You are not logged in.

#76 2011-09-16 10:53:59

fredbezies
Member
Registered: 2011-07-28
Posts: 270

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

@wonder : thanks. Just done what I have to do.

And the only crashes I'm getting are related to... evolution !!!! smile

EDIT : last crash, a few minutes ago :

(gnome-shell:2044): St-CRITICAL **: setup_framebuffers: assertion `width > 0' failed
gnome-session[1972]: WARNING: Application 'gnome-shell.desktop' killed by signal
gnome-shell-calendar-server[2103]: Got HUP on stdin - exiting
      JS LOG: GNOME Shell started at Fri Sep 16 2011 16:01:51 GMT+0200 (CEST)

(gnome-shell:28312): Clutter-CRITICAL **: clutter_text_get_editable: assertion `CLUTTER_IS_TEXT (self)' failed

(gnome-shell:28312): Clutter-CRITICAL **: clutter_text_get_text: assertion `CLUTTER_IS_TEXT (self)' failed

(gnome-shell:28312): Clutter-CRITICAL **: clutter_text_set_text: assertion `CLUTTER_IS_TEXT (self)' failed

(gnome-shell:28312): Clutter-CRITICAL **: clutter_text_get_editable: assertion `CLUTTER_IS_TEXT (self)' failed

(gnome-shell:28312): Clutter-CRITICAL **: clutter_text_get_text: assertion `CLUTTER_IS_TEXT (self)' failed

(gnome-shell:28312): Clutter-CRITICAL **: clutter_text_set_text: assertion `CLUTTER_IS_TEXT (self)' failed

I was opening application view when crash happened. Bad, bad, bad evolution wink

Last edited by fredbezies (2011-09-16 14:05:09)

Offline

#77 2011-09-16 16:45:52

fredbezies
Member
Registered: 2011-07-28
Posts: 270

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

@wonder : I need your help. Looks like evolution bug is a glib-networking one. So, it is needed to build glib-networking with a patch you can find here.

=> https://bugzilla.gnome.org/attachment.cgi?id=196741

So, tell me if I understand well. Need to rebuild both glib-networking, then libsoup to verify all is ok ?

Offline

#78 2011-09-16 16:59:59

Shanto
Member
From: Dhaka, Bangladesh
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 11

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

@wonder That was fast! Thank you so much.


“Never regard study as a duty, but as the enviable opportunity to learn to know the liberating influence of beauty in the realm of the spirit for your own personal joy and to the profit of the community to which your later work belongs.”

Offline

#79 2011-09-16 17:06:18

wonder
Developer
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2006-07-05
Posts: 5,937
Website

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

fredbezies wrote:

@wonder : I need your help. Looks like evolution bug is a glib-networking one. So, it is needed to build glib-networking with a patch you can find here.

=> https://bugzilla.gnome.org/attachment.cgi?id=196741

So, tell me if I understand well. Need to rebuild both glib-networking, then libsoup to verify all is ok ?

only glib-networking


Give what you have. To someone, it may be better than you dare to think.
Blog

Offline

#80 2011-09-16 17:18:16

fredbezies
Member
Registered: 2011-07-28
Posts: 270

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

Rebuild both... And it WORKS ! smile

So good to see all my gmail events displayed in gnome shell.

Let's hope this patch will be soon added upstream.

Offline

#81 2011-09-16 18:43:29

wonder
Developer
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2006-07-05
Posts: 5,937
Website

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

fredbezies wrote:

Rebuild both... And it WORKS ! smile

So good to see all my gmail events displayed in gnome shell.

Let's hope this patch will be soon added upstream.

thanks a lot. i hope is a good lesson to always report bugs upstream. they know better how their apps are working and how to fix it. less than 24 hours since reported it's perfect imo smile


Give what you have. To someone, it may be better than you dare to think.
Blog

Offline

#82 2011-09-16 18:51:45

fredbezies
Member
Registered: 2011-07-28
Posts: 270

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

Any rebuild of glib-networking for gnome-unstable, please ? wink

And when will gnome terminal 3.1.xx will be available in gnome-unstable ?

Thanks for your work. And I'm always happy I can help, even if I don't even know to write a simple "hello world" in C smile

Offline

#83 2011-09-16 19:09:13

wonder
Developer
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2006-07-05
Posts: 5,937
Website

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

fredbezies wrote:

Any rebuild of glib-networking for gnome-unstable, please ? wink

when a new release is available

And when will gnome terminal 3.1.xx will be available in gnome-unstable ?

not available. http://ftp.acc.umu.se/pub/GNOME/sources/gnome-terminal/


Give what you have. To someone, it may be better than you dare to think.
Blog

Offline

#84 2011-09-16 19:58:48

tririver
Member
Registered: 2011-03-02
Posts: 49

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

My GDM (and thus gnome-shell after started) is now at tty2 instead of tty7 or 8. Anybody has idea why it is?

Interestingly, this seems has something to do with the problem I reported sometime ago: xorg use 100% CPU after some time (of order 10 minute or one hour) after start up. I suspect they are related, because

(1) After xorg use 100% CPU on my computer, I cannot switch tty using ctrl+alt+number (before that I can)

(2) Using "ps aux", I can find such a command is run just at the time the xorg problem appears:
root      2991  0.0  0.0   6024   712 tty2     Ss+  15:49   0:00 /sbin/agetty -8 -s 38400 tty2 linux

(3) I cannot suspend when the xorg problem appears. But I can logout and re-login, after that, the xorg problem is gone. At the same time, GDM goes to tty7 or 8.

I didn't find anything strange in log files, either xsession-errors, Xorg.0.log, gdm log, ... But log files can be provided if needed.

Thanks!

Offline

#85 2011-09-16 20:01:12

wonder
Developer
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2006-07-05
Posts: 5,937
Website

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

@tririver you use systemd?


Give what you have. To someone, it may be better than you dare to think.
Blog

Offline

#86 2011-09-16 23:15:14

Jodell
Member
Registered: 2009-10-09
Posts: 285

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

In the applications menu, I have two entries for Brasero and another two for dconf named "Configuration Editor" and "dconf editor."

Offline

#87 2011-09-16 23:35:18

tririver
Member
Registered: 2011-03-02
Posts: 49

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

wonder wrote:

@tririver you use systemd?

@Wonder: No, I use the original init script. Indeed sometime ago I tried systemd, but I removed that and its not in my system any longer.

Offline

#88 2011-09-17 02:06:48

simongmzlj
Member
From: Canada
Registered: 2008-11-06
Posts: 135

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

@tririver: Do you have more then 1 tty setup under inittab?

Also, any reason why Aisleriot is missing from gnome-games?

Offline

#89 2011-09-17 02:10:28

tririver
Member
Registered: 2011-03-02
Posts: 49

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

For my GDM tty2 problem is solved. I don't know why though. What I did is as follows:

Originally, in rc.conf, I wrote

DAEMONS=(syslog-ng dbus @gdm !net-auto-wired !net-auto-wireless !networkmanager wicd cupsd cpufreq crond !sensors !alsa ntpd)

Now I have changed it to

DAEMONS=(syslog-ng dbus !net-auto-wired !net-auto-wireless !networkmanager wicd cupsd cpufreq crond !sensors !alsa ntpd gdm)

and now GDM goes to tty7 as desired. The xorg cpu 100% problem happens randomly previously, thus I don't know whether it's now solved. But in these two weeks I never run several hours without the problem as now. Thus it seems to have been solved also.

Perhaps the GDM problem is because GDM starts too quickly, and something is not ready? Also the xorg CPU 100% problem is completely confusing. They have gone anyway.

Thank wonder and simongmzlj a lot for the suggestions!
@simongmzlj: I never modified inittab. It has /sbin/agetty from tty1 to 6.

Offline

#90 2011-09-17 02:19:00

simongmzlj
Member
From: Canada
Registered: 2008-11-06
Posts: 135

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

There's your problem. You should not be starting gdm as a daemon at all, really. The inittab approach is more robust.

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Di … mon_method

Ensure you start the display manager last in the DAEMONS array, otherwise X will later allocate a tty device which was previously claimed by Getty (see /etc/inittab). Not placing the display manager at the end can cause X crashes, and is therefore unsupported.

Sorry, offtopic, I know. I'm done.

Last edited by simongmzlj (2011-09-17 02:19:27)

Offline

#91 2011-09-17 02:22:09

tririver
Member
Registered: 2011-03-02
Posts: 49

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

Thank you simongmzlj! Indeed it's my problem. I didn't read the wiki carefully.

simongmzlj wrote:

There's your problem. You should not be starting gdm as a daemon at all, really. The inittab approach is more robust.

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Di … mon_method

Ensure you start the display manager last in the DAEMONS array, otherwise X will later allocate a tty device which was previously claimed by Getty (see /etc/inittab). Not placing the display manager at the end can cause X crashes, and is therefore unsupported.

Sorry, offtopic, I know. I'm done.

Offline

#92 2011-09-17 07:00:33

wonder
Developer
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2006-07-05
Posts: 5,937
Website

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

simongmzlj wrote:

@tririver: Do you have more then 1 tty setup under inittab?

Also, any reason why Aisleriot is missing from gnome-games?

it was removed and now is separate. feel free to package it because i'm not interested to do it.

http://git.gnome.org/browse/gnome-games … =aisleriot
http://download.gnome.org/sources/aisle … 1.1.tar.xz


Give what you have. To someone, it may be better than you dare to think.
Blog

Offline

#93 2011-09-17 07:29:08

aeosynth
Member
From: California
Registered: 2010-02-06
Posts: 115
Website

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

I have an issue with the libwebkit package in extra changing from stable to unstable to support the gnome-unstable repo. you have your repo, if you want to put an unstable package in your unstable repo, by all means go for it, but don't change packages in other repos.

https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/26043

Offline

#94 2011-09-17 07:34:02

wonder
Developer
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2006-07-05
Posts: 5,937
Website

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

libwebkit package in extra is stable, libwebkit package in gnome-unstable is development. What is your point ? You won't see the development version unless you enable gnome-unstable repo

Last edited by wonder (2011-09-17 07:34:59)


Give what you have. To someone, it may be better than you dare to think.
Blog

Offline

#95 2011-09-17 07:34:59

Allan
Developer
From: Brisbane, AU
Registered: 2007-06-09
Posts: 10,369
Website

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

aeosynth wrote:

I have an issue with the libwebkit package in extra changing from stable to unstable to support the gnome-unstable repo. you have your repo, if you want to put an unstable package in your unstable repo, by all means go for it, but don't change packages in other repos.

https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/26043


No.... you are just failing to read or comprehend...   What version of libwebkit do you see in [extra]....  Hint:

> pacman -Si extra/libwebkit
Repository     : extra
Name           : libwebkit
Version        : 1.4.2-1

Online

#96 2011-09-17 07:44:15

foutrelis
Developer/TU
From: Athens, Greece
Registered: 2008-07-28
Posts: 675
Website

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

aeosynth wrote:

I have an issue with the libwebkit package in extra changing from stable to unstable to support the gnome-unstable repo. you have your repo, if you want to put an unstable package in your unstable repo, by all means go for it, but don't change packages in other repos.

https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/26043

Did you click on the "Source Files" link on the web interface and then noticed the PKGBUILD being at version 1.5.2?

If that's the case, then it's because that link is pointing to the /trunk subdirectory where development and preparation of upcoming versions takes place.

While I can see how this might be confusing (and I'll think about tweaking it to be less so), my suggestion would be to use ABS to get your PKGBUILDs.

Offline

#97 2011-09-17 08:15:47

aeosynth
Member
From: California
Registered: 2010-02-06
Posts: 115
Website

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

Yes, I did peek at the source files. I guess I am a bit confused on how the different repos work together. I started looking into this because I noticed that libwebkit stable has been updated to 1.4.3 - http://webkitgtk.org/?page=download . Is this update going to be ignored, since the trunk pkgbuild has a higher pkgver?

Offline

#98 2011-09-17 09:21:07

foutrelis
Developer/TU
From: Athens, Greece
Registered: 2008-07-28
Posts: 675
Website

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

aeosynth wrote:

Yes, I did peek at the source files. I guess I am a bit confused on how the different repos work together. I started looking into this because I noticed that libwebkit stable has been updated to 1.4.3 - http://webkitgtk.org/?page=download . Is this update going to be ignored, since the trunk pkgbuild has a higher pkgver?

The update to 1.4.3 will happen.

Edit: 1.4.3-1 has been pushed. Now let's stop being off-topic. tongue

Last edited by foutrelis (2011-09-17 11:18:10)

Offline

#99 2011-09-17 16:53:57

fredbezies
Member
Registered: 2011-07-28
Posts: 270

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

Got a crash regularly with gnome-shell-calendar server...

Here is a copy / paste of xsession-errors :

(gnome-shell:1712): St-CRITICAL **: setup_framebuffers: assertion `width > 0' failed
gnome-session[1299]: WARNING: Application 'gnome-shell.desktop' killed by signal
gnome-shell-calendar-server[1721]: Got HUP on stdin - exiting
      JS LOG: GNOME Shell started at Sat Sep 17 2011 18:51:08 GMT+0200 (CEST)

Any idea ? Thanks !

Offline

#100 2011-09-17 22:11:01

Sara
Member
From: USA
Registered: 2009-07-09
Posts: 212
Website

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

When I login through gdm, if I press enter after typing my password, gdm hangs. But if I click on "Sign in" I'm logged in properly. Anyone else with this issue? This is with the latest updates in gnome-unstable.

Last edited by Sara (2011-09-17 22:12:06)


Registed Linux User 483618

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB