

Install Sun JDK with pacman - the package is in the AUR.

Offline

#3 2011-09-10 21:42:16

bjorntj
Member
Registered: 2011-05-10
Posts: 150

Re: How do I tell Arch/pacman that I have Java installed?

That I can do but I like my manually install... It makes it a lot easier to test different versions of JDK... smile

BTJ


Someone wrote:
"I understand that if you play a Windows CD backwards you hear strange Satanic messages"
To which someone replied:
"It's even worse than that; play it forwards and it installs Windows"

Offline

#4 2011-09-10 22:00:58

Army
Member
Registered: 2007-12-07
Posts: 1,784

Re: How do I tell Arch/pacman that I have Java installed?

Then just create an empty package which is called jdk.

pkgname=jdk
pkgver=7
pkgrel=3
pkgdesc="The Java Development Kit"
url=http://jdk7.java.net/
arch=(i686 x86_64)
license=(custom)
provides=('java-environment=7')
conflicts=('java-environment')

package(){
	/bin/true
}

or http://codepad.org/I50Qx8fT
But remember, doing something like that, you are responsible if things break. Because e.g. if you forget about all this and ask people here for help, this might get very ... a big waste of time wink

Last edited by Army (2011-09-10 22:01:56)

Offline

#5 2011-09-10 22:04:30

bjorntj
Member
Registered: 2011-05-10
Posts: 150

Re: How do I tell Arch/pacman that I have Java installed?

Worked like a charm, thx... smile

I promise I won't forget.. ;-)


BTJ

Last edited by bjorntj (2011-09-10 22:05:38)


Someone wrote:
"I understand that if you play a Windows CD backwards you hear strange Satanic messages"
To which someone replied:
"It's even worse than that; play it forwards and it installs Windows"

Offline

#6 2011-09-10 22:20:52

Awebb
Member
Registered: 2010-05-06
Posts: 6,414

Re: How do I tell Arch/pacman that I have Java installed?

Even if YOU forget, WE read your old posts and confront you with unconfortable questions.

:-D

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB