You are not logged in.

#1 2011-04-13 18:22:37

grobar87

[SOLVED]pacnew files? i need help...

Hi,
After upgrade with pacman -Syu, a lot of pacnew files in /etc.I read about this in archwiki but i'm still confused :S I have no idea how to use vimdiff or meld ...
Can someone explain me simple what to do with pacnew files.I'm new in arch linux and i need help.
Thanks to everyone. (sorry for my english)

Last edited by grobar87 (2011-04-15 14:26:42)

And... here... we... go!

#2 2011-04-13 18:31:58

ewaller
Administrator

Re: [SOLVED]pacnew files? i need help...

a pacnew file is used when an update to a package requires a new configuration file, but there is already a configuration on your system which would be wrong to simply overwrite.

If there is nothing in the old, corresponding file you want to keep, it is okay for you to move the pacnew file and overwrite the old configuration.  If it is not okay, you need to incorporate your customizations into the pacnew file, and then move the pacnew file and overrwrite the old file.

The tools you mentioned are just that -- tools to help figure out what changed.  The easiest solution is just to run diff fileName fileName.pacnew to see the lines that changed.

Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Sometimes it is the people no one can imagine anything of who do the things no one can imagine. -- Alan Turing
---
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

#3 2011-04-13 18:57:04

grobar87

ewaller wrote:

a pacnew file is used when an update to a package requires a new configuration file, but there is already a configuration on your system which would be wrong to simply overwrite.

If there is nothing in the old, corresponding file you want to keep, it is okay for you to move the pacnew file and overwrite the old configuration.  If it is not okay, you need to incorporate your customizations into the pacnew file, and then move the pacnew file and overrwrite the old file.