You are not logged in.

#1 2011-07-20 07:43:41

magesha

[SOLVED] Installing modemmanager + accessing aur + misc issues

Hi All:

I am new to Arch. It was a very learning and trying experience getting Arch up and running with Gnome 3, and wireless connectivity etc., but it was a lot of fun and the system is very fun to use.. Now, I have Network Manager installed so that I can also connect to the internet using a datacard (USB modem) as well as wireless internet when in office.

After struggling to get the modem out of the CD mode, installing modemmanager, and usb_modeswitch, things were working ok, sort of. Network Manager detected my datacard and showed it in available connections in the applet (in the clutter notification).. When I clicked on it to try and connect, nothing happens. I then open Network Settings, and go to Mobile Broadband tab, and click on "Options" but nothing shows up. I thought maybe, modemmanager didn't install properly so I try uninstalling it, and re-installing and try again. I guess I did this a couple of times without thinking.. Somewhere in the middle of it all, modemmanager got messed up, and when I did "clyde -Qi modemmanager", it showed like (typing this from memory):

extra/modemmanager <version-number>
         Null  

So, I uninstalled it ("clyde -R modemmanager"), and tried reinstalling it (clyde -S --repos modemmanager), but it won't install. It keeps saying that there are many files are that already existing so installation is aborted. I am not sure if I can delete those files (some are in the d-bus folder etc).. Without modemmanager, my USB modem won't show up on the network manager applet anymore.

I wanted to post the contents of that error message here, using pastebin, but that brings me to the next problem:

Some websites are not accessible from my Arch installation. The websites I know aren't working are:

1. Aur website (doesn't load),
2. Arch forums (loads but won't let me post),