You are not logged in.

#1 2011-03-03 17:19:40

Lothium
Member
Registered: 2009-10-10
Posts: 192

flash isn't working anymore

Hey together!

I updated my system today and suddenly flash isn't working anymore. I just get a grey surface and the plugin isn't loading anymore. Here is the ouput from console:

Failed to open VDPAU backend libvdpau_nvidia.so: Kann die Shared-Object-Datei nicht öffnen: Datei oder Verzeichnis nicht gefunden
The program 'npviewer.bin' received an X Window System error.
This probably reflects a bug in the program.
The error was 'BadLength (poly request too large or internal Xlib length erro'.
  (Details: serial 1045 error_code 16 request_code 136 minor_code 17)
  (Note to programmers: normally, X errors are reported asynchronously;
   that is, you will receive the error a while after causing it.
   To debug your program, run it with the --sync command line
   option to change this behavior. You can then get a meaningful
   backtrace from your debugger if you break on the gdk_x_error() function.)
*** NSPlugin Wrapper *** ERROR: NPP_GetValue() wait for reply: Die Verbindung wurde vom Kommunikationspartner zurückgesetzt
*** NSPlugin Wrapper *** WARNING:(/build/src/nspluginwrapper-1.3.0/src/npw-wrapper.c:1977):invoke_NPP_GetValue: assertion failed: (rpc_method_invoke_possible(plugin->connection))
*** NSPlugin Wrapper *** WARNING:(/build/src/nspluginwrapper-1.3.0/src/npw-wrapper.c:2167):invoke_NPP_NewStream: assertion failed: (rpc_method_invoke_possible(plugin->connection))
*** NSPlugin Wrapper *** WARNING:(/build/src/nspluginwrapper-1.3.0/src/npw-wrapper.c:1977):invoke_NPP_GetValue: assertion failed: (rpc_method_invoke_possible(plugin->connection))
*** NSPlugin Wrapper *** WARNING:(/build/src/nspluginwrapper-1.3.0/src/npw-wrapper.c:1977):invoke_NPP_GetValue: assertion failed: (rpc_method_invoke_possible(plugin->connection))
*** NSPlugin Wrapper *** WARNING:(/build/src/nspluginwrapper-1.3.0/src/npw-wrapper.c:1977):invoke_NPP_GetValue: assertion failed: (rpc_method_invoke_possible(plugin->connection))
*** NSPlugin Wrapper *** WARNING:(/build/src/nspluginwrapper-1.3.0/src/npw-wrapper.c:1977):invoke_NPP_GetValue: assertion failed: (rpc_method_invoke_possible(plugin->connection))

I use the multilib repo and also reinstalled flash, but nothing changed. Any ideas?

Best regards!

Offline

#2 2011-03-03 17:58:18

hidefromkgb
Member
Registered: 2009-08-03
Posts: 146

Re: flash isn't working anymore

Lothium,
do you have an nVidia video card?
If so, try re-installing lib32-libvdpau package. Flash player seems to miss the decoding library:

Kann die Shared-Object-Datei nicht öffnen: Datei oder Verzeichnis nicht gefunden

If not, switch VDPAU video decoding off:

sudo echo 'EnableLinuxHWVideoDecode=0' > /etc/adobe/mms.cfg

Last edited by hidefromkgb (2011-03-03 18:02:58)

Offline

#3 2011-03-03 19:03:03

Lothium
Member
Registered: 2009-10-10
Posts: 192

Re: flash isn't working anymore

Ok this is strange. All flashcontent works, only  some videos on YouTube aren't working. I also did what you said, but it change nothing. So it seems to be a Youtube problem.

Last edited by Lothium (2011-03-03 19:03:38)

Offline

#4 2011-03-04 03:32:18

Anikom15
Banned
From: United States
Registered: 2009-04-30
Posts: 836
Website

Re: flash isn't working anymore

Youtube doesn't seem to want to work for me. Videos are messed up and distorted, but audio works fine.

flashplugin 10.2.152.27-2
epiphany 2.30.6-2


Personally, I'd rather be back in Hobbiton.

Offline

#5 2011-03-04 10:30:50

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,428

Re: flash isn't working anymore

I think it's something on YT side, because I haven't changed anything in my setup (and my uptime is 5.5 days) and it has been working just two days ago - now YT plays audio only. I can watch videos embedded on other sites though. Apps like clive don't work either.

Edit: The new clive works OK, just needed to update ;P

Last edited by karol (2011-03-04 20:36:51)

Offline

#6 2011-03-04 12:36:13

Lothium
Member
Registered: 2009-10-10
Posts: 192

Re: flash isn't working anymore

For YouTube I changed to the html5 mode and it works very nice with chromium on most of the videos.

Best regards!

Offline

#7 2011-03-04 20:29:54

woddfellow2
Member
From: USA
Registered: 2010-04-05
Posts: 113
Website

Re: flash isn't working anymore

I have the same problem. It is just generally slow, and when I try to view a 2nd YouTube video, the 1st one crashes. Here are some screen shots:

http://ompldr.org/vN250Yw
http://ompldr.org/vN250ZA
http://ompldr.org/vN250ZQ
http://ompldr.org/vN250Zg
http://ompldr.org/vN250Zw
http://ompldr.org/vN250aQ
http://ompldr.org/vN250ag
http://ompldr.org/vN250aw

It seems to work fine with Homestar Runner, though...

Last edited by woddfellow2 (2011-03-04 20:31:02)


1-Crawl 2-Cnfg 3-ATF 4-Exit ?

Offline

#8 2011-03-05 00:34:53

twilightning
Member
Registered: 2007-11-04
Posts: 49

Re: flash isn't working anymore

I get black and white videos in youtube! In other sites like dailymotion its fine.

Offline

#9 2011-03-05 01:32:54

Anikom15
Banned
From: United States
Registered: 2009-04-30
Posts: 836
Website

Re: flash isn't working anymore

Well it seems like we've got a lot of problems yet no solution. I'm gonna contact Google about this.

UPDATE: Found some info: http://www.google.com/support/forum/p/y … a6d6&hl=en

UPDTAE 2: Got a fix:
1. http://www.youtube.com/swf_test.html
2. right click on player
3. click settings
4. choose left-most tab
5. uncheck "Enable Hardware Acceleration"

Last edited by Anikom15 (2011-03-05 01:38:52)


Personally, I'd rather be back in Hobbiton.

Offline

#10 2011-03-05 01:52:05

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,428

Re: flash isn't working anymore

Anikom15 wrote:

Well it seems like we've got a lot of problems yet no solution. I'm gonna contact Google about this.

UPDATE: Found some info: http://www.google.com/support/forum/p/y … a6d6&hl=en

UPDTAE 2: Got a fix:
1. http://www.youtube.com/swf_test.html
2. right click on player
3. click settings
4. choose left-most tab
5. uncheck "Enable Hardware Acceleration"

https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php … 91#p892291

It's not working for everyone though https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php … 62#p892962

Offline

#11 2011-03-05 02:25:32

itsbrad212
Member
From: Chicago, USA
Registered: 2010-01-23
Posts: 1,848

Re: flash isn't working anymore

Anikom15 wrote:

Well it seems like we've got a lot of problems yet no solution. I'm gonna contact Google about this.

UPDATE: Found some info: http://www.google.com/support/forum/p/y … a6d6&hl=en

UPDTAE 2: Got a fix:
1. http://www.youtube.com/swf_test.html
2. right click on player
3. click settings
4. choose left-most tab
5. uncheck "Enable Hardware Acceleration"

Thanks for that. smile

I was unaware that this was a global issue. I just had my video card tied to a chair with a knife to its neck when I saw this thread.

Offline

#12 2011-03-05 02:26:17

Anikom15
Banned
From: United States
Registered: 2009-04-30
Posts: 836
Website

Re: flash isn't working anymore

So ... what exactly is the ROOT here?


Personally, I'd rather be back in Hobbiton.

Offline

#13 2011-03-05 04:44:28

Novartum
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2011-02-03
Posts: 33

Re: flash isn't working anymore

Is there another method of disabling hardware acceleration?  When I right click > settings, the box appears but freezes.  I am unable to uncheck the box or navigate around the menu, which leaves me with having to close the flash window.

I have experienced issues with flash for the past ~2 weeks (came about all of the sudden for no apparent reason) and all videos have been very laggy; I have also tried joining the youtube html5 trial with similar results.  The strange thing, however, is that if I make a youtube video "pop out" and then readjust it so that it is full screen, the video works great (not exactly sure why)!

Last edited by Novartum (2011-03-05 05:49:31)

Offline

#14 2011-03-05 22:01:18

Baraclese
Member
Registered: 2008-05-28
Posts: 42

Re: flash isn't working anymore

my current experience: flash video works fine in chromium (20% cpu usage) but is choppy in firefox (100% cpu usage).

Offline

#15 2011-03-05 23:13:14

Novartum
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2011-02-03
Posts: 33

Re: flash isn't working anymore

A user on irc found a fix for unchecking "Enable hardware acceleration" for those having trouble doing so via right click --> settings;  for some reason, it does work if you make the video fullscreen (even if it this makes video laggy).  This resolved my flash issue and videos seem to be running fine for the time being...

Last edited by Novartum (2011-03-06 02:57:45)

Offline

#16 2011-03-06 02:53:16

codeRage
Member
Registered: 2011-02-20
Posts: 29

Re: flash isn't working anymore

Yes! I can confirm unchecking "enable hardware acceleration" fixes videos for me (they were only choppy in fullscreen, but still). Begs the question why hardware acceleration doesn't work though... did the update hose the video drivers and not flash?

Offline

#17 2011-03-06 06:35:37

itsbrad212
Member
From: Chicago, USA
Registered: 2010-01-23
Posts: 1,848

Re: flash isn't working anymore

codeRage wrote:

Yes! I can confirm unchecking "enable hardware acceleration" fixes videos for me (they were only choppy in fullscreen, but still). Begs the question why hardware acceleration doesn't work though... did the update hose the video drivers and not flash?

I don't think that this is an Arch/driver issue (or any packages installed on top of it for that matter). At the time that this problem began occurring, I hadn't updated in weeks. hmm

Last edited by itsbrad212 (2011-03-06 06:38:08)

Offline

#18 2011-03-06 08:48:07

swanson
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2011-02-05
Posts: 759

Re: flash isn't working anymore

According to this: http://forums.adobe.com/message/3501867
it's on all platforms - linux, OSX, Win with version 10.2.x. Downgrading to 10.1.x solves it in most cases. It did for me.

Offline

#19 2011-03-06 15:25:05

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,428

Re: flash isn't working anymore

itsbrad212 wrote:

I don't think that this is an Arch/driver issue (or any packages installed on top of it for that matter). At the time that this problem began occurring, I hadn't updated in weeks. hmm

+1

It may be something on YT side. Flash worked for me on all sites, apart from YT. Disabling hw accel helped.

Offline

#20 2011-03-07 16:49:22

quick
Member
Registered: 2009-02-10
Posts: 4

Re: flash isn't working anymore

Novartum wrote:

A user on irc found a fix for unchecking "Enable hardware acceleration" for those having trouble doing so via right click --> settings;  for some reason, it does work if you make the video fullscreen (even if it this makes video laggy).  This resolved my flash issue and videos seem to be running fine for the time being...

Thank you for solution. It`s working!

Last edited by quick (2011-03-07 16:50:59)

Offline

#21 2011-03-13 05:55:20

amoradi
Member
From: Beyond the horizon
Registered: 2010-01-23
Posts: 51
Website

Re: flash isn't working anymore

When I right-click on a flash video, "settings" is disabled (gray).  Is there any other way I could disable HW acceleration?

Offline

#22 2011-03-13 08:23:09

lives2evil
Member
From: GMT+7
Registered: 2010-03-21
Posts: 244

Re: flash isn't working anymore

amoradi wrote:

When I right-click on a flash video, "settings" is disabled (gray).  Is there any other way I could disable HW acceleration?

As far as I know there's no other ways.

Try go to this page and see if the "Settings" option is disabled.

http://www.w3schools.com/flash/tryit.as … yhtml_ball


tsujeruplive, tnarongisi... ... ... ... ɥsılƃuǝ sı sıɥʇ

Offline

#23 2011-03-13 08:51:31

jocheem67
Member
Registered: 2009-11-09
Posts: 208

Re: flash isn't working anymore

I can confirm the troubles. However I've got a bit of a tweaked system as I'm using jack as my soundserver. Using the flashplugin-prerelease and libflashsupport-jack from aur on an amd64 system. It does work with opera, it crashes regularly with firefox.
My solution is just a workaround: when I really 'need' a video I'll just download it using the known firefox addons.
Using a nvidia card I can confirm that disabling hw acceleration is a helpful action.

Oh well, let's not forget that flash on linux will probably never be smooth....

Offline

#24 2011-03-13 13:02:05

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,428

Re: flash isn't working anymore

lives2evil wrote:
amoradi wrote:

When I right-click on a flash video, "settings" is disabled (gray).  Is there any other way I could disable HW acceleration?

As far as I know there's no other ways.

Try go to this page and see if the "Settings" option is disabled.

http://www.w3schools.com/flash/tryit.as … yhtml_ball

If it's still not working, try https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php … 21#p899821

Offline

#25 2011-03-13 18:20:22

amoradi
Member
From: Beyond the horizon
Registered: 2010-01-23
Posts: 51
Website

Re: flash isn't working anymore

lives2evil wrote:
amoradi wrote:

When I right-click on a flash video, "settings" is disabled (gray).  Is there any other way I could disable HW acceleration?

As far as I know there's no other ways.

Try go to this page and see if the "Settings" option is disabled.

http://www.w3schools.com/flash/tryit.as … yhtml_ball

Thanks!  Interestingly, that video is the only one I tried that has settings enabled!

karol wrote:

I had tried that.  Didn't work!

Last edited by amoradi (2011-03-13 18:23:08)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB