You are not logged in.

#1 2010-07-30 17:34:28

manzinger

CMS written in C?

Hi

Is it possible to write a CMS (content management system) in pure C? How would the best way to approach it?
I'm a C beginner and thought this would be a nice project to enhance my C skills.
The CMS should be as simple as possible. My webserver is lighttpd.
Any advice is welcome.

#2 2010-07-30 17:39:46

karol
Archivist

Re: CMS written in C?

I'm not a dev, but maybe you should start with simpler tasks: a clock, a calculator, calendar - you can combine them into your CMS one day.

#3 2010-07-30 20:29:30

j.roszk
Website

I think you may end up with a realization of Greenspun's Tenth Rule. In this particular case you can replace Common Lisp with PHP smile

But you asked for advice. I would try to implement some kind of static HTML page generator + curses or gui based progam to fill database records with data. If you need anything to be displayed dynamically (e.g. visitor counter) you can generate PHP code and run it every time through the interpreter with lighthttpd. Later on you can replace it with custom CGI script and generate everything on the fly.

If I were you I would use a different tool for the job.

Last edited by j.roszk (2010-07-30 20:36:59)

#4 2010-07-31 09:02:27

simlan

I would not try that with C. C is ~portable compiler things like webservers are written with it but you would have to implement many old wheels that alredy exists for other languages.

#5 2010-07-31 12:11:33

manzinger

you're probably right. I just found this: http://sourceforge.net/projects/damn-small-cms/
but it seems to be abandonded for years with the code no longer available.

I also found that this guy obviously has his own C CMS, but it's not open source:  http://blog.fefe.de/faq.html
but he also wrote his own webserver and some custom libs for it, which is way beyond my understandings yet.

#6 2010-07-31 12:14:40

karol
Archivist

manzinger wrote: