You are not logged in.

#1 2011-06-09 15:06:00

65kid
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2011-01-26
Posts: 663

new rc.conf and bridges

hi,

I've been running an OpenVPN Server on my Arch on a bridged interface for quite a while and it worked perfectly fine. I used this Wiki entry to configure the bridge: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/OpenVPN_Bridge

On my old setup, I had this config (basically as described on the Wiki):

/etc/conf.d/bridges

bridge_br0="tap0 eth0"
BRIDGE_INTERFACES=(br0)

/etc/rc.conf

eth0="eth0 0.0.0.0 promisc up"
tap0="tap0 0.0.0.0 promisc up"
br0="br0 172.16.20.1 netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast 172.16.20.255"
INTERFACES=(eth0 tap0 br0)

This obviously doesn't work anymore with the new rc.conf, because I cannot configure multiple interfaces in rc.conf anymore. Although the actual problem seems to be that the bridge isn't even created anymore at boot.

So after some reading into netcfg I created the following network profile, which works fine:

/etc/network.d/openvpn_bridge

INTERFACE="br0"
CONNECTION="bridge"
DESCRIPTION="Ethernet/OpenVPN bridge"
BRIDGE_INTERFACES="eth0 tap0"

IP="static"
ADDR="172.16.20.1"
GATEWAY="172.16.20.254"
DNS=("172.16.20.254")

My actual question is: is this the proper way to do this or am I missing something here? and what about /etc/conf.d/bridges? As far as I can see, it is pretty much useless now (and therefore could be removed from bridge-utils). I just wanted to be sure, because I was planning to update the Wiki about this and couldn't find any other information about it.

Offline

#2 2011-06-09 21:27:44

jordi
Member
Registered: 2006-12-16
Posts: 103
Website

Re: new rc.conf and bridges

/etc/conf.d/bridges really does seem obsolete now.

Got a similar setup (only eth0, as I setup br0 just to use it later with kvm). Somehow I wasn't able to get dhcp working with netcfg/bridge.

INTERFACE="br0"
CONNECTION="bridge"
DESCRIPTION="Bridge connection"
BRIDGE_INTERFACES="eth0"
#IP="dhcp"
IP="static"
ADDR='192.168.178.27'
GATEWAY='192.168.178.1'
DNS=('192.168.178.1')

Offline

#3 2011-06-09 22:26:45

lilsirecho
Veteran
Registered: 2003-10-24
Posts: 5,000

Re: new rc.conf and bridges

Perhaps you need double quotes in the entries?

EDIT: or none at all and no parens?

Last edited by lilsirecho (2011-06-09 22:49:56)


Sign of the times: Navajo blanket..made in China
Hard work does not kill people but why risk it: Charlie Mccarthy
A man is not complete until he is married..then..he is finished.
When ALL is lost, what can be found? Even bytes get lonely for a little bit!     X-ray confirms Iam spineless!

Offline

#4 2011-08-18 18:41:47

wreck
Member
Registered: 2008-03-22
Posts: 18

Re: new rc.conf and bridges

65kid wrote:

hi,

I've been running an OpenVPN Server on my Arch on a bridged interface for quite a while and it worked perfectly fine. I used this Wiki entry to configure the bridge: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/OpenVPN_Bridge

On my old setup, I had this config (basically as described on the Wiki):

/etc/conf.d/bridges

bridge_br0="tap0 eth0"
BRIDGE_INTERFACES=(br0)

/etc/rc.conf

eth0="eth0 0.0.0.0 promisc up"
tap0="tap0 0.0.0.0 promisc up"
br0="br0 172.16.20.1 netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast 172.16.20.255"
INTERFACES=(eth0 tap0 br0)

This obviously doesn't work anymore with the new rc.conf, because I cannot configure multiple interfaces in rc.conf anymore. Although the actual problem seems to be that the bridge isn't even created anymore at boot.

So after some reading into netcfg I created the following network profile, which works fine:

/etc/network.d/openvpn_bridge

INTERFACE="br0"
CONNECTION="bridge"
DESCRIPTION="Ethernet/OpenVPN bridge"
BRIDGE_INTERFACES="eth0 tap0"

IP="static"
ADDR="172.16.20.1"
GATEWAY="172.16.20.254"
DNS=("172.16.20.254")

My actual question is: is this the proper way to do this or am I missing something here? and what about /etc/conf.d/bridges? As far as I can see, it is pretty much useless now (and therefore could be removed from bridge-utils). I just wanted to be sure, because I was planning to update the Wiki about this and couldn't find any other information about it.


Thank you!  Your post cured the headache I had given myself by trying to write a script to do this for Virtualbox having unsuccessfully fumbled with the current bridging documentation in the wiki.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB