You are not logged in.

#1 2011-09-20 16:17:36

Tempest
Member
Registered: 2011-08-01
Posts: 22

dzen2 positioning issues

I'm trying to write a custom status bar script in Ruby that pipes its output to dzen2.  I'm having issues with the positioning features of dzen2.

As an example, say I want to output "A" on the left side and "Z" on the right side of my bar.  By reading the docs, it seems like:

^p(_LEFT)A^p(_RIGHT)Z

should work.  But it doesn't.  It just strips out the ^p commands and displays "AZ" in the center.

How do the ^p tags actually work?  What am I doing wrong here?  I see people using dzen2 all the time so I assume it's an issue on my end, but the documentation for dzen2 is very sparse.

Thanks.

Edit:  Forgot to mention:  I'm using i3, so maybe there's an incompatibility?

Last edited by Tempest (2011-09-22 00:07:32)

Offline

#2 2011-09-21 17:49:44

Tempest
Member
Registered: 2011-08-01
Posts: 22

Re: dzen2 positioning issues

I've done a little bit more experimenting and found that if I use:

^pa(_LEFT)A^pa(_RIGHT)Z

I get a "Z" in the middle of the bar, and the "A" seems to have disappeared.  This is not mentioned anywhere in the dzen2 documentation (that I can find).  Does anyone know how the ^p and ^pa operators actually work?

Offline

#3 2011-09-21 23:24:45

moetunes
Member
From: A comfortable couch
Registered: 2010-10-09
Posts: 1,033

Re: dzen2 positioning issues

I use numbers to set the position e.g. ^pa(180) . I've never seen words being used in anyone elses' configs.

Cheers


You're just jealous because the voices only talk to me.

Offline

#4 2011-09-21 23:48:19

Tempest
Member
Registered: 2011-08-01
Posts: 22

Re: dzen2 positioning issues

Hmm, then how do I have one bit of text left-aligned and the next bit of text right-aligned?  Is this not possible with dzen2?  What other statusbar programs are there that I can use?

Edit:  I'll add this to the main post, but I forgot to mention that I'm using i3.  That probably has something to do with it.

Last edited by Tempest (2011-09-22 00:07:09)

Offline

#5 2011-09-22 06:27:55

jaen
Member
Registered: 2010-12-24
Posts: 21

Re: dzen2 positioning issues

Huh, there is a code for that?
I never noticed it and just used two dzens from the outset.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB