You are not logged in.

#226 2011-09-27 19:09:02

fredbezies
Member
Registered: 2011-07-28
Posts: 294

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

News of my upgrades. All worked well as of now. Used a quick and up-to-date mirror see https://www.archlinux.de/?page=MirrorStatus

Only big missing pieces for now : games, empathy and evolution. Gnome Shell 3.2 rocks and also the new official wallpaper smile

Thanks a thousand times wonder for your work !

Offline

#227 2011-09-27 19:19:11

rAX
Member
From: Algiers
Registered: 2011-05-27
Posts: 85

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

I updated to the available 3.2 packages under Ubuntu and I experienced some weird corrupt text with the ATI open source drivers and mutter 3.2. ATI owners be aware.(I'll report the bugs when I get on Ubuntu again).

Offline

#228 2011-09-27 19:24:24

simongmzlj
Member
From: Canada
Registered: 2008-11-06
Posts: 135

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

Is gmenu-simple-editor broken or do I have something setup wrong?

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/bin/gmenu-simple-editor", line 28, in <module>
    GMenuSimpleEditor.main.main (sys.argv[1:])
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/site-packages/GMenuSimpleEditor/main.py", line 26, in main
    from gi.repository import Gtk
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/site-packages/gi/__init__.py", line 23, in <module>
    from ._gi import _API, Repository
ImportError: could not import gobject (error was: ImportError('When using gi.repository you must not import static modules like "gobject". Please change all occurrences of "import gobject" to "from gi.repository import GObject".',))

Offline

#229 2011-09-27 19:27:22

nordmoen
Member
Registered: 2010-09-25
Posts: 37

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

I'm having a small problem with selected things beeing pink, see: http://bildr.no/image/985264.jpeg
I have updated to the latest release but the problem have been there for a while after I upgraded to 3.2, I havn't asked before because I thought it would go away with the final realease.

Offline

#230 2011-09-27 19:34:04

wonder
Developer
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2006-07-05
Posts: 5,937
Website

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

@simongmzlj fixed in git

@nordmoen sounds like something is broken in your locale

Last edited by wonder (2011-09-27 19:50:38)


Give what you have. To someone, it may be better than you dare to think.
Blog

Offline

#231 2011-09-27 19:56:34

sironitomas
Member
From: Cordoba, Argentina
Registered: 2009-11-28
Posts: 174
Website

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

After updating to 3.2 I still have the same errors (no wallpaper, ugly theme). I tried using a different user and there are no problems. I moved my home folder to a new empty one to see if the problem was related to a config file, but the problems still there.

Gnome must have some kind of database (out of $HOME), storing settings for each user. How do I RESET those settings?

This is very weird.

Offline

#232 2011-09-27 19:58:47

wonder
Developer
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2006-07-05
Posts: 5,937
Website

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

sironitomas wrote:

After updating to 3.2 I still have the same errors (no wallpaper, ugly theme). I tried using a different user and there are no problems. I moved my home folder to a new empty one to see if the problem was related to a config file, but the problems still there.

Gnome must have some kind of database (out of $HOME), storing settings for each user. How do I RESET those settings?

This is very weird.

~/.config/dconf


Give what you have. To someone, it may be better than you dare to think.
Blog

Offline

#233 2011-09-27 20:01:46

hotweiss
Member
From: Warsaw, Poland
Registered: 2011-08-21
Posts: 26
Website

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

Newb question: So is 3.2 coming in to the Extra repo's tomorrow? The release date is the 28th...

Last edited by hotweiss (2011-09-27 20:03:54)

Offline

#234 2011-09-27 20:09:10

sironitomas
Member
From: Cordoba, Argentina
Registered: 2009-11-28
Posts: 174
Website

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

wonder wrote:

~/.config/dconf

Well, I have deleted that folder. Everything is reset, but the theme is still ugly. That doesn't happen with the other users in my system.

Offline

#235 2011-09-27 20:19:33

wonder
Developer
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2006-07-05
Posts: 5,937
Website

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

sironitomas wrote:
wonder wrote:

~/.config/dconf

Well, I have deleted that folder. Everything is reset, but the theme is still ugly. That doesn't happen with the other users in my system.

you can also try to delete ~/.gconf


Give what you have. To someone, it may be better than you dare to think.
Blog

Offline

#236 2011-09-27 20:40:39

zachtib
Member
Registered: 2006-03-09
Posts: 20

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

ilike wrote:

Both are using xorg-server 1.10.4-1.
Laptop: Intel GMA 4500MHD
Desktop: GeForce GTS 250

On the desktop-pc I upgraded from Gnome 2, the laptop has a "clean" installation of 3.x...

/edit: The 3.2-update solved this issue. smile

Excellent! I'm sshed to my home PC from work, and just saw that update go by. Very excited...

Offline

#237 2011-09-27 21:25:44

thanos
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2008-11-22
Posts: 22

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

sironitomas wrote:

Well, I have deleted that folder. Everything is reset, but the theme is still ugly. That doesn't happen with the other users in my system.

Did you try it ?

thanos wrote:

@sironitomas

About the awful theme try to re-install mutter and clutter.I solved it by this way.

Offline

#238 2011-09-27 22:50:08

jaco
Member
From: Toulouse, France
Registered: 2011-03-17
Posts: 149

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

So far, so good, except same problems i encountered with 3.0 : junky management of two displays when the second is "on top" of the primary and crash with extension-dock 3.2...
I suspect my video card (Intel Sandy bridge chipset) to be the culprit as i've not the problem with extension-dock on my desktop box.

Offline

#239 2011-09-27 23:27:12

sironitomas
Member
From: Cordoba, Argentina
Registered: 2009-11-28
Posts: 174
Website

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

thanos wrote:

Did you try it ?

thanos wrote:

@sironitomas

About the awful theme try to re-install mutter and clutter.I solved it by this way.

I tried it like a thousand times. The weird thing is, that hapens only in my user, no the others.

Offline

#240 2011-09-27 23:48:27

dmotd
Member
Registered: 2009-12-13
Posts: 14

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

@wonder, i just got the epiphany bugzilla updates to my inbox, thanks for taking care of that.. sorry i didn't check back here after i made the initial report (super busy!). much appreciated.

wonder wrote:
dmotd wrote:
wonder wrote:

@dmotd, sounds like a bug. now they are using dbus to detect if networkmanager is present or not. Care to report it?

http://git.gnome.org/browse/epiphany/co … 18e67b046d

Bug filed:
https://bugzilla.gnome.org/show_bug.cgi?id=659103

recompile epiphany,gtk3 and glib2 with debug symbols and repost the trace https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/De … tings_only

Offline

#241 2011-09-27 23:52:52

flamelab
Member
From: Athens, Hellas (Greece)
Registered: 2007-12-26
Posts: 2,160

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

Ηaven't tried it yet, but a fast question: do the extensions work on this version of gnome-shell ? Do we need any edits or something ?

Last edited by flamelab (2011-09-28 00:00:50)

Offline

#242 2011-09-28 00:16:06

Jodell
Member
Registered: 2009-10-09
Posts: 285

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

flamelab wrote:

Ηaven't tried it yet, but a fast question: do the extensions work on this version of gnome-shell ? Do we need any edits or something ?

The alternative status menu causes gnome-shell to crash for me. The others I've tried seem to work though.

Offline

#243 2011-09-28 01:04:34

sironitomas
Member
From: Cordoba, Argentina
Registered: 2009-11-28
Posts: 174
Website

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

I finally solved my problem. This is what i did:

- I changed my user's home folder to a new blank one
- I started gnome there. It started totally fine
- I copied everything (cp -a /home/new/* /home/old/) from the new folder to the old one
- I changed my user's home folder to the original one
- Gnome started as in the other home profile.

Offline

#244 2011-09-28 05:23:21

fredbezies
Member
Registered: 2011-07-28
Posts: 294

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

Jodell wrote:
flamelab wrote:

Ηaven't tried it yet, but a fast question: do the extensions work on this version of gnome-shell ? Do we need any edits or something ?

The alternative status menu causes gnome-shell to crash for me. The others I've tried seem to work though.

Well see the same here. Too bad. The only one I'm using. Will try git version, in order to see if it crashes too !

Reporting bug upstream could be the solution here ?!

Last edited by fredbezies (2011-09-28 05:31:47)

Offline

#245 2011-09-28 06:36:03

nardusg
Member
From: South Africa
Registered: 2011-09-26
Posts: 6

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

Hey

Ok... Been testing and enjoying the betas and rc's. How do I drop gnome-unstable without breaking my system ?

Thanks

Offline

#246 2011-09-28 06:50:46

nordmoen
Member
Registered: 2010-09-25
Posts: 37

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

wonder wrote:

@nordmoen sounds like something is broken in your locale

I think I explained it a bit wrong, because it happens all over Gnome, but I deleted gconf and dconf and the problem is gone smile

Offline

#247 2011-09-28 07:02:20

fredbezies
Member
Registered: 2011-07-28
Posts: 294

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

nardusg wrote:

Hey

Ok... Been testing and enjoying the betas and rc's. How do I drop gnome-unstable without breaking my system ?

Thanks

Wait until gnome 3.2 hits [testing] or [extra]. Not before.

Offline

#248 2011-09-28 07:14:59

Cdh
Member
Registered: 2009-02-03
Posts: 1,098

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

Maybe this is the wrong place to ask, but is the broadway html5 backend working for anybody?
Everything segfaults for me when I try it. I had a look at this maybe outdated post:
http://blogs.gnome.org/alexl/2011/03/15 … nd-update/
So I added those options to the gtk3 PKGBUILD from gnome-unstable, but...

chris@chrisl ~ % GDK_BACKEND=broadway gedit
[1]    31883 segmentation fault (core dumped)  GDK_BACKEND=broadway gedit
139 chris@chrisl ~ % gdb gedit core
GNU gdb (GDB) 7.3.1
Copyright (C) 2011 Free Software Foundation, Inc.
License GPLv3+: GNU GPL version 3 or later <http://gnu.org/licenses/gpl.html>
This is free software: you are free to change and redistribute it.
There is NO WARRANTY, to the extent permitted by law.  Type "show copying"
and "show warranty" for details.
This GDB was configured as "x86_64-unknown-linux-gnu".
For bug reporting instructions, please see:
<http://www.gnu.org/software/gdb/bugs/>...
Reading symbols from /usr/bin/gedit...(no debugging symbols found)...done.
[New LWP 31883]

warning: Can't read pathname for load map: Eingabe-/Ausgabefehler.
[Thread debugging using libthread_db enabled]
Core was generated by `gedit'.
Program terminated with signal 11, Segmentation fault.
#0  0x00007f7b83c88c91 in gdk_x11_atom_to_xatom_for_display () from /usr/lib/libgdk-3.so.0
(gdb)

฿ 18PRsqbZCrwPUrVnJe1BZvza7bwSDbpxZz

Offline

#249 2011-09-28 07:16:31

wonder
Developer
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2006-07-05
Posts: 5,937
Website

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

@Cdh broadway is not enabled but if you want to debug this issue, you should compile gtk3 and gedit with debug
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/De … tings_only

Last edited by wonder (2011-09-28 07:20:40)


Give what you have. To someone, it may be better than you dare to think.
Blog

Offline

#250 2011-09-28 08:21:16

Kubino
Member
Registered: 2011-05-08
Posts: 19

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

Jodell wrote:
flamelab wrote:

Ηaven't tried it yet, but a fast question: do the extensions work on this version of gnome-shell ? Do we need any edits or something ?

The alternative status menu causes gnome-shell to crash for me. The others I've tried seem to work though.

I have problem with extensions Windowlist and Pidgin Status Icon.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB