You are not logged in.

#1 2011-10-01 01:48:21

bananagranola
Member
From: US
Registered: 2011-08-07
Posts: 88
Website

[SOLVED] Installing Steam on Wine in 64-bit Arch

I installed wine, winetricks, and wine_gecko in a 64-bit installation of Arch, according to the Arch Wiki page on Steam.

After googling and reading some forum pages, I also installed corefonts using winetricks.

I'm getting a login screen, but then it crashes.

When I cd into ~/.wine/drive_c/Program Files (x86)/Steam and run:
wine Steam.exe

I get this in the console:

wine Steam.exe
err:module:load_builtin_dll failed to load .so lib for builtin L"winemp3.acm": libmpg123.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
fixme:process:GetLogicalProcessorInformation ((nil),0x32e4b4): stub
fixme:process:GetLogicalProcessorInformation (0x1ec03f8,0x32e4b4): stub
fixme:process:SetProcessShutdownParameters (00000100, 00000000): partial stub.
err:ntlm:SECUR32_initNTLMSP ntlm_auth was not found or is outdated. Make sure that ntlm_auth >= 3.0.25 is in your path.
err:ntlm:SECUR32_initNTLMSP Usually, you can find it in the winbind package of your distribution.
fixme:dwmapi:DwmSetWindowAttribute (0x100ac, 2, 0x32d388, 4) stub
fixme:dwmapi:DwmSetWindowAttribute (0x100ac, 3, 0x32d394, 4) stub
fixme:dwmapi:DwmSetWindowAttribute (0x100ac, 4, 0x32d384, 4) stub
fixme:toolhelp:CreateToolhelp32Snapshot Unimplemented: heap list snapshot
fixme:toolhelp:Heap32ListFirst : stub
fixme:alsa:AudioClient_GetMixFormat Don't know what to do with 10000 channels, pretending there's only 2 channels
fixme:alsa:AudioClient_GetMixFormat Don't know what to do with 10000 channels, pretending there's only 2 channels
fixme:alsa:AudioClient_GetMixFormat Don't know what to do with 10000 channels, pretending there's only 2 channels
fixme:mixer:ALSA_MixerInit No master control found on HD-Audio Generic, disabling mixer
fixme:mixer:ALSA_MixerInit No master control found on ThinkPad Console Audio Control, disabling mixer
fixme:wave:ALSA_ComputeCaps Device has a minimum of 2 channels
fixme:wave:ALSA_ComputeCaps Device has a minimum of 2 channels
fixme:dwmapi:DwmSetWindowAttribute (0x20022, 2, 0x32d848, 4) stub
fixme:dwmapi:DwmSetWindowAttribute (0x20022, 3, 0x32d854, 4) stub
fixme:dwmapi:DwmSetWindowAttribute (0x20022, 4, 0x32d844, 4) stub
err:ole:CoGetClassObject class {77f10cf0-3db5-4966-b520-b7c54fd35ed6} not registered
err:ole:CoGetClassObject no class object {77f10cf0-3db5-4966-b520-b7c54fd35ed6} could be created for context 0x1
Assert( Assertion Failed: bRet ):.\hardware_win32.cpp:583

fixme:process:GetLogicalProcessorInformation ((nil),0x33fc7c): stub
fixme:process:GetLogicalProcessorInformation (0x435c00,0x33fc7c): stub
fixme:dbghelp:elf_search_auxv can't find symbol in module
err:ole:CoGetClassObject class {dff32fea-3331-48da-a272-ccfc238695be} not registered
err:ole:CoGetClassObject class {dff32fea-3331-48da-a272-ccfc238695be} not registered
err:ole:create_server class {dff32fea-3331-48da-a272-ccfc238695be} not registered
fixme:ole:CoGetClassObject CLSCTX_REMOTE_SERVER not supported
err:ole:CoGetClassObject no class object {dff32fea-3331-48da-a272-ccfc238695be} could be created for context 0x17
fixme:dwmapi:DwmSetWindowAttribute (0x200ba, 2, 0x32d860, 4) stub
fixme:dwmapi:DwmSetWindowAttribute (0x200ba, 3, 0x32d86c, 4) stub
fixme:dwmapi:DwmSetWindowAttribute (0x200ba, 4, 0x32d85c, 4) stub
fixme:dwmapi:DwmSetWindowAttribute (0x200b2, 2, 0x32d338, 4) stub
fixme:dwmapi:DwmSetWindowAttribute (0x200b2, 3, 0x32d344, 4) stub
fixme:dwmapi:DwmSetWindowAttribute (0x200b2, 4, 0x32d334, 4) stub
fixme:winhttp:WinHttpGetIEProxyConfigForCurrentUser returning no proxy used
fixme:win:RegisterDeviceNotificationA (hwnd=0x200b2, filter=0x32d5e4,flags=0x00000004) returns a fake device notification handle!
fixme:dwmapi:DwmSetWindowAttribute (0x100d4, 2, 0x32d974, 4) stub
fixme:dwmapi:DwmSetWindowAttribute (0x100d4, 3, 0x32d980, 4) stub
fixme:dwmapi:DwmSetWindowAttribute (0x100d4, 4, 0x32d970, 4) stub
fixme:dwmapi:DwmSetWindowAttribute (0x10110, 2, 0x32d47c, 4) stub
fixme:dwmapi:DwmSetWindowAttribute (0x10110, 3, 0x32d488, 4) stub
fixme:dwmapi:DwmSetWindowAttribute (0x10110, 4, 0x32d478, 4) stub
fixme:winhttp:WinHttpGetIEProxyConfigForCurrentUser returning no proxy used
fixme:winhttp:WinHttpGetIEProxyConfigForCurrentUser returning no proxy used
fixme:d3d_caps:wined3d_guess_card No card selector available for GL vendor 4 and card vendor 0000.
fixme:process:GetLogicalProcessorInformation ((nil),0x33fc7c): stub
fixme:process:GetLogicalProcessorInformation (0x435c00,0x33fc7c): stub
fixme:dbghelp:elf_search_auxv can't find symbol in module

Does anyone know what's going on? I tried to find libmpg123, but couldn't. Someone said to install Windows Media Player 9, and I tried, but winetricks told me I needed to have WMP7 installed first.

Thanks in advance!

Last edited by bananagranola (2011-10-02 17:10:36)

Offline

#2 2011-10-01 03:00:19

FrozenFox
Member
From: College Station, TX
Registered: 2008-03-23
Posts: 422
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Installing Steam on Wine in 64-bit Arch

What drivers are you using for video? Steam in wine should at least run out of the box. Last time I had the issue of it crashing after sign-in, it was because of the proprietary video drivers not being installed properly. The libmpg thing is not related, nor is the ntlm_auth stuff. You don't need wmp9 installed to run steam. Wmp9 is only needed for some pretty rare games/programs that won't properly play video or run without it.

EDIT: Typo + info.

Last edited by FrozenFox (2011-10-01 03:04:07)

Offline

#3 2011-10-01 03:51:16

bananagranola
Member
From: US
Registered: 2011-08-07
Posts: 88
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Installing Steam on Wine in 64-bit Arch

I'm using xf86-video-ati. It should be working fine...pacman says it's installed. Just in case this verifies anything, I'm running Battle for Wesnoth (regular) and Internet Explorer (wine) fine.

Is the "Assert" the problem then?

Offline

#4 2011-10-01 10:36:25

FrozenFox
Member
From: College Station, TX
Registered: 2008-03-23
Posts: 422
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Installing Steam on Wine in 64-bit Arch

bananagranola wrote:

Is the "Assert" the problem then?

I'm not sure, but probably. I know the other two aren't problematic as I've had them forever, along with the ole lines, without trouble that I recall. Afaict the mp3 one is just complaining that wine can't play certain sound formats the program may or may not wish to use. The requested packages should be mpg123/lib32-mpg123 from [extra] and [multilib] respectively, if you want to try anyway, but I doubt those will fix the issue. My only suggestion is, if direct rendering is indeed working properly (glxinfo | grep direct).. if you know how to quickly and easily try out the catalyst drivers instead, try that and see if it works just to find out whether or not my hunch is correct. If that doesn't work, I'm afraid I'm out of ideas other than starting over with a new ~/.wine folder, which I suspect you've already done.

Last edited by FrozenFox (2011-10-01 10:40:57)

Offline

#5 2011-10-01 12:37:48

darkrevenant
Member
From: Indonesia
Registered: 2011-09-22
Posts: 20
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Installing Steam on Wine in 64-bit Arch

Just follow WineHQ Appdb guide for this one :

http://appdb.winehq.org/objectManager.p … &iId=19444

and for libmpg, I think its lib32-mpg123 for x64.


imagine that the world is only a game.
- Visit me -

Offline

#6 2011-10-01 14:36:43

Zom
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2007-10-27
Posts: 406

Re: [SOLVED] Installing Steam on Wine in 64-bit Arch

~/.wine/drive_c/Program Files (x86)/Steam

Are you sure you made a 32-bit wineprefix?

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Wi … g_WINEARCH

Offline

#7 2011-10-01 17:18:30

bananagranola
Member
From: US
Registered: 2011-08-07
Posts: 88
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Installing Steam on Wine in 64-bit Arch

Wow, that was a lot of responses!

Starting from the top:

I installed mpg123 and lib32-mpg123.

glxinfo | grep direct

shows

direct rendering: yes

. I have tried deleting and making a new .wine; you're right, it didn't work. How would I try out the catalyst drivers?

I did make a 32-bit wineprefix; Steam is in the (x86) Program Files, not the other one. I ran

WINEARCH=win32 winecfg

Per the WineHQ site, I added

# Send and receive buffer sizes to make steam happy
net.core.rmem_max = 131072
net.core.wmem_max = 131072 

to /etc/sysctl.conf and ran sysctl -p.

It's still giving the same errors, minus the mpg123 errors. Weird...
Thanks for the help, everyone!

EDIT: It also says this when running.

fixme:winhttp:WinHttpGetIEProxyConfigForCurrentUser returning no proxy used

Last edited by bananagranola (2011-10-01 19:16:55)

Offline

#8 2011-10-02 17:10:17

bananagranola
Member
From: US
Registered: 2011-08-07
Posts: 88
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Installing Steam on Wine in 64-bit Arch

Hi, everyone! I've got it working. Per FrozenFox's recommendation, I replaced xf86-video-ati with the proprietary ATI Catalyist driver. And bada bing, Steam worked!

Thanks to everyone who helped!!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB