You are not logged in.

#101 2011-09-17 23:18:21

simongmzlj
Member
From: Canada
Registered: 2008-11-06
Posts: 135

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

wonder wrote:
simongmzlj wrote:

@tririver: Do you have more then 1 tty setup under inittab?

Also, any reason why Aisleriot is missing from gnome-games?

it was removed and now is separate. feel free to package it because i'm not interested to do it.

http://git.gnome.org/browse/gnome-games … =aisleriot
http://download.gnome.org/sources/aisle … 1.1.tar.xz

Challenge accepted: https://aur.archlinux.org/packages.php?ID=52469

Just wondering how I should handle scores as I noticed removing gnome-games deletes that folder, right? Also, should this package depend directly on gnome-games?

EDIT: spelling

Last edited by simongmzlj (2011-09-17 23:24:59)

Offline

#102 2011-09-17 23:33:11

HeSaid
Member
From: southwest Florida USA
Registered: 2010-07-02
Posts: 53

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

@simongmzlj
Thank you.  I enjoy aisleriot and mahjongg to occupy myself while waiting in doctors' offices.
--
Neal


Registered Linux User 159445.

Offline

#103 2011-09-17 23:36:11

HeSaid
Member
From: southwest Florida USA
Registered: 2010-07-02
Posts: 53

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

@Sara
Yep, same situation here.  I tried using slim to avoid that issue, but then another surfaces... the gnome-keyring not being unlocked problem.  I have just become used to mousing over to login and clicking.  smile
--
Neal


Registered Linux User 159445.

Offline

#104 2011-09-18 00:02:41

HeSaid
Member
From: southwest Florida USA
Registered: 2010-07-02
Posts: 53

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

@wonder
Many, many thanks for your work on gnome3.2 and making it available to us.
--
Neal


Registered Linux User 159445.

Offline

#105 2011-09-18 01:42:50

swiftscythe
Member
From: Rennes, France
Registered: 2009-04-28
Posts: 129
Website

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

Hi, I just updated gnome and I get the following error:
/usr/sbin/gdm-binary: symbol lookup error: /usr/sbin/gdm-binary: undefined symbol: g_cclosure_marshal_generic.

And GDM won't start. Any ideas? Thanks smile

Offline

#106 2011-09-18 01:54:56

simongmzlj
Member
From: Canada
Registered: 2008-11-06
Posts: 135

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

swiftscythe wrote:

Hi, I just updated gnome and I get the following error:
/usr/sbin/gdm-binary: symbol lookup error: /usr/sbin/gdm-binary: undefined symbol: g_cclosure_marshal_generic.

And GDM won't start. Any ideas? Thanks smile

Is gnome-unstable above testing and extra in your pacman.conf? Sounds like you're not using glib from gnome-unstable.

HeSaid wrote:

@simongmzlj
Thank you.  I enjoy aisleriot and mahjongg to occupy myself while waiting in doctors' offices.
--
Neal

No problem. Me too, in general.

Last edited by simongmzlj (2011-09-18 01:55:39)

Offline

#107 2011-09-18 02:31:36

swiftscythe
Member
From: Rennes, France
Registered: 2009-04-28
Posts: 129
Website

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

Thank you very much, testing was on top... Now that gnome-unstable is on top, problem fixed big_smile

Offline

#108 2011-09-18 09:26:15

swiftscythe
Member
From: Rennes, France
Registered: 2009-04-28
Posts: 129
Website

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

Now I'm able to start gnome3 with no display manager and typing gnome-session. But GDM complains:
gdm-binary[1163]: DEBUG(+): Changing user:group to gdm:gdm
gdm-binary[1163]: DEBUG(+): GdmSignalHandler: Adding handler 1: signum=4 (nil)
....
gdm-binary[1163]: DEBUG(+): GdmManager: GDM starting to manage displays
And some more warnings.

I end up with a black login screen where I can only see the mouse, but nothing else appears.

Offline

#109 2011-09-18 09:31:55

fredbezies
Member
Registered: 2011-07-28
Posts: 303

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

Having a bug with rhythmbox. Won't start.

[fred@fredo-arch ~]$ /usr/lib/rhythmbox/plugins/jamendo/jamendo.py:93: Warning: invalid unclassed pointer in cast to `GtkWidget'
  settings=settings.get_child("source"))

(rhythmbox:26032): Gtk-CRITICAL **: gtk_widget_show_all: assertion `GTK_IS_WIDGET (widget)' failed

Smells like it needs a rebuilding because of pygobject recent changes ?!

Offline

#110 2011-09-18 09:31:58

wonder
Developer
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2006-07-05
Posts: 5,937
Website

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

debug messages are normal with gdm unstable.


Give what you have. To someone, it may be better than you dare to think.
Blog

Offline

#111 2011-09-18 09:35:56

swiftscythe
Member
From: Rennes, France
Registered: 2009-04-28
Posts: 129
Website

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

wonder wrote:

debug messages are normal with gdm unstable.

Thanks for the reply, but the fact that GDM doesn't show a login screen shouldn't be normal. Do you want any logs for extra info?

Offline

#112 2011-09-18 10:27:36

wonder
Developer
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2006-07-05
Posts: 5,937
Website

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

swiftscythe wrote:
wonder wrote:

debug messages are normal with gdm unstable.

Thanks for the reply, but the fact that GDM doesn't show a login screen shouldn't be normal. Do you want any logs for extra info?

/var/log/gdm/:0-greeter.log and :0-slave.log


Give what you have. To someone, it may be better than you dare to think.
Blog

Offline

#113 2011-09-18 10:34:26

swiftscythe
Member
From: Rennes, France
Registered: 2009-04-28
Posts: 129
Website

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

wonder wrote:
swiftscythe wrote:
wonder wrote:

debug messages are normal with gdm unstable.

Thanks for the reply, but the fact that GDM doesn't show a login screen shouldn't be normal. Do you want any logs for extra info?

/var/log/gdm/:0-greeter.log and :0-slave.log

Here you are

https://dl-web.dropbox.com/get/Public/g … w=0bdc7dfd

As there are many greeter.log and slave.log, I've sent you all of them, hope it helps

Thank you very much smile

Offline

#114 2011-09-18 10:50:08

wonder
Developer
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2006-07-05
Posts: 5,937
Website

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

swiftscythe wrote:
wonder wrote:
swiftscythe wrote:

Thanks for the reply, but the fact that GDM doesn't show a login screen shouldn't be normal. Do you want any logs for extra info?

/var/log/gdm/:0-greeter.log and :0-slave.log

Here you are

https://dl-web.dropbox.com/get/Public/g … w=0bdc7dfd

As there are many greeter.log and slave.log, I've sent you all of them, hope it helps

Thank you very much smile

use a sane paste service.

pacman -S fb

fb ":0-greeter.log" ":0-slave.log"


Give what you have. To someone, it may be better than you dare to think.
Blog

Offline

#115 2011-09-18 10:56:23

swiftscythe
Member
From: Rennes, France
Registered: 2009-04-28
Posts: 129
Website

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

Okay, didn't know we had such tool in Arch, thanks:
http://paste.xinu.at/NQy7Y/                                         
http://paste.xinu.at/i0qe/

(BTW, I had to type "pacman -S fb-client")

Offline

#116 2011-09-18 11:04:16

wonder
Developer
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2006-07-05
Posts: 5,937
Website

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

swiftscythe wrote:

Okay, didn't know we had such tool in Arch, thanks:
http://paste.xinu.at/NQy7Y/                                         
http://paste.xinu.at/i0qe/

(BTW, I had to type "pacman -S fb-client")


don't you see the problem?:) you are missing some important modules big_smile like metacity.  pacman -S gnome


Give what you have. To someone, it may be better than you dare to think.
Blog

Offline

#117 2011-09-18 11:17:51

swiftscythe
Member
From: Rennes, France
Registered: 2009-04-28
Posts: 129
Website

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

wonder wrote:

don't you see the problem?:) you are missing some important modules big_smile like metacity.  pacman -S gnome

It's strange because I do have metacity installed. Anyway I have just run pacman -S gnome and the problem still exists.

Maybe the problem is in the .log.1 2 3 or 4 files

http://paste.xinu.at/x2wY/
http://paste.xinu.at/6sDuo/

Last edited by swiftscythe (2011-09-18 11:20:13)

Offline

#118 2011-09-18 14:00:47

Taylor001
Member
Registered: 2009-12-07
Posts: 36

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

gnome-control-center 3.1.91 crashes when clicking "System Info".
It only happens when systemd installed. (I have systemd installed, but I don't use it.)

https://bugzilla.gnome.org/show_bug.cgi?id=659367

Offline

#119 2011-09-18 14:44:40

Jodell
Member
Registered: 2009-10-09
Posts: 285

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

Taylor001 wrote:

gnome-control-center 3.1.91 crashes when clicking "System Info".
It only happens when systemd installed. (I have systemd installed, but I don't use it.)

https://bugzilla.gnome.org/show_bug.cgi?id=659367

I use systemd and I can get into "System Info" without crashes.

Offline

#120 2011-09-18 14:53:24

Taylor001
Member
Registered: 2009-12-07
Posts: 36

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

Jodell wrote:
Taylor001 wrote:

gnome-control-center 3.1.91 crashes when clicking "System Info".
It only happens when systemd installed. (I have systemd installed, but I don't use it.)

https://bugzilla.gnome.org/show_bug.cgi?id=659367

I use systemd and I can get into "System Info" without crashes.

Me too, but only if I set init=/bin/systemd.
If I start with the standard Archlinux initscripts BUT with systemd installed, I can't click on "System Info".

Offline

#121 2011-09-19 12:27:29

barabbas
Member
Registered: 2011-04-27
Posts: 6

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

Hi,

just FYI: If nautilus is crashing on startup, complaining about "undefined symbol: dbus_error_init", you might have to build gvfs from git (package can be found in AUR). That solved the issue for me.

Offline

#122 2011-09-19 12:31:39

wonder
Developer
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2006-07-05
Posts: 5,937
Website

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

barabbas wrote:

Hi,

just FYI: If nautilus is crashing on startup, complaining about "undefined symbol: dbus_error_init", you might have to build gvfs from git (package can be found in AUR). That solved the issue for me.

what are you talking about? i'm pretty sure you don't have gnome-unstable in the right position in pacman.conf or you have builds from aur that replaced stock packages

we have gvfs 1.9.5 which is almost master - some translations

Last edited by wonder (2011-09-19 12:34:45)


Give what you have. To someone, it may be better than you dare to think.
Blog

Offline

#123 2011-09-19 13:09:43

barabbas
Member
Registered: 2011-04-27
Posts: 6

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

wonder wrote:

what are you talking about? i'm pretty sure you don't have gnome-unstable in the right position in pacman.conf or you have builds from aur that replaced stock packages

we have gvfs 1.9.5 which is almost master - some translations

I added gnome-unstable to the top-position of the repository-section. I've just installed gvfs from gnome-unstable with "pacman -S gnome-unstable/gvfs". When trying to start nautilus, It crashes with this message:

nautilus: symbol lookup error: /usr/lib/gio/modules/libgioremote-volume-monitor.so: undefined symbol: dbus_error_init

After installing the git-version of gvfs from  AUR, nautilus works for me. So I am not saying, that this is a packaging issue or something - but even if you are right and the problem is caused by replacing stock-packages, other users with the same problem might want to know?

Offline

#124 2011-09-19 13:39:58

wonder
Developer
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2006-07-05
Posts: 5,937
Website

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

libgioremote-volume-monitor.so links to libdbus-1.so.3 which provide dbus_error_init. it's a problem with your dbus-core and i recommend to reinstall it


Give what you have. To someone, it may be better than you dare to think.
Blog

Offline

#125 2011-09-19 15:23:22

perosb
Member
Registered: 2011-09-19
Posts: 12

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

swiftscythe wrote:
wonder wrote:

debug messages are normal with gdm unstable.

Thanks for the reply, but the fact that GDM doesn't show a login screen shouldn't be normal. Do you want any logs for extra info?

isnt that the "auto login" issue?
I get that with auto login enabled but if I disable that I get to the login prompt

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB