You are not logged in.

#1 2010-08-03 22:27:50

scar
Member
From: Hungary
Registered: 2009-10-01
Posts: 418

monitorix - no graphs [SOLVED]

hello

I've tried to install monitorix with lighttpd as described in the wiki page ( MONITORIX )

services are starting fine, but I don't have any graphs, even after 15 minutes

the wiki states:

"Data collection will occur once per minute triggered via a cron job (/etc/cron.d/monitorix)."

but i don't have this cron job on my filesystem...

maybe that is the problem, but how can I fix it?

**** EDIT ****

Have installed monitorix on an ubuntu vm too, it works flawlessly

I have copied the cron job from ubuntu to my arch box, and now both work fine

the cron job was :

( /etc/cron.d/monitorix )
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

# @(#) Fibranet NSP, SL
# Copyright (C) 2005-2010 by Jordi Sanfeliu <jordi@fibranet.cat>
#
PATH=/sbin:/bin:/usr/sbin:/usr/bin


* * * * * root /usr/bin/monitorix.pl update
00 00 * * * root /usr/bin/monitorix.pl collect
01 00 1 * * root /usr/bin/monitorix.pl report

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I really don't know why it was not installed

however, it works FINE!!!

Last edited by scar (2010-08-04 18:42:07)


“The future has already arrived. It's just not evenly distributed yet.”
― William Gibson

Offline

#2 2010-08-04 23:35:08

graysky
Member
From: The worse toilet in Scotland
Registered: 2008-12-01
Posts: 8,814
Website

Re: monitorix - no graphs [SOLVED]

Dunno what to say - never seen this before since the cron tab gets written by the perl code itself... did you start it via:

# /etc/rc.d/monitorix start

Triggering that will create the crontab and when you stop it, the perl code will remove the crontab.  If you do it manually, you lose this control.

Last edited by graysky (2010-08-05 06:42:58)


CPU-optimized Linux-ck packages @ Repo-ck  • AUR packagesZsh and other configs

Offline

#3 2010-08-06 15:42:09

scar
Member
From: Hungary
Registered: 2009-10-01
Posts: 418

Re: monitorix - no graphs [SOLVED]

No manual startup was made here, I've lauched it by starting the daemon as you described it.
I've tried the AUR package and Jordi Sanfeliu's source tarball too (http://www.monitorix.org), same result.
The problem was however solved, thanks.

-------------------------------------------------------
monitorix 1.5.1
dcron 4.4-2
perl 5.12.1-2
arch: 86_64


“The future has already arrived. It's just not evenly distributed yet.”
― William Gibson

Offline

#4 2010-08-06 20:42:40

graysky
Member
From: The worse toilet in Scotland
Registered: 2008-12-01
Posts: 8,814
Website

Re: monitorix - no graphs [SOLVED]

Wow, I've tested the package on several machines now and never ran into this.  Do you mind trying an experiment for me?  Uninstall monitorix, make sure there is no entry for the cron job, then reinstall it and start the daemon and see if the cron job is there.


CPU-optimized Linux-ck packages @ Repo-ck  • AUR packagesZsh and other configs

Offline

#5 2010-10-10 20:09:01

scar
Member
From: Hungary
Registered: 2009-10-01
Posts: 418

Re: monitorix - no graphs [SOLVED]

same thing happened...


“The future has already arrived. It's just not evenly distributed yet.”
― William Gibson

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB