You are not logged in.

#1 2011-01-05 06:15:41

B-Con
Member
From: USA
Registered: 2007-12-17
Posts: 554
Website

i3 creates new Firefox windows in fullscreen mode

I use the i3 WM and lately I've had a problem where whenever I create new Firefox windows (either through i3 app shortcut or through Firefox's File -> New Window) they always start in fullscreen. I maintain two nearly identical Arch installs on different computers and both use the exact same i3 config. But for some reason, one of the computers (my laptop) has this problem and the other does not.

It didn't always used to be this way, it only started about three or so weeks ago.

There's nothing in the i3 log file of relevence. Here's my i3 config file:

############################################################
# Misc. Setup
############################################################

# ISO 10646 = Unicode
font -misc-fixed-medium-r-normal--13-120-75-75-C-70-iso10646-1
#font -*-verdana-medium-r-normal--17-120-100-100-p-*-iso8859-*
#font -monotype-courier new-medium-r-normal--17-120-100-100-m-*-iso10646-1

# The IPC interface allows programs like an external workspace bar
# (i3-wsbar) or i3-msg (can be used to "remote-control" i3) to work.
ipc-socket ~/.config/i3/ipc.sock

# Each set of controls gets its own set of modifiers
set $FOCUS Mod1
set $WIN   Mod1+Shift
set $WM    Mod1+Ctrl
set $APP   Mod4

#############################################################
# Focus/display control ($FOCUS)
#############################################################

# Focus is given to whatever the mouse hovers over?
focus_follows_mouse yes

# Default application display mode for containers
new_container stacking

# Stacking mode size defaults
#stack-limit rows 4
#stack-limit cols 3

# Fullscreen
bindsym $FOCUS+f f

# Container client ordering styles
bindsym $FOCUS+s s
bindsym $FOCUS+t T
bindsym $FOCUS+b d

# Go into the tiling layer / floating layer, depending on whether
# the current window is tiling / floating 
bindsym $FOCUS+w focus ft

# Focus ($FOCUS+j/k/l/;)
bind $FOCUS+44 h
bind $FOCUS+45 j
bind $FOCUS+46 k
bind $FOCUS+47 l
# (alternatively, you can use the cursor keys:)
#bindsym $FOCUS+Left h
#bindsym $FOCUS+Down j
#bindsym $FOCUS+Up k
#bindsym $FOCUS+Right l

# Focus Container (Mod4+j/k/l/;)
bindsym $FOCUS+u wch
bindsym $FOCUS+i wcj
bindsym $FOCUS+o wck
bindsym $FOCUS+p wcl
# (alternatively, you can use the cursor keys:)
#bindsym Mod4+Left wch
#bindsym Mod4+Down wcj
#bindsym Mod4+Up wck
#bindsym Mod4+Right wcl

# Workspaces ($FOCUS+1/2/…)
bind $FOCUS+10 1
bind $FOCUS+11 2
bind $FOCUS+12 3
bind $FOCUS+13 4
bind $FOCUS+14 5
bind $FOCUS+15 6
bind $FOCUS+16 7
bind $FOCUS+17 8
bind $FOCUS+18 9
bind $FOCUS+19 10

# Change the container's window borders (in order: normal, 1 px, borderless)
bindsym $FOCUS+comma bn
bindsym $FOCUS+period bp
bindsym $FOCUS+slash bb

#############################################################
# Application Manipulation: Moving, terminating ($WIN)
#############################################################

# Default border style for new windows (bn=normal, bp=1px, bb=borderless)
new_window bn

# Move ($WIN+j/k/l/;)
bind $WIN+44 mh
bind $WIN+45 mj
bind $WIN+46 mk
bind $WIN+47 ml
# (alternatively, you can use the cursor keys:)
#bindsym $WIN+Left mh
#bindsym $WIN+Down mj
#bindsym $WIN+Up mk
#bindsym $WIN+Right ml

# Use Mouse+<this> to drag floating windows to their wanted position
floating_modifier $WIN

# Move Container (Mod3+Shift+j/k/l/;)
bindsym $WIN+u wcmh
bindsym $WIN+i wcmj
bindsym $WIN+o wcmk
bindsym $WIN+p wcml

# Move to Workspaces
bind $WIN+10 m1
bind $WIN+11 m2
bind $WIN+12 m3
bind $WIN+13 m4
bind $WIN+14 m5
bind $WIN+15 m6
bind $WIN+16 m7
bind $WIN+17 m8
bind $WIN+18 m9
bind $WIN+19 m10

# Snap ($WIN+j/k/l/;)
bindsym $WIN+m sh
bindsym $WIN+comma sj
bindsym $WIN+period sk
bindsym $WIN+slash sl
# (alternatively, you can use the cursor keys:)
#bindsym Mod1+Control+Left sh
#bindsym Mod1+Control+Down sj
#bindsym Mod1+Control+Up sk
#bindsym Mod1+Control+Right sl

# $WIN+q kills the current client
bindsym $WIN+q kill

# Toggle tiling/floating of the current window
bindsym $WIN+f t

# Enter resize mode
bindsym $WIN+r mode resize

# These bindings trigger as soon as you enter the resize mode
# Arrow keys grow container in the appropriate direction.
# Using shift causes negative growth in the opposite direction.
mode "resize" {
    bindsym Left resize left -10
    bindsym Shift+Right resize left +10
    
    bindsym Down resize bottom +10
    bindsym Shift+Up resize bottom -10
    
    bindsym Up resize top -10
    bindsym Shift+Down resize top +10
    
    bindsym Right resize right +10
    bindsym Shift+Left resize right -10
    
    bindsym r mode default
}

############################################################
# App keybindings ($APP)
############################################################

bindsym $APP+t exec urxvt
bindsym $APP+r exec dmenu_run
bindsym $APP+b exec pcmanfm /home/b-con/Desktop
bindsym $APP+e exec geany
bindsym $APP+w exec firefox
bindsym $APP+c exec speedcrunch
bindsym $APP+v exec gnome-alsamixer
bindsym XF86AudioLowerVolume exec amixer -q set Master 3dB-
bindsym XF86AudioRaiseVolume exec amixer -q set Master 3dB+
bindsym XF86AudioMute exec amixer -q set Master toggle
bindsym XF86Sleep exec xset dpms force off
bindsym Print exec screenshot

#############################################################
# WM controls ($WM)
#############################################################

# $WM+q exits i3
bindsym $WM+q exit

# $WM+r restarts i3 inplace
bindsym $WM+y restart

# Reload the config inplace
bindsym $WM+e reload

# Poweroff the computer
bindsym $WM+s exec cmd_prompt "sudo shutdown -h now" "shutdown"

# Restart the computer
bindsym $WM+r exec cmd_prompt "sudo shutdown -r now" "reboot"

############################################################
# Color scheme
############################################################

# test: 000000 33aadd
# old : 636363 636363
# 
# class                  border  backgr. text
client.focused           #000000 #636363 #ffffff   
client.focused_inactive  #000000 #202020 #aaaaaa
client.unfocused         #000000 #202020 #aaaaaa
client.urgent            #000000 #33aadd #ffffff
bar.focused              #444444 #33aadd #ffffff
bar.unfocused            #444444 #202020 #ffffff
bar.urgent               #444444 #33aadd #ffffff

############################################################
# Startup programs
############################################################

workspace_bar yes

exec trayer --edge bottom --align right --SetDockType true --transparent true --alpha 255

Does anyone know what this could be, or has anyone even seen similar behavior? I looked through the official ie User Guide and didn't see anything about auto starting apps in fullscreen mode.

Offline

#2 2011-01-05 11:43:53

defears
Member
Registered: 2010-07-26
Posts: 218

Re: i3 creates new Firefox windows in fullscreen mode

Sounds stupid, but is fullscreen checked in the view menu in firefox.

Offline

#3 2011-01-05 13:10:39

Inxsible
Forum Fellow
From: Chicago
Registered: 2008-06-09
Posts: 9,183

Re: i3 creates new Firefox windows in fullscreen mode

if this happens for all the apps, then there is something wrong with i3.

if this happens only with Firefox, then there is something wrong with Firefox. Try clearing the cache and if that does not work, you might want to delete .mozilla folder from under /home/user. This will lose all your settings for firefox though


Forum Rules

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but there sure are a lot of inquisitive idiots !

Offline

#4 2011-01-05 13:16:47

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,899
Website

Re: i3 creates new Firefox windows in fullscreen mode

I would move that file out of the way rather than delete .... but seems to firefox at fault

Other recent threads are having the same problem, could be gtk related?


Mr Green

Offline

#5 2011-01-05 20:48:32

B-Con
Member
From: USA
Registered: 2007-12-17
Posts: 554
Website

Re: i3 creates new Firefox windows in fullscreen mode

defears wrote:

Sounds stupid, but is fullscreen checked in the view menu in firefox.

Good thought, but it's not checked.

Inxsible wrote:

if this happens for all the apps, then there is something wrong with i3.

if this happens only with Firefox, then there is something wrong with Firefox. Try clearing the cache and if that does not work, you might want to delete .mozilla folder from under /home/user. This will lose all your settings for firefox though

Only for Firefox.

I moved my .mozilla/firefox/profile folder and now the problem is fixed, so that's a step in the right direction. Since it would seem that it is the Firefox profile that is at fault I have no idea what to edit in the Firefox profile to fix this. I'd like to not have to rebuild my Firefox profile.

What's odd is that this is not the Firefox fullscreen that you get with F11 (like what defears suggested above) because that fullscreen looks different than the i3 fullscreen. I tried them both and this is definitely the i3 fullscreen. (This is why I never thought to try a different Firefox profile.)

Last edited by B-Con (2011-01-05 20:49:10)

Offline

#6 2011-01-06 00:32:57

Inxsible
Forum Fellow
From: Chicago
Registered: 2008-06-09
Posts: 9,183

Re: i3 creates new Firefox windows in fullscreen mode

normally when something goes wrong with a profile, its difficult to pin point the exact cause, especially because most times users don't remember the last changes they made etc. Its a pain to re-create a profile, but that would probably be the simplest solution.


Barring that, you can create a new profile and copy paste individual files etc from the old profile and test after each paste. If things haven't gone bad, go to the next one and so on.

I would much rather just whack everything and start over. I keep all my bookmarks in delicious, so the only things that I have to re-build are some plugins. I use at gmail checker, adblock, speeddial and flashblock. So installing them doesn't take too long. YMMV


Forum Rules

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but there sure are a lot of inquisitive idiots !

Offline

#7 2011-01-06 04:08:46

B-Con
Member
From: USA
Registered: 2007-12-17
Posts: 554
Website

Re: i3 creates new Firefox windows in fullscreen mode

I only maintain profile archives for my desktop, not my laptop, so I guess it'll be the hard way. The good thing is that I treat my laptop data as if it's expendable, so everything in Firefox I could need backed up is already off of it.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB