You are not logged in.

#1 2010-10-31 18:44:00

Kosmonavt
Member
Registered: 2010-02-15
Posts: 100

Creating public Git repository using vsftpd

Hi all,

I'm learning Git and have tried to set up remote FTP repository. I'm using vsftpd as a server. I managed to create repo on ftp served folder, but couldn't clone it.

This was the way I created this repo. On "server side" I created clean one with git init --bare, and filled it with git push file://localhost/%path_to_ftp_folder%/. It worked fine. Also git clone file://localhost/%path_to_ftp_folder%/ went without errors. But when trying to clone using FTP protocol, the following error occures:

$ git clone ftp://username@localhost/test.git
Cloning into test...
Password: 
error: RETR response: 550 while accessing ftp://username@localhost/test.git/info/refs

fatal: HTTP request failed

Interestingly, this path (test.git/info/refs) does not exist at all. Here's vsftpd config:

listen=YES

anonymous_enable=NO
anon_upload_enable=NO

local_enable=YES
write_enable=YES
download_enable=YES
connect_from_port_20=YES

userlist_deny=NO
userlist_enable=YES
userlist_file=/etc/vsftpd_users

force_dot_files=NO
hide_ids=YES
ls_recurse_enable=YES
local_umask=026
ascii_download_enable=NO

dirlist_enable=YES
dirmessage_enable=YES

pam_service_name=vsftpd

chroot_local_user=YES
passwd_chroot_enable=YES
chroot_list_enable=NO
local_root=/srv/ftp/

xferlog_enable=YES
log_ftp_protocol=YES

Detailed vsftpd log says the following: http://pastebin.com/raw.php?i=bq2DyEiN

How can be vsftpd configured to be used as Git repository? But please don't offer to use http(s)/git/ssh.

Offline

#2 2011-07-12 08:40:06

zTrix
Member
Registered: 2011-07-12
Posts: 2

Re: Creating public Git repository using vsftpd

run this in your server repo:
git --bare update-server-info

Offline

#3 2011-07-12 11:03:22

Mr.Elendig
#archlinux@freenode channel op
From: The intertubes
Registered: 2004-11-07
Posts: 4,092

Re: Creating public Git repository using vsftpd

I'm just curious; why not ssh/git/http(s)? It is the defacto standard way to do it, it's easier and more secure. Why do it in a more complicated and insecure way?


Evil #archlinux@libera.chat channel op and general support dude.
. files on github, Screenshots, Random pics and the rest

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB