You are not logged in.

#1 2011-09-28 18:59:42

Pank
Member
From: IT
Registered: 2009-06-13
Posts: 370

The Humble Frozen Synapse Bundle

The Humble Frozen Synapse Bundle is released here.

The games are

* Frozen Synapse;
* Trine;
* Shadowgrounds: Survivor;
* Shadowgrounds;
* Jack Claw;
* Frozenbyte;
* and Splot upon release


If anybody write up a PKGBUILD for Frozen Synapse before me let me know.

Thanks,
Rasmus


Arch x64 on Thinkpad X200s/W530

Offline

#2 2011-09-29 02:00:39

Anthony Bentley
Member
Registered: 2009-12-21
Posts: 76

Re: The Humble Frozen Synapse Bundle

Any word on whether the source code for Frozen Synapse will be released?

All of these except Frozen Synapse were part of the Humble Frozenbyte Bundle. Of those, only the Shadowgrounds games were open‐sourced. (Open‐sourced games from previous bundles include Aquaria, Gish, Lugaru HD, Penumbra, Revenge of the Titans. AFAIK nothing from the Humble Indie Bundle 3 was open‐sourced.)

Offline

#3 2011-09-29 04:04:47

Cilph
Member
Registered: 2011-05-01
Posts: 28

Re: The Humble Frozen Synapse Bundle

Too much Humble Bundles in such a short time. It's starting to lose its effect. Plus there's only one game in this bundle making it feel more like a promotional stunt than an actual charity fundraiser. I still buy everyone Bundle with twice the average Linux price though.

Offline

#4 2011-09-29 09:35:51

SidK
Member
Registered: 2011-03-03
Posts: 116

Re: The Humble Frozen Synapse Bundle

Anthony Bentley wrote:

Any word on whether the source code for Frozen Synapse will be released?

Frozen Synapse is highly unlikely to be open sourced. What I have heard related to this is that if, and this is very unlikely, something happens to mode7games so they can no longer run the servers, then they'd give it over to others so the game can still be played.

The linux client works well though. I'm told that it works on 64 bit if you have multlib installed. I don't have a 64 bit linux installation to test it on myself. The only issue I've had with the linux version is setting custom resolutions. On a dual screen setup it'll take both full screens. For now I solve this by disabling one screen, starting the game and re-enabling it. As a fallback the windows version works flawlessly through wine, which is how most of us linux people were playing beforehand.

Update: A fellow arch gamer pointed out you can tell Xorg the available resolutions, something along the lines of

### NVIDIA DUALHEAD ###
Section "Device"
	Identifier	"Device_Nvidia_DualHead"
	Driver		"nvidia"
	Screen		0
	Option 		"HWCursor"					"on"
	Option		"UseFBDev"					"true"
	Option		"NvAGP"						"1"
		Option		"AllowGLXWithComposite"		"true"
		Option		"RenderAccel"				"true"
		Option		"XAANoOffscreenPixmaps"		#COMPIZ
		Option		"AddARGBGLXVisuals"			"true" #COMPIZ
		Option		"AddARGBVisuals"			"true" #COMPIZ
	Option		"ConnectedMonitor"			"DFP-0, DFP-1"


	## TWinView ##
	Option		"TwinView"
	Option		"TwinViewOrientation"		"rightof"
	Option 		"MetaModes"					"1920x1080,1920x1080; 1920x1080,NULL; 1680x1050,NULL; 1024x768,NULL; 800x600,NULL; 640x480,NULL;"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
	Identifier		"Screen_Nvidia_DualHead"
	Device			"Device_Nvidia_DualHead"
	Monitor			"SyncMasterXL2370-1"
	DefaultDepth	24
	SubSection		"Display"
		Depth		24
		Modes		"1920x1080" "1680x1050" "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480" "320x240" "320x200"
	EndSubSection
EndSection
### END NVIDIA DUALHEAD ###
Pank wrote:

If anybody write up a PKGBUILD for Frozen Synapse before me let me know.

I would love to maintain a FS package in the AUR. It is however not trivial as I cannot see a way to script the installer. If you set $DISPLAY="" then it'll run in text mode, but that's still not good enough for a PKGBUILD. Perhaps the files can be extracted from the setup file another way. It uses mojosetup.

Last edited by SidK (2011-09-29 10:38:39)

Offline

#5 2011-09-29 17:57:15

jofa
Member
Registered: 2006-10-27
Posts: 32

Re: The Humble Frozen Synapse Bundle

I'm having problems getting sound:

$ ./FrozenSynapse 
ALSA lib dlmisc.c:236:(snd1_dlobj_cache_get) Cannot open shared library /usr/lib32/alsa-lib/libasound_module_pcm_pulse.so
AL lib: sdl.c:208: SDL_OpenAudio failed: No available audio device

It seems I have the lib installed:

$ ls -alF /usr/lib32/alsa-lib/libasound_module_pcm_pulse.so
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 18380 22 feb  2011 /usr/lib32/alsa-lib/libasound_module_pcm_pulse.so*

Any ideas? Sound is working in other apps.

Offline

#6 2011-09-30 11:37:18

e3k
Member
Registered: 2011-01-12
Posts: 10

Re: The Humble Frozen Synapse Bundle

@jofa: same issue on gentoo. i opened a post at their forum: http://forums.mode7games.com/viewtopic.php?f=21&t=3653

Offline

#7 2011-09-30 11:51:03

Cilph
Member
Registered: 2011-05-01
Posts: 28

Re: The Humble Frozen Synapse Bundle

The game was ported by icculus, so post it here instead: https://bugzilla.icculus.org/buglist.cg … en+Synapse. Can't help as I use PulseAudio myself. All I can say is, make sure you have the lib32's required.

Last edited by Cilph (2011-09-30 11:53:14)

Offline

#8 2011-09-30 13:49:04

Arthur_D
Member
Registered: 2011-09-29
Posts: 4

Re: The Humble Frozen Synapse Bundle

You may need lib32-libpulse, I installed that and lib32-libvorbis and a bunch of other libs, and it worked.

Offline

#9 2011-09-30 20:07:46

jofa
Member
Registered: 2006-10-27
Posts: 32

Re: The Humble Frozen Synapse Bundle

Thank you! Arthur_D's suggestion got sound working, but it's really noisy. I'll look into it. Perhaps a PulseAudio, or lack thereof issue? Haven't really done any sound setup...

Arthur_D wrote:

You may need lib32-libpulse, I installed that and lib32-libvorbis and a bunch of other libs, and it worked.

Offline

#10 2011-10-02 16:25:03

el mariachi
Member
Registered: 2007-11-30
Posts: 587

Re: The Humble Frozen Synapse Bundle

I can't play Shadowgrounds.. it complains about libGLU (I have the multilib repo enabled). Which package provides it?

./shadowgrounds-bin: error while loading shared libraries: libGLU.so.1: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

and the launcher:

./shadowgrounds-launcher: error while loading shared libraries: libgobject-2.0.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

Last edited by el mariachi (2011-10-02 16:27:48)

Offline

#11 2011-10-02 16:27:57

skottish
Forum Fellow
From: Here
Registered: 2006-06-16
Posts: 7,931

Re: The Humble Frozen Synapse Bundle

el mariachi wrote:

I can't play Shadowgrounds.. it complains about libGLU (I have the multilib repo enabled). Which package provides it?

Install pkgtools and use pkgfile to find libraries:

~ > pkgfile libGLU.so.1
extra/mesa
community/amaya

Last edited by skottish (2011-10-02 16:31:24)

Offline

#12 2011-10-02 18:35:16

el mariachi
Member
Registered: 2007-11-30
Posts: 587

Re: The Humble Frozen Synapse Bundle

It doesn't find anything for the libgobject one
Now it shows this (all libs installed: Got signal 11 at (nil) from 0xf613ddfb

Last edited by el mariachi (2011-10-02 18:43:32)

Offline

#13 2011-10-03 15:11:03

gregmits
Member
From: Xanthi, Greece
Registered: 2010-11-01
Posts: 17

Re: The Humble Frozen Synapse Bundle

Is there a PKGBUILD for TRAUMA ?

Offline

#14 2011-10-04 13:08:08

Fal
Member
Registered: 2007-03-21
Posts: 30

Re: The Humble Frozen Synapse Bundle

I had some problems with Shadowgrounds. solved by preloading a failing library. LD_PRELOAD=/usr/lib32/alsa-lib/libasound_module_pcm_pulse.so

Offline

#15 2011-10-05 03:36:55

matt.woelk
Member
Registered: 2010-03-15
Posts: 2

Re: The Humble Frozen Synapse Bundle

For trauma, I do not have a pkgbuild, but I got it to work by un tar.gz-ing it

tar xvfz trauma.tar.gz

and then running the 'run trauma' file

./run\ trauma

which opens it up in Adobe Flash Player.

I don't know how to make a pkgbuild file, but maybe I'll try it out for this one. Let me know if you beat me to it. :)

Last edited by matt.woelk (2011-10-05 21:19:56)

Offline

#16 2011-10-05 23:06:57

SidK
Member
Registered: 2011-03-03
Posts: 116

Re: The Humble Frozen Synapse Bundle

SpaceChem was just added to the bundle. I've created a PKGBUILD, though I'd appreciate a quick glance from others before it goes into the AUR.

# Maintainer: Sid Karunaratne <sakaru at gmail dot com>

pkgname=spacechem
pkgver=1012
pkgrel=1
pkgdesc="an obscenely addictive, design-based puzzle game about building machines and fighting monsters in the name of science"
url="http://www.spacechemthegame.com"
license=('custom')
arch=('i686')
depends=('mono')
source=(SpaceChem-1012-hib.tar.gz)
md5sums=('9be384de1dceb7efacee7b3d833d9cab')

build() {
	cd $srcdir
	ar x SpaceChem-i386.deb
	tar xzf data.tar.gz
}

package() {
	mkdir -p ${pkgdir}/usr/share/licenses/${pkgname}
	cp ${srcdir}/opt/zachtronicsindustries/spacechem/readme/LICENSE.txt ${pkgdir}/usr/share/licenses/${pkgname}/
	
	cp -r ${srcdir}/usr ${pkgdir}/
	mv ${pkgdir}/usr/bin/zachtronicsindustries-spacechem ${pkgdir}/usr/bin/spacechem
	cp -r ${srcdir}/opt ${pkgdir}/
}

I think it'll work on x86_64 as is. There is a script inside the original .tar.gz which converts the .deb to 64 bit however it only converts the control files, not any actual data. So I think it'll work without bothering with that.

Edit: Bah, never mind, it's already in the AUR: https://aur.archlinux.org/packages.php?K=spacechem

Last edited by SidK (2011-10-05 23:55:17)

Offline

#17 2011-10-06 04:47:26

dcc24
Member
Registered: 2009-10-31
Posts: 723

Re: The Humble Frozen Synapse Bundle


It is better to keep your mouth shut and be thought a fool than to open it and remove all doubt. (Mark Twain)

My AUR packages

Offline

#18 2011-10-09 08:49:59

Cdh
Member
Registered: 2009-02-03
Posts: 1,098

Re: The Humble Frozen Synapse Bundle

Does the claw beta run for somebody?

chris@chrisl ~/games/hb-frozensynapse/clawBeta3 % ./claw-bin
ALSA lib pcm.c:2104:(snd_pcm_open_conf) Cannot open shared library /usr/lib/alsa-lib/libasound_module_pcm_pulse.so
Got signal 11 at (nil) from 0xf6aeadfb
chris@chrisl ~/games/hb-frozensynapse/clawBeta3 % LD_PRELOAD=lib32/libasound_module_pcm_pulse.so ./claw-bin
Got signal 11 at (nil) from 0xf69cbdfb
chris@chrisl ~/games/hb-frozensynapse/clawBeta3 % LD_PRELOAD=/usr/lib32/alsa-lib/libasound_module_pcm_pulse.so ./claw-bin
Got signal 11 at (nil) from 0xf69d1dfb
chris@chrisl ~/games/hb-frozensynapse/clawBeta3 %

I also wonder: What is the excuse for releasing software for only 32 bit in the year 2011?


฿ 18PRsqbZCrwPUrVnJe1BZvza7bwSDbpxZz

Offline

#19 2011-10-09 12:40:39

ChemBro
Member
Registered: 2008-10-22
Posts: 667

Re: The Humble Frozen Synapse Bundle

Cdh wrote:

Does the claw beta run for somebody?

It ran for me last time I played it (when Humble Frozenbyte Bundle was released).

I also wonder: What is the excuse for releasing software for only 32 bit in the year 2011?

It's an unfinished game and they won't finish it. It was developed between 2006 and 2008, not until 2011. Also it is open-source.

Offline

#20 2012-11-20 13:26:24

tlamer
Member
From: Bratislava, Slovakia.
Registered: 2010-02-04
Posts: 42

Re: The Humble Frozen Synapse Bundle

Hi,

i bought me a new laptop (until now ive used asus eee so i didnt play any games). Im running a 64bit archlinux. The installation of FS went allright, but when the game is running it uses all CPU and is rather slow. I have intel i5 2.6GHz with Intel HD graphics 4000 so i thought that it should run fine.. any ideas how can i fix it?

Thanks


:wq

Offline

#21 2012-11-20 14:30:12

SidK
Member
Registered: 2011-03-03
Posts: 116

Re: The Humble Frozen Synapse Bundle

It should indeed run fine on that. You can turn off the animated backgrounds which should help. If you need further help specifically for FS I'd suggest you stick around on their IRC instead of posting here (you'll have to idle around a bit as responses aren't always immediate).

Offline

#22 2012-11-20 15:10:40

tlamer
Member
From: Bratislava, Slovakia.
Registered: 2010-02-04
Posts: 42

Re: The Humble Frozen Synapse Bundle

I have disabled the animated background but no difference... I'll try te irc channel...

Thanks

Last edited by tlamer (2012-11-20 15:10:50)


:wq

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB