You are not logged in.

#1 2005-03-21 21:07:22

beniro

Securing Arch...on the dev side

Hello...perusing the ocean of bull5*|+ today in response to the OSNews article, I saw one post that caught my eye, and so I'm posting it here:

Let's see, does Arch Linux have proper package QA, does it ship a firewall by default, does it use exec-shield, does it fortify binaries, does it use adresse space randomization, does it deploy SELinux?

Please don't get defensive, becuase I'm bringing this here to spark a conversation.  I am not a true developer, so I'm just inquiring.

1. QA - This is much improved and getting better.  I don't find this too intriguing.  Skip it.

2. Firewall not included - Of course not...KISS.  Skip it.

3. Exec-shield - This is a RedHat piece of code to add additional protection s against "stack, buffer or function pointer overflows": http://lwn.net/Articles/31032/

Would it be feasible/worth it to implement this in Arch?

4. Fortified binaries - I don't know what this is.  What is it?  Would it be good for Arch?

5. Address-space randomization - I read a bit on this...and immediately found this: http://www.stanford.edu/~blp/papers/asrandom.pdf

6. SELinux - I know there was some talk here previously about setting up SELinux for Arch...but it takes some amount of work...

The truth is that this conversation is just a bit out of my league, but I'm bringing this up in the hope that it sparks some conversation.

Or at least that I get informed some...  smile

#2 2005-03-21 21:13:04

phrakture
Arch Overlord
Website

Re: Securing Arch...on the dev side

that's all crap that business people will convince you they need on their servers....

it's a crock of crap...
these so called "business minded" people want to convince you that all this extra crap is needed, so they can then hire mediocre, lazy empolyees...

solution: hire one good admin.  done.