You are not logged in.

#1 2011-06-14 21:57:54

mihailclement

desktop going black randomly

hey guys!
I've just installed Arch for the first time on my system so i'm a noob and i have an issue for wich i hope i can get some help on this forum.
here it is;
while installing arch for dual boot with windows xp my desktop would go black randomly,i think like 5 sec apart,but it installed succesfully.after that i rebooted my pc  same issue after i enter linux my screen goes black the same way.i haven't installed any packages so far except those from the installation cd
i hope i made myself clear.
if someone knows anything  or have some clue it would be highly apreciated.thanks a lot!

p.s i installed it on qemu before and worked ok so....

#2 2011-06-15 00:06:31

kronig

Re: desktop going black randomly

Hi and Welcome!

Your screen went black while installing from the Live CD or while booting from it? You can boot now? If the issue happens while booting, can be that your dont have the appropriate drivers for booting in the KMS mode, which I think is the default today on arch.

First, post your video card info here. Is a nvidia, ati? Or a intel...?

Can you boot Windows and verify if that randomly blackness happen too?

You can try our wiki and other threads on this forum. That issue can happen to a lot of users and some old threads have lots of info.

#3 2011-06-15 02:15:45

ewaller
Administrator

So, it sounds as if you are not using Xorg yet.  Can you very that?
Does your system use an external monitor? If so, is LCD or CRT?  VGA, HDMI, DVI ?
What happens if, when it is black, you enter Ctrl-Alt-F1  ??
Have you configured your system so you can log in via ssh? Can you?

Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Sometimes it is the people no one can imagine anything of who do the things no one can imagine. -- Alan Turing
---
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

#4 2011-06-15 23:05:27

mihailclement