You are not logged in.

#1 2011-06-14 17:13:17

jgreen1tc

How do you keep learning Arch?

I'm still really new to Linux. Arch has been my first distribution and I've only been using it since the start of my summer break from college. I've learned a lot about Linux in general from installing Arch and from troubleshooting my problems. But now that I have everything working (except Wine, but I'll do that later), I feel like I am actually *learning* Arch/Linux less, and just *using* the programs more (I already know how to use the open source software since that's what I used on Windows). I feel like I don't know as much as I could about my operating system and yet I am at a point where I can see myself settling with the knowledge I have now (like I did with Windows). What are some tips you can give to keep people learning Arch and Linux in general after this point (besides purposefully breaking something as that is obvious and also unwanted)?

A couple ideas I had was to try a few more distros on Virtual Box, and also teach myself to use vim instead of nano. Any other suggestions?

#2 2011-06-14 17:16:31

Inxsible
Forum Fellow

Re: How do you keep learning Arch?

Keep tinkering with your system. Try out new things like different WMs, system monitors. Keep changing things around and pretty soon you will be comfortable changing major things like using different kernels or init methods etc.

Also, search the forums. There have been many threads asking similar questions and many have a lot of tips.

Forum Rules

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but there sure are a lot of inquisitive idiots !

#3 2011-06-14 17:30:49

karol
Archivist

Do everything from the wiki and investigate when something doesn't work to bring it up to date ;P

#4 2011-06-14 17:35:23

ANOKNUSA