You are not logged in.

#1 2010-12-03 03:55:31

williamkray

[SOLVED] yet another samba print server problem

alright, i've tried, i really have.  i've been working on this for two days, and i just can't figure this out.  i'm still a newbie with arch, but i've learned from my last two posts (unneccessary and quickly resolved with just a little more research), i've read everything i can think of about this, tried about a thousand different configurations of my smb.conf file, and it still isn't working.

i have a printer hooked up to my arch64 box.  i installed samba, and i am trying to get it to act as a print server on my network.  but when i use my wife's computer (a mac) and try to locate the printer, it doesn't show up.  with my current smb.conf, while using the mac (snow leopard) i try to add the printer using samba, i can see the workgroup "mygroup" and the server "arch".  it then asks for a username and password, i instead select the "guest" option, but i don't see any printers.

i'm using an epson CX8400 printer, arch x86_64 on my server, samba 3.5.6, and the following smb.conf: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/9392454/smb.conf
i have a user smbguest, and have added smbguest to the samba server with the command

smbpasswd -a smbguest

i've tried to mess with just about every configuration i can think of, and if i vary too much from the current .conf, the mac won't even see the samba server.  i'm still not entirely sure what settings are preventing that, though.  i'm so lost, and my eyes hurt from staring at the computer screen for so long.  i also think my wife is mad at me.  i digress.

i appreciate any help thrown my way, i will try to answer any questions posed as best i can.  please tell me any commands to run to discover the information one might need to diagnose this.

thank you thank you thank you.

Last edited by williamkray (2010-12-04 01:53:55)

#2 2010-12-03 08:29:18

stryder

Re: [SOLVED] yet another samba print server problem