You are not logged in.

#1 2005-07-08 06:30:57

bravo90078
Member
Registered: 2005-04-22
Posts: 18

I8K Module

alright well I'm really at a loss now.. I have a dell 5100 and I installed the i8kutils package to get some fan control. I installed it and ran it.. and I get this message,

can't open /proc/i8k: No such file or directory

So I go and try to modprobe the i8k module. but then I get

FATAL: Error inserting i8k (/lib/modules/2.6.11.10-ARCH/kernel/drivers/char/i8k.ko):No such device

I read around and some people said it had to do with APM/ACPI so I gave that ago turn it on/off... no cigar..

if anyone has any idea how I can make this work I'd appreciate it..

Offline

#2 2005-07-08 08:17:21

CyberTron
Member
From: Gotland ,Sweden
Registered: 2005-03-17
Posts: 645
Website

Re: I8K Module

you might have to force modprobe to insert i8k,
modprobe --force i8k

but, it seems that the module don't even exist in your kernel...(i don't use stock kernel so I can't try it either)


http://www.linuxportalen.com  -> Linux Help portal for Linux and ArchLinux (in swedish)

Dell Inspiron 8500
Kernel 2.6.14-archck1  (selfcompiled)
Enlightenment 17

Offline

#3 2005-07-08 08:58:33

T-Dawg
Forum Fellow
From: Wilmington, NC
Registered: 2005-01-29
Posts: 2,734

Re: I8K Module

did you reboot?

Offline

#4 2005-07-08 09:39:21

iphitus
Forum Fellow
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2004-10-09
Posts: 4,927

Re: I8K Module

It's says no such *device* not no such module

This means that the module does exist.

So if what cybertron says is true, he just needs to force it.

Offline

#5 2005-07-08 10:29:48

CyberTron
Member
From: Gotland ,Sweden
Registered: 2005-03-17
Posts: 645
Website

Re: I8K Module

yes, forcing it will probably work since the i8k module is for i8000 only, but will work for other dell aswell,but need option --force to activate


http://www.linuxportalen.com  -> Linux Help portal for Linux and ArchLinux (in swedish)

Dell Inspiron 8500
Kernel 2.6.14-archck1  (selfcompiled)
Enlightenment 17

Offline

#6 2005-07-08 22:44:21

bravo90078
Member
Registered: 2005-04-22
Posts: 18

Re: I8K Module

Thanks all... yeah "insmod i8k force=1" did the trick...
but I gotta do that everytime I turn the machine on.. I wrote a little script and put it in /etc/rc.d but is there another way I haven't thought of?

Offline

#7 2005-07-08 22:48:20

CyberTron
Member
From: Gotland ,Sweden
Registered: 2005-03-17
Posts: 645
Website

Re: I8K Module

you could put "option i8k=force" in modules.conf (i believe that is the file anyway)


http://www.linuxportalen.com  -> Linux Help portal for Linux and ArchLinux (in swedish)

Dell Inspiron 8500
Kernel 2.6.14-archck1  (selfcompiled)
Enlightenment 17

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB